We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #181 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I enjoyed my stay”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were spacious - certainly by New York standards. The location is fantastic. I liked the service. Concierge was knowledgable. They have a ticket broker in the hotel for the shows -- nice perk, but be prepared to pay a little extra. Water pressure in the shower is awesome! No pool or any kid activities whatsoever - thus 4 stars, otherwise I was happy with my stay.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukmc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,833
    3,827
    1,237
    428
    298
See reviews for
3,653
2,297
278
2,122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

If time is valuable to you, consider another hotel. Times Square is a nutty place, so you need to prepare yourself for the number of people and the time it takes to get places. BUT, the Marriott Marquis has a very different system for the elevator and it does not take into account the number of people who might be going up at anyone time. A computer assigned you to a specific elevator and you wait for it to arrive, and it takes you to the floor you request. Well, if 10 people arrive at the same time, it will assign you to the same elevator. That is not bad, but if each of you is in a group of 2-4 people, the Elevator becomes overloaded and will not leave the floor....until someone gets off and the weight gets right. During peak times this is a real hassle.

The hotel itself is clean and the service is great, but standing around for hours at a time is not good. Make sure you take that into account if you stay here!

Room Tip: No great tip, the hotel is tall..and unless you walk, you will wait and wait and wait for an elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimBuck97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We're happy you chose our hotel for your trip and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Our elevator management system is designed to bring you directly to your floor while making minimal stops but I will certainly share your feedback with our Engineering Team. I hope this does not deter you from choosing our hotel next time you are in New York City. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's an Avery nicke Hotel in the Centre of Manhattan. It's very busy, but you don't Feelings that Are here more than 3000 participants in this Hotel no long waiting Times in the Restaurant. Nice viele from my Rom (25th Flor) to the Broadway - Nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for sharing your comments about the conference you attended and the view from your room. We hope to have you return for another event or just for pleasure in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great hotel in the middle of Times Square! There is a lot going on in this hotel – a Starbucks, a Broadway theatre, a restaurant, a lounge, etc. Even with all of the various activities, I still felt secure in the hotel.
There are subway and shuttle stations within walking distance in all directions.
The room was nicely sized. Don’t pay extra to overlook Times Square, for as little as you are in your room, it isn’t worth the $100+ a night. Our room overlooked the Hudson River and was perfect – and I imagine more quiet.
Catching a ride back to the hotel was made easy by the bellmen downstairs, for practically the same cost, we had a private car (which was cleaner, smelled better, the driver was more courteous, etc.). I highly recommend!

Room Tip: save over $100/night and opt for a room NOT overlooking Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieG958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This hotel really is in Time Square. Situated on 8th Avenue between 45 and 46 street. You walk out either door and you are in the middle of the madness. Huge place but very well organised and laid out. If you don't like big hotels then it is not for you but if you don't mind then its great. You cannot hear the noise outside but my experience of the hotel was slightly spoiled when I was wakened the party from hell in the next room. I spoke with the hotel staff who were very helpful but the noise continued for about an hour. You could also hear every time they flushed a toilet of ran any water. On our last day we also met the most rude porter who told my wife and daughter to be quiet as he knew his job making all of us feel a bit undervalued as customers. We were on a high after a brilliant holiday otherwise I think him and I might have had a different conversation. That said really good, brilliantly located, well laid out and well run hotel. By the way free WiFi is all round New York except in the hotel where you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: View of Time square is good from some of the rooms but even those without the view does have an inte...
See more room tips
Green Features: Was not aware of any whilst staying in the hotel as there was nothing obvious or even subtle -sorry
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your review of our hotel. I'm sorry you experienced an issue from the neighboring room. Our Security team works hard to ensure the comfort of our guests and I apologize the issue continued. I would like to follow up with the associate who helped you with bags upon your departure and I invite you to contact me directly at the hotel with your reservation information so this can be addressed. Overall, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be your hotel of choice for future trips to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you want to stay the night in Times Square, there is no better location than this. It is smack dab in the middle of it all.
Room was furnished nicely and had plenty of space. Don't hardly ever stay at Marriott because it is usually out of our price range, so I can't really compare it to other similar properties.
It is very nice, upper scale, and was a neat experience for my family.
That being said, this hotel is all about the location in the middle of Times Square. Can't justify the room rate for any other reason.
Walls were very thin and could easily hear noise from the adjoining rooms. Doors, on their own, would slam shut very loudly and woke me up several times during the night. Wi-Fi was not included, which is incredibly disappointing. Check in was slow, and using the elevators was slower than that.
This was my family's first trip to NYC. High rise hotel in the middle of Times Square was very memorable. That was the value, nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My family of four (2 kids, 2 adults), stayed here for 3 nights and this hotel worked out quite well. Location can't be beat. We stayed in a suite with a pullout couch for our kids. The pullout couch mattress was a little thin and probably needs to be replaced but the bed in the bedroom was extremely comfortable. Our room had a fridge which was really appreciated. The elevators worked just fine. Yes, sometimes they take a while to come but its a huge hotel; you just need a little patience at the busy times. We had a pizza and crabcake sliders in the restaurant on the 8th floor and the food was good. Overall we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 45th floor and the view was great and not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenbeeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
7,910 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
6,701 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#263 of 467 in New York City
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#140 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing