We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, safe location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murray Hill East Suites
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient, safe location”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife had visited NYC before, but this was our first visit together and staying in Manhattan. Being budget-conscious we booked this hotel on an online 'sight unseen' website, so there is a bit of lack of control in selecting the hotel. We reconciled the cost (over $250CAD per night) with the convenience of being mid-town. However, we were pleasantly surprised, given some older reviews.

We arrived via the Airtransporter from La Guardia and were dropped off at Grand Central Terminal, about a five minute walk from the hotel. Our first impression of the staff was favourable and lasting - we found them polite and helpful. As we arrived mid-morning we stowed our bags and headed into the town. On our return later we found ourselves in suite #102 on the first (ground) floor, which featured an enclosed outdoor patio. The suite was a large living room (sofa, two armchairs, dining table and chairs, wall-mounted flat screen TV), large bedroom (king bed, plenty of closet space, wall-mounted flat screen TV), bathroom and small, equipped kitchen.

First of all, it was clean and warm. Decor is not 'modern', but not worn out either; our suite was fine, certainly for a few days in the city. It is roomy, so I think it would be comfortable for a longer stay. The kitchen was adequate - four settings of plates, cutlery, etc - and a dishwasher, fridge, microwave and gas stove. We only needed breakfast at the hotel (we came to see NYC, not the hotel!). However, apart from a kettle and a broil tray, I think it would be hard to 'cook' anything on the stove.

The bed was very comfortable (certainly had two thumbs up from my wife) and clean. There is a safe in a closet, but it was missing a lock of any sort. Fortunately this was not a problem for us, but if you wanted to secure your passports, cash, jewelry, etc it is a concern. We did not follow up with front desk as we didn't need it.

Location? Not bad at all, but be prepared to walk to mid-town attractions, or cab it. We found walking to be easy and interesting. Grand Central (5 minutes), Times Square (15 minutes), Macy's (15 minutes). Subway - north/south Lines 4,5 and 6 - go to either 33rd and Lexington (7 minutes) or Grand Central (42nd and Lexington - 5 minutes). Grocery store and liquor store on 3rd Avenue around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Togmeister_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    326
    97
    35
    15
See reviews for
199
156
34
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Incredible value for excellent location. You are close to many NYC attractions - feels like you are in your own (OK, more like your grandmother's) apartment, not a hotel - but that's OK...most people love their grandmother. I have paid more for a much smaller hotel room, so if fancy and new is not super important to you, this is perfect. Very friendly staff also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed for a week here in August 2012 when checking out daughter into NYU. Absolutely no complaints. Very clean, very easy to get around Manhattan from here, very nice staff. I really like this neighborhood. Quite at night, nice markets and a liquor store near by. Although if you're coming into or leaving town via Penn Station, it can hard to get cross town at certain times. Not the hotel's fault, just something to remember when planning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpoolfc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are large. King Bed. Sofa two chairs and a round four top in the sitting area. Spacious kitchen by Manhattan standards. Lots of closet space. Furniture and carpet are dated and worn but clean. Linens are fresh.

Outstanding value. Convenient to Grand Central, Bryant Park, Empire State Building.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesblumenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I visit NYC the week after Thanksgiving every year with a friend I've known for 35 years. This is our 15th year and we have stayed in many hotels in just about every area of the city. This hotel has become our favorite. The location is great, very close to Grand Central Station and easy walking distance to Macy's, Bryant Park, and many other places. The rooms are very large by NY standards and have a full kitchen. Great for economizing on breakfast and leftovers. It is an old hotel so the bathroom is small and the hair dryer is terrible (I suggest you bring your own) but the staff is great and you really can't beat the location. There are also some good restaurants close by--sam's Place and Fagioli's are both very good. We will be back again as long as their prices stay reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelHaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I've stayed here twice, once with family and once solo. I love this hotel. The suites are clean and spacious. I don't even mind that the furniture is from the 1980s. Kitchen and bathroom big enough and clean. Windows are soundproof, but Manhattan is so loud it's better to stay on upper floors if street sounds bother you. Great location, about 7 minutes walk to Grand Central Station. The only downside is that you have to pay to use wi-fi in rooms. You can use it for free in the lobby, which often gets packed, so you have nowhere to sit.

When I was leaving New York, the hotel arranged the airport transfer for me. Both times they sent a limo! The transfer wasn't cheap, but it was 100% reliable (the last thing you want on the day you're travelling is a taxi company cancelling your airport transfer).

The next time I visit New York, I'll stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fabliau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the Penthouse (15th floor) and it has a spacious balcony with an amazing view of the Empire State building. Clean bathroom, nice kitchen and living room. Although the furniture are a bit old, they're clean and comfy. Just a few minutes walk to the Chrysler building, Bryant park, and the Grand Central Station. The doorman was very polite. The elevator is small and old but at least it still feels safe.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with 3 or more people, choose the penthouse, it has a balcony and spacious r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessahanindya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
3,291 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,232 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
788 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4,851 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murray Hill East Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Hill East Suites

Property: Murray Hill East Suites
Address: 149 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0913
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hill East Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully furnished rental apartments located in fashionable Murray Hill section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Murray Hill East Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hill East Hotel New York City
Murray Hill East Suite Hotel
Hotel Murray Hill East
Murray Hill East New York
Murray Hill East Suites New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing