We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murray Hill East Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murray Hill East Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel gives great value for money. We stayed in a studio suite which was much more spacious and better equipped than a standard hotel room would have been. Decor is possibly a little dated, but we don't find this an issue, Maid service was great, reception staff were helpful, and the position of the hotel is brilliant for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor could access the free wifi from the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahg_2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    324
    97
    35
    15
See reviews for
197
156
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We reserved through a travel site and got a pretty good price (for a midtown hotel!). The room was very large, with a nice sitting area with a pull out couch and a small kitchen (not that we used it, but nice to know we had the option!).
The hotel is just a few easy blocks from Grand Central Station. The location was the best part. Easy walking distance to lots of attractions and the subway. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the elevators was being upgraded while we were there, so there was only one working and that made for long waits. We found it quicker to use the stairs but the stairwells were pretty grungy and a little scary.
Just a warning, we found the beds to be very uncomfortable. They seemed good enough at first, but I continuously woke during the night with some body part lacking circulation and every morning we were stiff and sore. Also, the coffee provided in the room is disgusting. If you will be making coffee in the room, I actually suggest bringing your own!

Room Tip: Our room was on the backside of the hotel and was quiet. If the elevator is not working, ask for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juli143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel online after we had checked in to another hotel which was really disappointing. The Murray Hill was a pleasure to visit. The rooms were lovely and were very spacious. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful, from the receptionist who couldn't have been more helpful, to the doormen, who were always welcoming. The location is good and area is nice. I would recommend walking down to 3rd Avenue. We discovered it on our last day and it looked nice. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowsouthside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arrived at Penn Station, got lost and found, and then reached the healing comfort of Murray Hill. Welcoming and efficient staff, a comfortable spacious set of rooms and peace. Close to the Chrysler building and many small excellent eateries this was the perfect base for my first visit to NYC. My only gripe is that free wifi is only available in the lobby but that is a very small moan. The rooms were very clean and well maintained - everything worked and as in all of NY I felt welcome and valued and safe. The staff care that your stay is a pleasant experience. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is a good deal if you regularly get to UN buildings etc as it is only 10mins walking distance. The hotel is clean and staff are very friendly, and housekeeping is very efficient. Was impressed with their service. Although I did experience quite a lot of static shocks during my stay due to cold but nothing harmful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor may not be affected by occasional noise from traffic esp in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unlike a lot of mid-budget hotels in New York, The Murray Hill is everything it claims to be. Simple, clean and functional apartments, excellent housekeeping and friendly staff who accommodate requests for early check-ins and late check-outs with quiet efficiency, even when the lobby is seething with hassled guests. The location is perfect - in the heart of Manhattan and just two blocks away from the UN, surrounded by shopping and great places to eat. There is no restaurant, so no in-house breakfast - but Le Pain Quotidien with its magical fressh-baked bread and luscious Belgian chocolate is just a few short blocks away. Taxis are easily available just outside the door and Grand Central Station is just around the corner. The apartment is welcoming and comfortable. I particuarly appreciated the fact that the bed (again unlike beds in most New York hotels) was not soggy and squishy. Good coffee on the house in generous amounts was a pleasant bonus. Just one suggestion - extend the free wifi to the rooms. It's a pain to pay for it by the day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALYANI M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamiers
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came back to this hotel especially because of its staff and the size of the rooms at a decent price. We haven't been disappointed. The staff is as friendly and helpful as ever and the hotel is improving: New elevators are being installed, the old ones really needed replacement.
Many thanks to all the staff who make their customers feel at home during their stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, they are MUCH quieter. The 39th street in New York is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,150 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,652 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Property: Murray Hill East Suites
Address: 149 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 166 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hill East Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished rental apartments located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing