We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL Hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #175 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ashford, Alabama, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL Hotel!!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the nicest motels I've been to in a while!! Everyone was very nice and helpful. Rooms were VERY clean!!! Couldn't have asked for anything better!!! Ask for a floor on the higher floors. We could see Times Square out of our window.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,950
    3,874
    1,262
    436
    304
See reviews for
3,768
2,323
283
2,158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Got a fantastic deal on this hotel through a bidding site - a 4-star for less than 230 on a Friday night in fall, right in Times Square? Amazing. So make sure you check around before paying their regular price!!! We stayed here for 1 night, however, so folks with long stays will obviously have more details...

I was a little scared after reading some bad reviews, but our experience was great. The elevators were really fast and not confusing at all (though I could see them being confusing to elderly users in particular). Check-in took literally 2 minutes, and we were on our way. All the staff we encountered were polite, friendly, and helpful.

Our room was absolutely awesome - HUGE for New York. King size bed with a nice sitting area and desk. The bed was super comfortable, and black out curtains made the room totally dark (didn't even realize it was morning when I woke up!). I know some reviewers have said they had trouble with noise - we were on the 24th floor, and didn't hear ANYTHING. No noise from other rooms, from outside, nothing. Totally quiet and peaceful. This was a little trip for my husband and I to have an overnight break from the kids, so it was wonderful to indulge in the peace and quiet and sleep late. We appreciated that check out time was noon instead of earlier.

Room was clean, bedding was clean, everything worked as it should. Perfect stay. And the location is absolutely amazing. We were going to see Pippin, and it turned out the theater was literally around the corner. I've never stayed right in Times Square before, and I think now I'm spoiled...it was SO easy to get around, and we didn't need to pay for taxis at all. Of course, if you're going to the Statue of Liberty or other places away from TS, you're going to need to use the subway or taxis. But for the Broadway and TS area, this was just perfect!

Room Tip: Totally quiet up on the 24th floor - I suspect lower floors are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodyweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Guest Relations Manager at New York Marriott Marquis, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you and I hope to see you back in the near future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Marriott last year with my family me my husband and two kids. The room was comfy not too small and the view of Times Square was worth a million dollars specially at night!!! On thanksgiving!!!! The rooms were clean and as we were in the club room there was free drinks and snacks available in the nearby club area/ conference room will stay thr again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatimafazlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Hotel is centrally located in Times Square. We arrived Sunday Morning, checked our bags.. Then went to the TKS window to get tickets for Broadway show, had lunch on Restaurant Row. Still have time to walk to Fifth Ave and sightsee. After the show we went to the View Revolving restaurant on top of the Marriott. Saw a panoramic view of the city. Later that night walked up to Central Park. In the morning we had bellhop check our bags and then took the subway downtown.In two days we saw midtown and the downtown area. Personnel at the hotel where helpful,s ervice was great. Room clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megandmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stay at this hotel when in NYC. The location is perfect and the rooms are large and well maintained. The concierge lounge is closed on weekends as is the case with many of the Marriott hotels but not a problem, they gave us extra rewards points. We did make use of it during the week days, the breakfast and afternoon snacks were excellent. Breakfast on Sunday morning in the restaurant was good. Housekeeping did a very good job with the room and check in was fast and friendly. Very enjoyable and comfortable place to stay with grand location.

Room Tip: request a high floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

You can´t get closer to Times Square than this! Very large and nice hotel in a great location close to everything in Midtown Manhattan. Nice rooms and very nice view at the top floor bar, which actually rotates! It is a tourist hotel, with a mix of tourists and business guests. Not a personalized and cosy experience, but you have access to all within the hotel, service was good and everything is in close walking distance from the hotel, which makes it a good place to stay when visiting. Very good gym as well, with great views!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaerholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have just completed a 2 night stay at this property. Had stayed here many times but the last one was almost 15 years ago.
For those who want to be right in the center of the action then look no further than this property as its right in Times Square with everything at your doorstep. I arrived at a busy hour and the entrance was like a zoo with cars, taxis etc
Check in was swift and luckily there is a separate line for Elite members.
As a Platinum Elite I was upgraded to a Deluxe suite on the 45th floor which is the last floor. There are certain points about this property that elite members need to be aware of. The access to the lounge is very strictly limited to one room only and only for 2 guests. The access is by a special card and the front desk staff clearly told me that if this card was lost or misplaced then by no means would they ever issue a replacement one. At the entrance of the lounge a staff guards it and checks if more than 2 persons are coming inside. I have never seen this in any of the Marriott properties around the world. Moreover there are no printing facilities etc in the lounge and for those who like to drink, there are no free drinks in the evening.
The lounge is nothing to write about and very basic in every sense. Perhaps the reason for all this fuss is the size of the hotel and to curtail the large number of guests who might fill up the lounge.
My room was of a good size and had a separate sitting room and separate bedroom. Bathroom was an average one and not what should be in a suite room.
Elevators were sometimes very slow but overall not bad and had the unique system of directing you to a particular one which would take you to your floor. In other words there are no buttons in the lift itself to press.
The concierge lounge is on the 30th floor. Breakfast was a simple affair of 1-2 hot items - what is usually found allover the lounges in USA and totally opposite to what we see in the far east or middle east. The bad part is that when the lounge is closed on weekends then Elite members are not offered any coupons etc.
They have become a bit generous now in the fact that they give a 1000 points in your rewards account. Not a good gesture really.
Check out was swift and then it was a nightmare at the entrance to get my car and drive out of Times Square. Having said this, my stay was an excellent one and I would chose this place again on my next visit as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DXBDOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 467 in New York City
7,973 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 467 in New York City
9,551 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 467 in New York City
7,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#180 of 467 in New York City
2,366 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 467 in New York City
6,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing