We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, quality property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #175 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Riverview, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, quality property”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was a little bit worried about staying here because Times Square hotels can be pricey. This Marriott was about average for a hotel in this location and it was well worth it. Our room was large, with two queen beds, a sofa and table. Everything was very clean. The room was extremely quiet so we got a good night's rest. The shops and restaurants in the hotel are very pricey but I suppose it's about the same in any hotel of that caliber on Times Square. The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the theater district, the action in the square and only a block or two from many nice restaurants and shops. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmonforton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,860
    3,833
    1,238
    430
    298
See reviews for
3,674
2,300
280
2,130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,443)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staying in the heart of Manhattan was such a great experience.
So many things close by so it's easy to visit. Very convenient !
Being close to the theater district and TKTS booth for same day tickets made it easy to go see a musical on Braodway.

The hotel was great in every aspect. The room was large, clean and confortable.
Lots of eating possibilities in and around. The view from our room magic.
The elevators are quite special. My daughter still talks about them.

If you can afford it... feel the New York Experience fist hand !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plannerHaolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights with my husband and teen-age grandchildren. We asked for two double beds, which were good for all of us (of course, you have to be used to sleep sometimes with kids). We prefered this for safety reasons - compared to two separate rooms. And that was perfect.
Even though it is quite expensive hotel, for us it was really ok instead of two different rooms - and also less expensive.There were also room enough for our suitcases and all other things. We had a view to Times Square, which is something special.
Room and bathroom were clean, and only thing we were missing were minibar (e.g. fridge), and coffee making facilities were poor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RitaK990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We read the reviews on the Marriott and decided to give it a try for out trip to NYC. The location is great - near everything at Times Square. We had a nice room with a view of the river, very quiet. Plenty of electrical outlets for all our gadgets, phones, tablets, camera batteries, etc. The bed was good, but not great - a little worn and soft. Our only complaint - but could be luck of the draw on the room. We would definitely stay again and I really plan to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spidersuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Initially, I had mixed feelings about booking this property, as I saw this property was ranked around #100 in NYC on Trip Advisor. But my employer has strict policies that dictate we can't spend more than $300 a night for a room, even in NYC, and the Marriott's price was right for me (and a lot of my regular go-to hotels were sold out). So I decided to give it a shot.

After a very efficient check-in, I was pleasantly surprised how nice my $295-a-night room there was. It was much larger than I expected, and it was spotless. There was even a small area for relaxing by a window overlooking Manhattan, with an armchair and table. The decor was unremarkable (i.e., basic) but certainly not worn out or outdated. The bed was extremely comfortable. I did hear some noise from the neighboring room and from the hallway, but the white noise app on my phone did its thing and I slept well. Water pressure in the shower was excellent in spite of my high floor (24?).

The concierge staff led me to great choices for sushi (Sushi of Gari, I think it was called) and for bagels (Times Square Bagels, a great takeout option for breakfast that was really reasonably priced).

I was just there one night (and was there in NYC less than 24 hours, total), but I would definitely return and stay there again. Great value for such a large, clean room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Apart from the excellent ocation one is impressed that this vast monolith works,and works well

Obviously very impersonal - more like a train station than a hotel

Not cheap - $350 a night

Beware the 18% " suggested gratuity " and the $5 the man who moves your case 2 feet wants,and the $5 his colleague wants for picking it up and bringing it back 2 feet

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARRY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

1.200 $ for a 7 night stay per person. It’s still OK if you want the amazing and hypnotic view on TIMES SQUARE. Beware not all the rooms have this benefit, so worthy to specify it before reservation. If not, you’re at the heart of NY, but probably there are cheaper and still central alternatives.
The hotel itself is enormous, business-oriented style with hundreds of rooms and a lobby located at the 8th floor, so skip it if you’re looking a cozy and intimate place with a familiar ambiance.
The room was clean and the size was fine, but the furniture a bit old-fashioned. I was surprised about the absence of the frigobar and the poor offer of personal care products (just soap and body lotion).
The internet connection in the room is not included (add 24$ per day).
Service in line with the expectations.

Room Tip: Choose Time Square view otherwise is not worthy the money spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorenzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#178 of 466 in New York City
7,921 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#191 of 466 in New York City
9,484 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#182 of 466 in New York City
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#154 of 466 in New York City
7,008 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#262 of 466 in New York City
4,216 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 466 in New York City
6,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#139 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing