We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #174 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reno, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Location Location....”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Most excellent location. The staff overall was AWESOME overall. Housekeeping personnel had smiles and good mornings flowing from there mouths. The wait staff in the in the bar, restaurant, and business center were fantastic. I surely didn't think I would have such great service in NYC. The check in staff at the elite area was it's only flaw and needs some work.

The room (two queen beds) was adequate. However, the flushing of the toilet came through the walls very loudly; the chair at the desk was broken (I didn't call to have it repaired) and the vent in the bathroom didn't work.

Room Tip: More room space than I anticipated for NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlncegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,972
    3,884
    1,265
    439
    305
See reviews for
3,793
2,327
283
2,163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,476)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

So let me start by saying that I have over 800 nights in Marriott Hotels. This was the point where Marriott lost a loyal guest.

I got to hotel and the bellmen downstairs showed more interest in their conversation than helping us with our luggage. Check-In was amazing. The front desk clerk could light up times square with her amazing smile. The elevators were a little hard to figure out but once you did..you were set, I had 3 rooms that night. 2 I used 90,000 points for. Mine..I over payed for. When I went to use the restroom I noticed something growing on the ceiling. I called the manager on duty (who was great) and she told that it was plastic type ceiling in bathroom and it can't crack like that but would send out an engineer. Sure enough the engineer said it was a horrific patch and it looked nasty. and that it may still be leaking as is why it was so many different colors. So I let the growth thing go and went to bed. There was a note stating that there would be a hot water outage until 5am. I asked before I went to bed to make sure it would be resolved by 6am so that I could take a shower before my 8am meeting. I am abigger man and showers are important. I woke up at 5:45...no hot water. I checked again at 6:15...nothing. 6:35 and 6:45...both nothing. 7 rolls around and I am told that they had no idea when it would be resolved. I had to cancel my meeting. The reason I came up to New York in the first place. I was mad. I was upset. All these things together made me upset. I wanted a manager to at least vent to. I went to check out and met probably the worse person you ever want to meet when you are upset. Her name is Kizuwana [--]. She is the Front Desk Manager for the Marriott Marquis. I explained to her my frustation and she was rude. She pointed out that was not the hotels fault for the water. I tried to say something and she cut me off and stated "I listened to you speak and now it is my turn". She said we are all going through this. I pointed out the fact that she was able to shower this morning and not be late for work and that I could not. I told her that I was very upset and I expected more from a Marriott property and I did not feel at all talking with her that I was a valued guest and that if this was the new Marriott, I am going somewhere else. She smiled and said " You are about to hit lifetime platinum, you would not leave Marriott all because of one hotel stay". Her condescending attitude was horrible. On my way back to DC I had a great conversation with Hilton Honors and now I am Diamond Hilton Honors member. They may not have Ritz Carlton and Renaissance hotels that I love...but they do not have Front Desk Managers like Ms. [--]. She is the sole reason why I switched. Guest service matters. I have had horrible hotel stays saved by a smile. Ms. [--] just rubs the salt in the wound.

Room Tip: If you stay here and have a problem...post it on trip advisor. The hotel doesn't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to further discuss this matter and will be reaching out to you in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Every year I bring my Mom to NYC for her birthday, and we loved staying at this property....in this past. This trip was not what I expected....our flight was delayed so when we finally checked in (2:30 in the MORNING vs 11 pm the night before) our room was not ready...how is that possible? We took one room so we could get to sleep and had to switch rooms later the next day. Our 'better' room had a hole in the bathroom ceiling, next to the shower head. The hole was the perfect size if someone wanted to hide a camera....it took 2 maintenance people and a front desk manager to put tape over the hole, although the tape didn't stick (no surprise there since it wasn't moisture resistant tape). We were also in need of a large pillow (front desk manager had removed it at the same time she 'checked out' the ceiling hole.....she removed it bc it was missing a pillow case). It took 36 hours to finally get it replaced. Elevators took forever, in fact we were almost late for a show bc we waited over 30 minutes for an elevator.....Room service was inconsistent, especially with the 'warm' chocolate chip cookies which were cold & hard.....There was 1 bright spot & that was one of the concierge....I planning to take my daughter to NYC this summer, & planning next year's trip....just don't know if our plans will include this hotel.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrell91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and I am so sorry for this experience. I will be sure to discuss this with our team. Thank you for comments about our concierge. Again, I apologize for this experience. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

It was like a dream! We got a room with view direck on the Time Square and for no charges. I could look on Time Square from our room forever. The room was lovely. Comfortable, no promblems with sound from outside or with lights from Time Square. The only stupid thing here is that there is no wifi in the room, only on reception.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones with the view on Time Square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday and I am SO glad I choose this hotel to mark my first time in New York a wonderful experience!!. I would highly recommend this hotel and I am sure you will not be disappointed. I didn't find the elevators/lifts a problem I actually think it works brilliantly. When we arrived we were checked in within 15 minutes. I agree this hotel is busy but it just goes to show its busy because it's the far the best hotel too stay at in Times Square!! I also dined at the View which is located at the top of the hotel on my actual birthday and I was given a window table!! They even arranged for a birthday cake for FREE!!! Cannot thank the staff enough for making my stay so perfect. Will be staying here again for sure!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are really nice and location is great. But it's covered in construction. It's a huge place and the elevators are snail like. Because of spring break you're only allowed to use the executive lounge with 2 people max. So kid has to stay in room :-( They also charge for alcoholic drinks in the lounge which I guess is normal for US hotels. But they offer a grab n go breakfast on a different level. Not sure if I would stay again. Just too busy and confusing.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baumburgerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We do get a high volume of guest that use our elevators during peak times. This usually occurs before Broadway shows and dinner times. In regards to the lounge, we follow the member benefits located on the Marriott Rewards webpage which states that an elite member may be accompanied by one additional guest. Thank you again for your review and look forward to you visiting back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located to access most of the sights for New York and the theatre district so for that reason is a good base. It is also very clean and tidy. Disappointments are the size of the hotel which makes it quite impersonal, the bar on the 8th floor gets overcrowded so the service is slow or non existent on one occasion and The View Restaurant is a little run down with staff who argued in front of customers and needed to address the cleanliness of their uniform - it put us off wanting to eat there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazKitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,982 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#187 of 466 in New York City
9,562 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 466 in New York City
2,370 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 466 in New York City
6,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing