We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Time Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #171 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel three nights and truly enjoyed this hotel. Great location, clean room (although the pressure of the toilet was a problem - not just in our room but in the common bathrooms as well), good restaurant and bar. Service was very good. Didn't realize we were staying during the Heisman weekend (this hotel is the official Heisman hotel) but we weren't put off by the mob of people. Everyone was very professional. Had dinner at the View one evening. Price is a fixed price ($67 for 3 courses) but food was good and service was excellent. Lobby on the 8th floor. Not marked clearly - had to ask someone. Although the room rate was very high for this weekend, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and hope to see you return to us soon for another great Marriott experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,116)
There are newer reviews for New York Marriott Marquis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,738 - 5,744 of 11,117 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

OK it's expensive, but what hotel in this part of the city is not. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are most comfortable with fluffy comforters and good pillows. The bathroom is large. The service is efficient and friendly. The unique elevator system prevents long waits for a hotel this large. There was construction going on while we were there that hid the entrance, but their people were most helpful in making sure you knew where to go. It is define toyon my list of places I would stay when I come back.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank ACW2243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We chose the Marquis from a friends recommendation, and were we glad. We are in our late 60's and able to walk everywhere. Hot Tix just a block away, then across the street from Junior's for our midnight snack, We walked to the theatre to see Kinky Boots and to eat at Trattoria Colori before. A short block from Carmine's (cut-through the right side of Junior's across the street. Grey Line Hop On-Hop Off was close too and well worth it. Night trip across the Brooklyn Bridge is included. We also went to Madison Square Gardens and Grand Central Station (eat at The Oyster Bar Restaurant) Took a cab to the 9/11 Memorial. It was hard to find at first, but once there not a long stop. The Harbor Tour was informative, but over two hours. Want to go back for sure!

Room Tip: The elevator set up takes some getting use to for sure. We faced Times Square and loved it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paradise44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

It sounds like you had a great time while staying with us! Have a great day and we can't wait to have you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location couldn't be better, the rooms a good size and comfy. The lifts very challenging especially when the computer system crashed right at about the time everyone was coming out of conference sessions at the end of the day. Had excellent table service from paul in the restaurant- also excellent advice from the folk in the co located 'tours' company. Housekeeping staff were pleasant and efficient too. Everywhere else it was really bad. The staff were rude, disinterested and seemed to hate being there. Basically let the whole place down. One expects to pay a lot for the location, but seriously, there was no concept of customer service in most areas, which overall made it poor value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're sorry you experienced and undesirable stay and level of customer service. The issues that you experienced are not typical of our hotel and we are incredibly sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate you alerting us on this issue and hope that you give us another opportunity when you return to New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to NYC to celebrate Christmas with my daughter and granddaughter. It was their first time in NYC---we loved it! Our room was very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect, so close to restaurants, theaters and Times Square. We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

I'm so happy to hear that you chose our hotel for your families first visit to New York City. We are honored to be part of your memories. We'll see you soon for your second trip. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

hey its in the heart of times square so you have to expect a little hustle and bustle. service was very good. room was quite comfortable. have stayed here a number of times and i almost always have a great view of the city - no matter which direction my room faces out. remember you are NYC so you will likely pay $15-$20 for a drink in the bar. enjoy this place so much have set up rooms for my kids here when they visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thanks for staying with us. I'm happy to hear that you experienced our caring service and great hotel amenities. We look forward to having you and your family soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We love the Marriott Marquis when we visit New York because of its proximity to Broadway plays and to Carmines, our favorite New York restaurant. We saw Kinky Boots and Motown which were both literally steps from the Marriott Marquis. We prefer a corner room because they are significantly larger. The rooms are expensive and not as good of a value as the Waldorf but I guess it's location, location, location. A number of years ago the Marriott had a major problems with their elevators and I vowed to never stay there again but this has been fixed and the elevator system is very efficient and fast. I suspect that it was extremely expensive to replace the elevators but doing so was definitely the right thing to do. I highly recommend the Marriott Marquis if you are a fan people watching in Times Square. People watching is my favorite activity while my wife shops, which is her favorite thing to do.

Room Tip: Prefer corner rooms looking out over Times Square
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drrbooher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the nearby Broadway shows and the larger corner rooms. Thank you for your comments and we'll see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,074 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 468 in New York City
9,666 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#268 of 468 in New York City
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#142 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $330 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing