We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #171 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 2, 2014

If you are a Broadway Show lover, there is no better place to stay in New York City! This beautiful hotel is within walking distance to all Broadway Theaters. The lobby and restaurants are not on street level which is great because you really feel that you have escaped the hustle and bustle of the busy streets. The rooms are always fresh and clean. The food at all of the restaurants is great. You are also within walking distance to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and 5th Avenue shopping. I have stayed here many times and plan to again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,313 - 5,319 of 11,231 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Overall I had a good stay here. My only negative comment is the late night construction. One night there was a jack hammer session going on until at least 3am. The next day I went to talk to the manager. Ms Kizuwanda was pleasant, and totally understanding. She apologized for my lack of sleep and moved me from the 20th floor (no view) to the 41st floor a nice room with a view, she sent someone to move my belongings to my new room, and to top it off, she sent me a bottle of champagne (to help me catch up on the sleep that I missed) wink, wink! After that? Everything thing else was what I expect from a Marriott. The beds were comfy, plenty of space. The bathroom was pretty large as well. Room service was good. They give large portions, so be careful not to over order. The salads are HUGE!! The pizza wasn't good at all. The bar and lounge area is cool. Drinks are good. They do close at midnight but it was during the week. Insider Tip? If they are still doing construction, you must have a room above the 30th floor and be sure you are not on the side where they are doing construction.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klewis0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just stayed here for three nights to celebrate my niece's Sweet Sixteenth Birthday. We had a corner room that was so spacious it was hard to believe we were in the city! We were on the 16th floor and had a great view of Times Square. The bed and pull out couch were both comfortable and the shower was great.
The construction was a bit annoying but it was everywhere in the city and I think it's supposed to be done by the fall. The thing that really put the Marriott Marquis at a five star level for me was their customer service. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Our first night there, Paul from car service who met us when we arrived sent up a table full of drinks, ice, a fruit bowl, a small chocolate cake and a box of premium truffles for my niece. Anything we asked for from housekeeping was delivered immediately and the concierge made several very good suggestions during our stay.
Overall a great place to stay if you want to be in the heart of Times Square!

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the less construction you'll hear. Corner suite was very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mishel635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love this location. There is a sentimental part of me knowing that a friend built this hotel. But that is not why I come back.

Can you find a better value for your hotel stay in New York? Absolutely. Stay further north near Central Park. Overpriced food? Yes. But if you want the quintessential experience of seeing New York when it isn't busy (late Christmas Eve to Christmas morning) then this is the place to see Times Square in the comfort of your room.

If I were going to stay for New Year's Eve but didn't want to be in the crowd, this is the place I would stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WildmanWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Pretty sad that the streets and exterior of the hotel was under construction. You couldn't see the hotel. The location is perfect because it is in Times Square. Scaffolding everywhere around the building was such a drag.
However the room was excellent and the staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and spacious. It is a very nice comfortable room. We ate in the café on the property and it was wonderful. Broadway is right there and cabs are everywhere and the enclosed entrance makes it nice to get a cab right away.
Had it not been for the construction - that I thought ruined the ambiance of Time Square and the hotel - I would have rated it higher.

Room Tip: I believe we were on the 29th floor and you could hear street noise. However, you are in New York C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at the New York Marriott Marquis. We appreciate your patience with us while the front of our hotel undergoes a renovation. We are looking forward to a new, modern Marriott Marquis to debut to our guests soon! Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a huge hotel located at the heart of Times Square. Most Broadway shows are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are clean and decently sized, but completely devoid of charm. There is a convenient little shop to pick up snacks and beverages. The bell staff were friendly and accommodating when we stored our bags before and after check out. It was great to be able to enjoy the view of Times Square from the comfort of the room.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room with a Times Square view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelligrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location is excellent and you will save money as you won't need taxi cabs for attending shows. The property has nice large rooms and I recommend you request a south view from the 28th floor. When staying on the 28th, the elevator will only stop, the great majority of the time, at floors 8 (Lobby) or 1. Hotel can be expensive and I usually use Marriott points when staying there. However, you can find reasonable rates during the winter, if you care to take the chance of cold weather.

Room Tip: See above....request floor 28 with a view to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,137 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#199 of 469 in New York City
9,755 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#186 of 469 in New York City
2,411 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#267 of 469 in New York City
4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $303 - $744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing