We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location to explore Manhattan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located on Broadway, right at Times Square. One step outside this hotel and you are right in the middle of all the action :-) Great place to be based to explore Manhattan. The hotel is big, the rooms are very large for NY standards, the beds are very comfortable and the service was excellent. There is a rotating bar/restaurant on the 48th floor called the View. It is worth having a drink while admiring the beautiful views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,286
    3,529
    1,130
    405
    268
See reviews for
3,241
2,113
263
1,860
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,252)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here as a Mothers Day present from our husbands. Everyone from the bell hop to check in was great and very helpful. Nelson at the concierge was wonderful and funny. He even taught us how to use the subway system! The room was clean and modern. The elevator system was great! We never waited for an elevator. The only improvement they could make would be free Internet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boltec23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a conference. Great location in the middle of everywhere. Great service. Great rooms. Very good gym.A lot of dinning options. I loved it!
It might be expensive but we got special rate which was very worthy.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrisIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the NYMM in Feb for 11 nights. I picked the Marriott for the location and it did not disappoint! The room was large with plenty of room for our many suitcases, with heaps of room left over to put all our shopping!! The decor was nice, everything worked and the bed was so comfy after loooong days walking the city. The bars and restaurants in the hotel were great, especially the revolving restaurant, where I had the best cheesecake I've ever eaten!! The dessert buffet was also fantastic! All of the staff were amazing and so helpful. A couple of issues, the bathroom is the first one. A shower over a bath with a shower curtain isn't up to standard for what you pay to stay there and there is only one basin (not a huge deal though). Second, no minibar, so you couldn't buy drinks/food to put in your room to have if you didn't want room service or to go out. Lastly, we booked through the Marriott website on a pay on check out deal. Upon arrival the person at the desk informed us they would be holding $4000 off our credit card for the duration of our stay (our accommodation didn't even come to that amount) for incidentals. I found this to be quite ridiculous. We were at the end of our trip and holding that amount of $$$ was half of our spending money gone. Nowhere was I informed about the charges for incidentals and not having traveled to the USA before I did not know this was customary (here they just take a swipe of your credit card and charge you if you damage anything, not hold your money even though you haven't damaged a thing). So we didn't have a choice. We had to pay it, but luckily we were able to not let it ruin our trip and accessed more money from home, but it was pretty stressful at the time. All in all we had a wonderful stay in a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone visiting NYC for the first time!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Marriott Marquis is in a perfect location, especially if you want to go to some shows. Our theater was right across the street. It is a large hotel with a Starbucks, bars, restaurants, including a rooftop revolving restaurant. The gym is really large with a great view of the city. My husband is a platinum member and we were upgraded to a corner suite with a great view. The only downsides were that the towels were thin and small,and they did not have simple items like shower caps, or bottled water in the room. Even in Hampton Inns, they give you a bottle of water. Overall, it is an excellent hotel, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyManassas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

the location and the entrance of that hotel says it all. access from the center of time square makes it the best place to stay at when you are at manhattan and willing to spend some money.
been there a couple of times with friends. this hotel would be a perfect choice for a couple of nights in the heart of manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have chosen this Hotel for my life time Dream Holidays, from all the way through from reservation, check in, room and dining experience were not great. I definitely won't be returning to this property and clearly there is lots of Hotel deals on offer with good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,585 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#181 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,023 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#139 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing