We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Murray Hill East Suites
Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we arrived the staff were all very helpful. The room was very large, but dated... no big deal though. The rooms were clean and the location was excellent. It was nice having a full kitchen since there is no dining at the hotel itself. Overall, I enjoyed the stay and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 664 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel gives great value for money. We stayed in a studio suite which was much more spacious and better equipped than a standard hotel room would have been. Decor is possibly a little dated, but we don't find this an issue, Maid service was great, reception staff were helpful, and the position of the hotel is brilliant for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor could access the free wifi from the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahg_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We reserved through a travel site and got a pretty good price (for a midtown hotel!). The room was very large, with a nice sitting area with a pull out couch and a small kitchen (not that we used it, but nice to know we had the option!).
The hotel is just a few easy blocks from Grand Central Station. The location was the best part. Easy walking distance to lots of attractions and the subway. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the elevators was being upgraded while we were there, so there was only one working and that made for long waits. We found it quicker to use the stairs but the stairwells were pretty grungy and a little scary.
Just a warning, we found the beds to be very uncomfortable. They seemed good enough at first, but I continuously woke during the night with some body part lacking circulation and every morning we were stiff and sore. Also, the coffee provided in the room is disgusting. If you will be making coffee in the room, I actually suggest bringing your own!

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside of the hotel and was quiet. If the elevator is not working, ask for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel online after we had checked in to another hotel which was really disappointing. The Murray Hill was a pleasure to visit. The rooms were lovely and were very spacious. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful, from the receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful, to the doormen, who were always welcoming. The location is good and area is nice. I would recommend walking down to 3rd Avenue. We discovered it on our last day and it looked nice. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowsouthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arrived at Penn Station, got lost and found, and then reached the healing comfort of Murray Hill. Welcoming and efficient staff, a comfortable spacious set of rooms and peace. Close to the Chrysler building and many small excellent eateries this was the perfect base for my first visit to NYC. My only gripe is that free wifi is only available in the lobby but that is a very small moan. The rooms were very clean and well maintained - everything worked and as in all of NY I felt welcome and valued and safe. The staff care that your stay is a pleasant experience. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is a good deal if you regularly get to UN buildings etc as it is only 10mins walking distance. The hotel is clean and staff are very friendly, and housekeeping is very efficient. Was impressed with their service. Although I did experience quite a lot of static shocks during my stay due to cold but nothing harmful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor may not be affected by occasional noise from traffic esp in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unlike a lot of mid-budget hotels in New York, The Murray Hill is everything it claims to be. Simple, clean and functional apartments, excellent housekeeping and friendly staff who accommodate requests for early check-ins and late check-outs with quiet efficiency, even when the lobby is seething with hassled guests. The location is perfect - in the heart of Manhattan and just two blocks away from the UN, surrounded by shopping and great places to eat. There is no restaurant, so no in-house breakfast - but Le Pain Quotidien with its magical fressh-baked bread and luscious Belgian chocolate is just a few short blocks away. Taxis are easily available just outside the door and Grand Central Station is just around the corner. The apartment is welcoming and comfortable. I particuarly appreciated the fact that the bed (again unlike beds in most New York hotels) was not soggy and squishy. Good coffee on the house in generous amounts was a pleasant bonus. Just one suggestion - extend the free wifi to the rooms. It's a pain to pay for it by the day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KALYANI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
811 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#203 of 469 in New York City
3,399 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#130 of 469 in New York City
4,891 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#325 of 469 in New York City
2,103 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
19,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Address: 149 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $167 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hill East Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished rental apartments located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing