We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“touristy but sometimes that's ok” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #198 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
MASS
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“touristy but sometimes that's ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I travel to NYC for business frequently and don't stay at the Marquis unless I am attending an event there. However, i was taking my 19 year old daughter with me on a quick work trip and I thought it would be a fun place for her to see NYC for the first time. I had seen some reviews about the Concierge Lounge being overrun and they do have new rules that allows only one guest and the elite guest must be there as well. That's ok with me. We had a good experience there for grabbing a quick late night cookie and waters and then in the morning for breakfast.

We had a nice visit and the rate was reasonable (for NYC). It's very easy to get a cab right from the entrance and it is exciting to see Times Square shine through your window.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for a corner room where the view is better and you gain some square foota...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paducah1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,304
    3,542
    1,134
    408
    269
See reviews for
3,256
2,117
263
1,879
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

It is a great hotel with great rooms. But the best part is the location. You are right in the middle of Times Square and within walking distance of every show and great deli. It is a large high rise hotel but once you get your bearings it is easy to get around.

Room Tip: A good tip is to request a corner room which is bigger than the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsolomon3056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent hotel at an excellent location. Being an Elite member helps as you get complimentary breakfast and Hors d'oeuvre. If you want to watch a Broadway Show, a must stay location. Close proximity to Central Park, where I enjoy my morning jog.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Chien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location was perfect, the service was exceptional and the view was tremendous. The room itself was so nice and very spacious. The beds were very comfortable and the cleanliness was tremendous. We had a view of Times Square and that was, by far, my favorite. I was a little worried it would be too bright to sleep, but the light blocking curtains didn't let any light in while we slept. I cannot say enough about the location of this hotel - staying in Times Square is so worth the extra money. We took our 2 children with us and if you are traveling with your family you MUST stay in Times Square and if you want to do it right go with the Marriott Marquis

Room Tip: A view of Times Square!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibraryGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I too don't understand the negative reviews. On arrival we noticed we were one suitcase short...and the two taxis had left. I felt sick to my stomach and could not thank the valet staff more for making calls and helping to make an awful situation seem better. My husband ran back to Penn Station and our bag was there..the taxi attendant took it out of our cab and forgot to put it back, good result in the end. Every staff member we encountered we're lovely. The room had two doubles and a pull out sofa, we overlooked Times Square. The location is amazing, in the heart of it. Plenty of cafe's to have breakfast at if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Overall, it is a great hotel in a great location. If you want cheap and cheerful...don't go to New York as everything there is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coops94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been to New York twice, and stayed here the first time. I wish I could change that, and have stayed here the second time, it was such a fantastic hotel. In the future, I will definitely be staying here again!
It is not the height of luxury, but it is quite a nice hotel. Ignoring its amazing location for a moment, it is a beautiful hotel, with some of the friendliest staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. They helped us find our way around, read the city map and subway map, answer questions about theatre shows (there's even a box office with tickets for EVERY Broadway show in the hotel, to make getting tickets for the theatre ridiculously simple!) and answer questions about other attractions.
A few fringe benefits, there is a theatre inside the hotel, which is fun to see the audience and actors before and after the show, and extremely convenient if you have tickets. The elevator is glass, and the ride up is really something to see just how high you are, as the elevator is the middle of the hotel, with the hallways and rooms surrounding it.
Now getting back to that location. IT'S AMAZING!! You do pay a little more for the location, but New York is a city where location matters. Being able to walk downstairs and instantly be in Times Square is invaluable. The views are amazing, and if you plan on seeing any theatre whilst in the city (which, lets face it, you better be!) it is a wonderful feeling to come out of the show late at night, walk through the lights and energy of Times Square, and know your hotel is right there, and not a long walk or can ride away. The hotel is also bursting with the energy of Times Square, which is infectious and wonderful.
A warning, since this hotel is right in the middle of Times Square, it also means its right in the middle of the noise. The higher up the room is, the less the noise carries, however if you are not a city person, the noise may be an issue for you.
Also, try to book early, as the rates do go up the closer it gets, and it can get expensive if you wait. We booked about a year early and got a great deal, but don't worry, you don't have to be that early, but at least book 4-5 months ahead of time for best prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've heard about this hotel from several people and they all had rave reviews. My experience was not as exciting. The bed was very comfortable but the noise level was not very relaxing. I know it's in the heart of Times Square and noise is to be expected, I just didn't expect that much from the 25th floor with a room facing the back of the hotel. Also, it would be nice if housekeeping knocked first and then gave you ample time to open the door before using their keys to barge in. It makes for a very uncomfortable stay.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank yollly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#169 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,594 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,036 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#278 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,001 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing