We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect place to enjoy Times Square from” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott Marquis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New York Marriott Marquis
Ranked #204 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect place to enjoy Times Square from”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great location, had a conference in NY and this was the conference hotel and it meet all of the conference needs and mine. Central location in Times Square, you can get to all on and off Broadway theaters by walking. Great conference rooms and super helpful staff. Fast, efficient elevators. Very clean and spacious rooms. You must check out the 9th floor observation area over Time Square and the roof top resturant, what views. Great places to eat also only steps away. Would come back.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing Times Square are quieter and don't have neon lights shining in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandlover1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,170
    3,456
    1,105
    397
    261
See reviews for
3,161
2,065
260
1,787
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,208)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel twice for pleasure and greatly enjoyed both times. The location is wonderful, right on Time Square in the middle of the theatre district. It's so easy and close to walk to a theatre performance or a movie. The area is extremely clean and safe. I constantly saw policemen patrolling the area or just hanging around to make sure everything stays safe, and they are happy to answer any questions you have. All of the employees at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: It's worth it to spend the extra money and get a room with a view of Time Square. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Staffs
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

A memorable visit to a great City was enhanced by our stay in The Marquis. Just stroll through the 3rd floor walkway to take in a Broadway show at the Hotels own theatre. Afterwards end the evening in style with dinner and cock-tails in the revolving restaurant at the top of the Hotel. Here you can take in the 360 degree panorama of lights that is N Y's skyline. The Overnight Concierge was a mine of information, advising us where to go and what best to see. He even escorted us under an umbrella, to the end of the block.

Room Tip: Fancy opening your curtains to a fab view of Times Square? There are lots of great views, just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwain834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
318 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. The best part of the hotel is its location. Rooms were clean and fairly comfortable. Staff were responsive to my needs. Would stay here again and recommend to my friends and family.

Helpful?
1 Thank carolinasunshine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Not been a fan of NYC before, but after a few days at this location, I can hardly wait to return. Lovely hotel, great room, fantastic view, loved going walking from here, in the middle of theatre district - what more could be asked for

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petewanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Level Contributor
241 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

We recently stayed in the Marriott Marquis Time Square in New York. It is a huge hotel and all employees we encountered were helpful. I thought check in could have had more employees working since there was a line with only about 6 people working the desk area that probably had 20 check in slots. The room was recently renovated and everything worked. We could hear the toilet above us flush and the water run down the wall. We had a partial time square view which we truly enjoyed. There was a fire in the elevator on Sunday and Monday morning about 2 am the fire alarm went off in the hotel and the fire trucks came again. We were assured there was no fire, but it was very hard to settle back down and sleep. Their elevators have the floor number entry on the outside. This was not a problem. The hotel is still under construction and will probably be a little more user friendly when all is complete. There are black out curtains and since we were on the 35th floor there was no noise problem. There are no refrigerators in the room and we did not have a soft drink machine on the floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a times square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scook112301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

My teenaged daughter and I have been coming to NYC from Philadelphia for years. We'll stay the weekend, see a show, shop, stroll and enjoy dining experiences. I also come for business approximately once a month. I have never before stayed at the Marquis. I'd been wanting to stay away from Times Square, as we usually stay at the Doubletree Guest Suites but I felt like we'd outgrown the lure of Times Square and might enjoy elsewhere. My daughter, for her 14th birthday celebration, wanted to stay in Times Square, so I booked the Marquis.

We arrived early (10ish) and were told that the hotel was sold out - so no upgrades available. No Times Square view. Ok, no problem. I wasnt using points for this (saving those for the Marriott in St Thomas) so I figured I'd take what they gave me and hoped my Marriott loyalty would warrant a decent room. Guess not. Despite my 10 year running Marriott profile stating preference for high floors, we were given a room in the back of the 20th floor, on an interior corner such that the view was almost tunneled. When I asked about a higher floor (I want to see SOMETHING), I was told nothing was or would be available. No option to wait, which we gladly would have done and have done many times at Doubletree suites.

Our room was small. Seemd like perhaps there were stack pipes in both corners because we had these square protrusions into the room. Also, seems that we were next to a housekeeping room because we constantly heard water running and some kind of tub being emptied - not like a hotel room sink but more like a wash tub. This is the noise which woke us in the morning.

Ok, ce la vie. Of all of our great stays, this clearly wasn't going to be the one with a nice room. Move on and have a good time.

30 mins before our reservation at Tao, we went down to stand in the taxi line to taxi over. Funny thing, we saw no taxis. We, along with others, waited and waited. 10 minutes went by and not one taxi pulled into the Marquis. Nobody said anything to us or asked where we were going. We finally walked ot the street, frustratedly walked several blocks in dresses and heels, and evebtually found a taxi, arriving at Tao 15 mins late. (so it took us 45 mins to get there).

After dinner and a show, we went back to the Marquis for the desssert and cheese bar at the View. This would have been a nice experience but our waitress seemed stretched far too thinly. We were there for about 1.5 hours and only saw her twice. It was extrelemy hard to get her attention to sign off on our tab. It was expensive, yes, but that's the cost of doing business in NYC and the experience was great. I just wish the service matched the cost - or even came close. It was around 1am and we were super tired - so sitting and waiting 15 minutes to get your check after you've seen the View isn't pleasant. I also would have liked a second champagne tini but it just took too long for us to get her attention and I thought it wise to use that time to leave.

Next day, up early with the "whooosh" of the utility sink next to us. Went shopping on 5th (a birthday tradition. Oh, heck, an "every visit" tradition). Checked my iPhone around 2 to look for Amtrak trains back to Philly and realized they were all selling out. Also, my phone was on 10% battery life, Panic - back to the hotel and to the concierge. Can you help me book a train ticket? Response with a flat look "you can call them or go online". Well, duh! I know that. I don't have enough battery life to call them (now at 5%) and I can't get the online system to book via my iPhone). My iPad was in my luggage, which had been given to the bellman. I said "you can't help me book it?". Response "No, because that would mean you would need to give me your personal information". What? In all of my travels across the globe, I have never heard this from a concierge. She could have helped, even if she didnt want to take my info. Did they have a business center where I could have used a PC? I am sure they did but she didn't offer it. After giving me her reply, she moved her eyes back to her computer screen and went back to what she had been doing, as I stood right there looking at her. Wow!

I took a shot and called AMTRAK with 5% battery life and spoke as quickly as I could, getting seats on a train. Phew! Went to dinner and came back for luggage just in time the Marquis surrounded by fire engines and water pouring out if the upper floor elevator banks. It looked bad, but we were out of there - and I don't have any plans of returning. I have 13 nights booked in 4 cities in the next 3 weeks - and none of them will be Marriott properties. It just doesn't pay to be loyal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,508 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#186 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#268 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,888 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway Hotel New York
Millennium Broadway Hotel New Yo...
#278 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#51 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Marquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Marquis

Property: New York Marriott Marquis
Address: 1535 Broadway, At 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Green Hotel in New York City
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#142 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — New York Marriott Marquis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1957
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business & leisure travel, this world-class NYC hotel is located in the Times Square theater district of Manhattan and features newly renovated hotel rooms, event venues and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Marquis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Marquis Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
Marriott Marquis New York
Marriott Hotel New York
New York City Marriott
Marriott Times Square
Marriott Marquis Times Square
Marriot Marquis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing