We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel worth experiencing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #184 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hotel worth experiencing”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is obviously one of Marriott's flagship properties, and it's clear that Marriott takes steps to make sure it offers a good experience. The staff is polished, and the service is excellent, even for a large property with lots of turnover. The amenities are top-notch, including the revolving restaurant overlooking Times Square, the well-equipped workout room with a city view, the concierge lounge, and the lobby. Even the elevator system is cutting edge. The location is great. There are plenty of less expensive options, including a nice Courtyard near Port Authority a few blocks away. However, unless you're just looking for a place to sleep, the experience is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichBustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,687
    3,755
    1,204
    419
    292
See reviews for
3,520
2,254
274
2,063
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for our 25th anniversary. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We only stayed one night. Since we had a tight schedule, location and room accessability were very important. The location was perfect. The hotel is just steps from the Subway station. We were able to walk to many of the restaurants that we wanted to choose from. It was a very short walk to the Broadway play that we were seeing. It was even a short walk to the Hudson River where the Intrepid Air and Space Museum is docked.

We arrived at 11:00 a.m. and were allowed to check into our room. We were also granted a late checkout. When we checked out, there were plenty of taxis waiting.

We did have 2 minor problems that were both quickly remedied. First, it was 55 degrees and rainy outside. Our heat did not work. The room was at 61 degrees. The maintenance guy fixed it within 30 minutes of being notified. Second, the waiter at the 48th floor revolving restaurant informed me that the room number that I gave him was not my room. Apparently, the front desk had me listed in a different room from the one issued to me. The waiter took me to the side to show me that my room was vacant according to his computer. So instead of enjoying our expensive drinks, I had to contact the front desk so I could charge the tab to my room and ensure that my room was not rented to another person while I was not there. Shortly after my phone call, the waiter informed me that the front desk corrected the problem and allowed us free dessert from the very impressive dessert buffet.

All in all, the Marriott Marquis was very comfortable and the staff will obviously bend over backwards to make your stay as perfect as possible. I would definitely stay again for a special occassion.

Room Tip: It is New York City. Of course you want a higher floor to enjoy the best views. We faced West which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and shared a room. It was plenty big enough with great views of Times Square. We were in the midst of Times Square, but didn't notice any noise day or night. It is so easy for getting out and about. Finding places to eat is a doddle as well. The hotel was clean, friendly and well equipped. We felt safe, happy and relaxed. What more could you require?!

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you want views of Times Square and also if you require two doubles rather than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpineangel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've been staying at Marriott's for over 30 years and have read both of the Marriott books written by the Dad (founder) and the son Bill Jr. Most employees don't even know these books exist. I know the Marriott model and how they rate their properties. With that as background, this hotel is located in what was one of the seediest areas in NYC. The construction of this hotel helped change Times Square to what it has become today. Having said that, when you step onto the sidewalk you are immediately engulfed in a sea of humanity. I've been staying at this hotel since it first opened back in the 1980's I think. My biggest beef used to be waiting for elevators, but this has been fixed and you can get anywhere in a flash - from the 1st floor to check-in (8th floor) or to your room (ours was on 39). If you want views get a room facing Broadway, not too high up -- way 10-15 floors. The hotel is modern, vibrant and has everything you need - workout center, restaurants, bars, business center, valet, Concierge, etc. This is after all, the premier brand of Marriott (under the Marriott name that is). I think a regular room is in the $300 to $500 per night range - youzer.... but this is NYC. We were lucky enough to use points for 3 nights. A couple of other tips - if you want a drink and the main bar is crowded... walk further back through the restaurant and there is another bar facing Broadway. Most people aren't aware of this. We had dessert back in this area sitting at a table facing Broadway at night - fantastic view -- go for it. Also, if you want a cup of Starbucks, don't go down to the main street level on 1 which can be very crowded --- instead go to the 8th floor (check in) and you'll find that within the gift shop there is a Starbucks where you can get coffee, water, bagel, fresh fruit, juice, etc. Our room on 39 was nicely sized with a large comfy bed, bed linens and pillows. My wife is really picky about her pillows and she really liked these. Nice TV, desk area, couch and chair, plenty of receptacles for Ipads, phones, etc. The room was quiet and relaxed and the temp system worked efficiently and effectively. As previously mentioned running down to the 8th floor in the morning happened in a flash with their efficient elevator system. My only beef is that their was mold and a hair on the white shower curtain very visible to the eye. Other than that, I give this Marriott a 5 star rating and I don't give out many.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Broadway - on a lower floor between about 10 and 20 If you want a drink and the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna
Level Contributor
119 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is locationally one of the best places to stay in NYC, right in the middle of times square, about 6 blocks from Grand Central and right in the center of the theater district. The room was quite nice and was a pretty good deal on Priceline. The shower was one of the best I've had and we had a room on the 39th floor which looked right down on Times Square. Checkin was painless and staff was efficient. Elevators could be a bit of a wait but definitely not a major inconvenience. The room was a blissful silent at night and the beds delightful loaded with lots of pillows and soft covers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Times Square, the mecca for tourists. You can spend the entire day exploring Manhattan; visit Ground Zero, Chinatown, Greenwich Village, take a boat taxi around the island to see The Lady up close; then you return home to your hotel room, with the night still young but with no energy to party it away. What do you do?
Well, you get out of your room and head downstairs to the red steps of TKTS booth and you sit there with a cappuccino and your journal jotting away your thoughts, maybe taking a few pics of the humanity around you. Its all happening around you, but you can just sit and soak it in. Maybe go for a play. Grab a bite at the many touristy places around. You might get lucky and bang into Ricky Martin like we did. The Square is rockin' the whole night! Its safe. It feels safe. And its ALIVE!
The hotel itself is just a place to sleep. Get a double double bed and you can comfortably sleep there with your 2 little kids.
WiFi is not free. But it is freely available in the lobby. So take your iPad there and connect. Come back to your room and the connection is on and free for 24 hours!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penelope1976
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location is fantastic, but above that, the staff at the hotel is extremely warm and friendly. Rooms are big compared to other rooms in NYC. We stayed on the 21st floor and had the most amazing view of Times Square. Again, I can't say enough about it! Clean fabulous rooms with amazing views and a fantastic staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#177 of 468 in New York City
7,828 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,405 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#183 of 468 in New York City
2,329 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,922 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#103 of 468 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Green Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#146 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing