We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Location- very large hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #203 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
arkansastraveler74
Level Contributor
218 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Location- very large hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The Marriott Marquis is located in the heart of Times Square. It is just steps from anything you every would want. It is right in the theater district for broadway shows. Great restaurants are close by. This hotel is great for families. The rooms are very large, clean, and the beds are comfortable. This is uncommon in NYC. Usually the rooms are very tiny at other hotels.

Please note that this is a very large hotel. It is not easy to get to your room quickly. There are lots of rooms with lots of floors and LOTS OF PEOPLE!

We were on the 33rd floor with an excellent view of Time Square to the right and the Hudson to the left.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I would stay here again when I am in NYC on vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkansastraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,816
    3,171
    1,008
    357
    240
See reviews for
2,867
1,893
246
1,588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,026)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

There are probably as many different reactions to this cavernous Times Square giant as there are people who stay here -- and they're probably all right. But there cannot be a better place to hold a major, important business meeting. Facilities, catering, meeting staff, audiovisual resources absolutely superb. As a general rule, Marriott does meetings appreciably better than does any major chain, but this hotel's meeting capability is a cut above -- simply the best. When your meeting absolutely, positively has to go off without a hitch.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darthwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Is it just me? I thought the concierge lounge was for platinum members but this one welcomes gold members as well. Therefore, everyone but your grandmother is in there and it is more like a crowd at the Golden Corral than the quiet peacefulness of other Concierge Lounges. I also noticed this lounge is serving up frozen appetizers. Yep, frozen egg rolls, frozen meatballs as well as other frozen items. This is the second marriott in a row that I stayed which is doing this so after a couple of more I will not expect as much at marriott. If you see a review shortly after mine that says the concierge lounge is not bad and it is suppose to be just light appetizers then you might suspect they work for you know who.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crackerjack1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and for being a valued Platinum Elite guest with Marriott. I apologize that you did not enjoy the Concierge Lounge experience. We do follow the Marriott Rewards benefits and allow Concierge Lounge access to our Platinum and Gold Elite members with up to one additional guest. We understand that especially at breakfast the lounge can be a busy place. We truly appreciate your feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments about the food options to our culinary team. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the near future and thank you again for your loyalty to Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a multi day conference at the Marriott Marquis and I couldn't have been happier with the location and event. The staff with the convention center were accommodating and helpful. The rooms are a good size and while not lavish and modern they are clean and comfortable. We had rooms from the 17th floor all the way up to some rooms on the 47th floor. Views of Times Square from the upper floors was stunning.
The fitness room was well appointed and yet whenever I went there was either no one there or only a couple. Lots of room and available equipment.
The bar has great views and was a great place to sit and people watch.
As for the location it was great. Right on Times Square and all the action. Walking distance to great bars and restaurants....you could never get to them all.
While expensive to stay in any hotel when it's probity is so close to Times Square, if you have never been to New York or if you have never stayed right in the middle of the action then you need to do so at least once.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Brilliant hotel, large and cleaned rooms, in Times Square's heart, great academy, excelent food, a service room trained and with a price adjusted with a support from the hotel, beautiful view to new york centre, people good clothed, with people from all over the world near you, and it's so good to learn about new cultures.

Room Tip: Double room brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PazMatheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
246 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Well, you are certainly in the center of things at this establishment. Some rooms overlook Times Square and if you are on a theater trip, everything is on your doorstep. But so is everyone else. For New York City the rooms are nice and large but rather ordinary - perfectly comfortable but nothing special. This is a very large hotel and should be given marks for coping efficiently with so many visitors, though it really is pricey for what you get. If you like a bit of character you can do better for the same money. The staff all seemed friendly and helpful. The Club Lounge was a bit soulless and crowded at breakfast time; there's also a grab-and-go option. Shirts cost $12 to launder.

Room Tip: Try for higher floors and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for being a loyal Marriott guest and for staying at the New York Marriott Marquis! I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and appreciate your comments. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Times Square!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Great, but really bug hotel right at the Times Square. We got a room on the 41st floor with Times Square view. It was amazing. The rooms are big. The bathrooms are alright. One night at 11pm a maid was cleaning a room next to us. The food in the lobby is very expensive.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ilanaaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#161 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,958 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#170 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,118 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#270 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,767 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 8,067 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#94 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing