We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“For theatre goers, no better location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Marquis to your Saves list
New York Marriott Marquis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #202 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
fort myers
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For theatre goers, no better location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our family decided on an end-of-summer Broadway binge, and packed in 4 shows over the weekend (plus Monday). I'd stayed at the Marriott years ago and didn't hold out the highest hopes for the property, as downtown 4-star chain hotels tend to disappoint more than wow, if they haven't been through a reno in the recent past. Here, I wasn't disappointed in much, especially with the location, which puts all our on-Broadway venues within walking distance. Food, however, is a challenge (DO NOT eat at any street carts in Times Square...unless it's a pretzel - these guys are not able to check temps on meat under these lights!!) and even the hotel food was mediocre. I'm sure there are exceptions on and off the immediate Broadway path, but in our 4 days, we didn't find them. Cosi, nearby, does a decent salad and flatbread. Back to the hotel - the biggest disappointment was the concierge floor upgrade. 1. They are CLOSED on the weekends (really??) and 2. as of June 2013, the "new rule" is that only one guest can accompany the platinum elite member...which meant we either had to leave our 10-yr old in the room or standing outside the door, or we did a trade-off and had to shuffle snacks out to the room. This is the most ridiculous policy I have encountered and it is strictly enforced by the suited guard outside the lounge. They are not kidding, and in fact agree that it's preposterous. So, we were able to enjoy breakfast on Monday morning, but not together. Bizarre. Otherwise, the hotel was clean, suitable for the weekend, and what I would consider an upscale utility hotel - kind of like a glass of good house wine when there is nothing else and you really need one then and there. Be sure to book a room on the side of 1 Times Square. While it's really just unadulterated advertising, it's spectacular technology for those who haven't seen it. Great views! And great late night entertainment with naked, painted statues of liberty and other American icons...is that a flag she's wearing???

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,743
    3,104
    980
    352
    235
See reviews for
2,784
1,859
243
1,553
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in the Marquis in August 2013, first of all the location is unbeatable if you are going for the Theater District and Time Square. The rooms are average but not great, there is nothing luxurious about the rooms but it is comfortable. There is not even a mini fridge in the room which is kind of expected at the price point. I paid $500 a night for a Time Square view and only could see a limited part of Time Square. Housekeeping was very considerate and not once did we get that annoying tapping on the door like most hotels. The elevators were extremely efficient and not once did I wait even though the size of the hotel is large. I ate at the restaurant on the 8th floor and the service and food were excellent. I would definitely stay again for the location but would expect a nicer room for the price.

Room Tip: I was on the 17th floor on the towards Time Square and had no trouble with noise or lighting thanks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyJ774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our cost was $500 plus tax. Excellent stay. Problem with floor above was the loud sound when they used the bathroom. Sad for such a nice place. Great view of Times Square, we were directly across from the big signs. The View revolving restaurant is over-priced for drinks. The selection process to get in sucks. Wait in line is the only way in. Breakfast was remarkable. At $32.00 per person the value is really good. Problem is you can't get through more than one plate, maybe two if you can handle it. Coffee sucks. It's too strong and creates acid stomach.

Room Tip: A lot of tips go to keeping your bags in inventory until you can check in. The captain finally said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackhawkjxx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I checked in late and received the best service by the front desk associate. I don't remember her name but she told me she had recently transferred from Georgia. I travel a lot and have never received service like I did at the Marquis. By far best hotel in New York City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

You feel as though you are in the center of the universe, and in many ways you are. As a tourist, there is no place better to experience The City that Never Sleeps than this hotel. We've tried - stayed in more luxurious, ones with better service, more intimate, but none compares to the excitement of this hotel. It allows you to overlook the problems of paying 4+ hotel price for 3 star property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckySpivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel staff was top of the line including Austin Jones the manager!
Their food , shops service was impecable! It was our first visit to this hotel but have been to many other Marriott locations.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As a single (senior!) lady traveller, I needed somewhere central for my New York adventure. I could not have chosen a better hotel. My HUGE room overlooked Times Square - and when jet-lag set in at 4.00am in the morning, to sit on the sofa in the bay window, watching the yello cabs like ants below was amazing!
The room was large, comfortable and well furnished, and although it's a very large hotel, the staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful.
And how wonderful it was to be able to walk out of the hotel, and onto Times Square - it felt as though the whole of New York was on my doorstep.
I LOVED this hotel and qwould recommend it for it's location - and do try to get a Times Square view room - superb!

Room Tip: Get a Times Square room - stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclingforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#149 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 6,836 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#156 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#265 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#50 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,405 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,890 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#86 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing