We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #183 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great great place”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A really great hotel everything you need i enjoyed every day of it from morning until night and the beds were amaaaaaazing i would recommend this hotel to everyone that wants a nice place to go enjoy!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mosesobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,577
    3,681
    1,185
    412
    285
See reviews for
3,424
2,213
270
2,014
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife went to use the shower on the afternoon we checked in. There was a hair in the tub that wasn't ours, and some mold around the tub. There was only one washcloth for the 2 of us and only one bar of soap for both the shower and the sink. I called housekeeping and asked them to take care of it while we were out for the evening.

We got back late and nothing had been done. I went to the front desk and they said they would get in touch with housekeeping and call me. There was no explanation but they said they would send up the missing supplies. (I didn't want them to clean the bathroom at such a late hour.) They also offered us a voucher for a buffet breakfast and someone would slip it under our door. A little while later, someone showed up with a stack of towels and soap, but no washcloths. So they knew something had to be done, but they weren't paying attention.

At 5 AM no voucher had been delivered. I called the front desk and they said they'd check. A few minutes later they called back and said they forgot and someone would bring it up. Finally, someone did.

In summary, they know what a good hotel should look like, but there is no attention to details and they don't seem to understand how a good hotel should be run.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

To keep it short, the best thing about this hotel is the location. It is in Times Square, and all the city attractions are just a walking distance away. The other stuff are good for a 5 star hotel.

The elevator system is unique, where you have to select the floor before going in the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdulazizhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

So the hotel is huge, check in is on the 8th floor and they have numerous levels of ballrooms, etc. for the many conferences they host. My room was nice and clean and had a view of times square. The workout facilities here are very nice and also overlook times square, which is pretty cool. Cost is high due to location and its NY, but lots of things to do within walking distance. If its your fist time in NY, stay here and enjoy the area.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors so you don't hear the streets as much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXdirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachicola
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have just returned home from my FIRST trip to NYC. We stayed 4 nights at the NY Marriott Marquis. Customer service was very friendly. We met a few house keepers in the halls and they as well were very nice. It is a HUGE hotel.

The elevator system is wonderful and it works extremely fast. You push your floor number on a key pad outside of the elevator, and it tells you which elevator to go to, it's really easy!

The rooms are a nice size considering everyone had told me that NYC rooms are tiny. These rooms are anything but tiny. We stayed in room 4129 and had two double beds, plus a couch that let out to be a bed, which we did not use, being that there were only two of us in the room. The bathroom was very nice and large. The first morning I was surprised with a very cool shower. I went down and spoke with a nice lady at the front desk and she credited me $100 for payment to my room. The rest of our stay we had really hot water. We left the room each day by 10am. and we were never bothered by anyone. We would return each day by 6pm. to get ready for a show or dinner and our room was always cleaned and beds made.

The beds and pillows were very comfortable to me. Also, the blackout curtains are awesome and they do not let any light in while they are closed. The T.V. is a large flat screen, which we never watched. We went to sight see, not watch T.V. - If you would like a mini frig in your room, just request it. There is no charge for this option. No Microwave available.

CONS: 1. Bath towels are on the thin side. 2. We could hear when our neighbors would flush their toilets. We never heard anyone talking, but just water going through the pipes. It did not keep us awake or anything, it was just awkward. 3. Anyone can walk off the street into this Hotel (They may can do that in most of the hotels, IDK?) I just assumed that you would have to use your room key for entry, but you do not. Also, you enter on the first floor, and the lobby is on the 8th floor. We never had any problems, and always felt safe, but being in the center "of it all" I thought it would have better security.

I would stay at this hotel again if I had the option, although it's very pricey. $1,879.00 for four nights. Ouch! But, you are in the HEART of Times Square! Location does cost more..

By the way: DO NOT waste your money on the dessert bar at "The View". It was TERRIBLE!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLuvtotravel1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed again at this Times Square mega-hotel. We like it because of the location and the modern and spacious rooms. Be aware that everything is expensive here, including the $13 glasses of wine at the bar, the $22 burgers and the $17 daily wi-fi charge (but free in the lobby area which is not advertised).

If you can pay $450+ per day you'll like this place. Have a fun trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the nicest motels I've been to in a while!! Everyone was very nice and helpful. Rooms were VERY clean!!! Couldn't have asked for anything better!!! Ask for a floor on the higher floors. We could see Times Square out of our window.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#171 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,752 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,313 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,145 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,978 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing