We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Ranked #279 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in Manhattan”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This was quite honestly a waste of money. The hotel sells itself as a 4 star hotel. Quite honestly the proper authorities should reconsider this and downgrade them to a two star.
Their rooms are filthy. AC vents are so disgusting that the dirt was piled into it causing my allergies to go haywire.
We were "upgraded" upon arrival. However, the upgraded room was dirty and the bed so hard that even the housekeeper agreed that we had to be moved.
The new room was not much better, however it was slightly bigger and appreciated the effort on their behalf.
Staff were not friendly. Never greeted...not once. Constantly had to call housekeeping for things like soap, toilet paper, kleenex, etc. Beds were rock hard.
My advice, spend the extra bucks and go to a proper 4 star hotel. Avoid Millennium at all costs.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank blurestaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Please allow me to apologize that your stay was anything less than excellent. I assure you this is not the standard that is held in our hotel in regards to customer service or the condition of the room. Please contact me directly at erodriguez-febles@mill-usa.com with the full name on your reservation, the dates of your stay and your TripAdvisor comment attached. I look forward to further investigating your concerns and ensuring this is not a repeat concern for future guests. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    1,948
    936
    400
    255
See reviews for
1,240
1,810
187
635
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice staff, I do agree with another reviewer that there weren't enough blankets, but I already had extra layers and turned up the heat a little in the room so we did fine. (my daughter likes to be cooler at night anyway). There was a sheet and a thin duvet, but if I had wanted more covers likely the front desk would have helped. We had initially booked with trip advisor using the "name your own price" and got our rooms here, but then realized belatedly the room was only going to be a double bed and that is it, which was not in any way the hotel's fault, they did their very best and were able to at least switch us to a Queen room---which is all I could really ask. In future I would not use priceline for Manhattan. It worked fine in the past for Las Vegas, those hotels can easily switch to bigger rooms, but that could not happen over spring break in NY.

Room Tip: Don't use priceline for Manhattan. And get the size room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stutzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were very pleased with the location, services, and overall amenities of this hotel right near Times Square. Although we were just steps away from all the action, the room was quiet and well appointed. We would have given this hotel a 5 if there had been soap in the room when we arrived and the maid had picked up the "personal item" left by a prior guest. It certainly could have been an unusual circumstance and only for this room, so we wouldn't hesitate returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate whenever our guests can share their experience. Though we are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, I do apologize that there was soap missing in the room and an item left behind from a previous guest. Please be assured that we will be sharing your comments with the staff to ensure this does not occur again with future guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Upfront service is OK but not back-end service. I first talked to frond desk about AA (American Airline) reward program and seemed they have no idea about it. But they confirmed when checked-in. Two months past and no mile posted on my AA Acct. I called customer svc and left messages (unlikely to reach back-end svc) and emailed them too. But I have never got any response. I called general manager with message and ended up with the same - no feedback. You see, they are interested in service for direct money making but not the service for loyalty. This is one of the biggest mistakes to run long-term business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amoy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Amoy,

Once again I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. As mentioned I reached out to you on behalf of the General Manager and our Front Office was able to get in contact with American Airlines Loyalty to ensure your points were provided to you on their behalf. Should you have any questions at all please do not hesitate to contact me at erodriguez-febles@mill-usa.com

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is IN Times Square. We just got back from here and couldn't believe how amazing the location was! We could go back to the hotel a few times during the day to drop off bags/use toilets just because it was that easy! We never even needed to take a taxi. Definitely better than the hotel I stayed at three years ago when I went to NYC.

The room we were given was on 31st floor, view was of partially of Times Square,but the windows were large floor to ceiling. Given we weren't in the room much we didn't really mind about the décor. The hotel definitely does need updating but if you can get a good rate for this hotel I would recommend it purely for its location. It is not the best but definitely not the worst. We had a very large room and the bed was really comfortable. As described by other reviews I don't understand why the hotel doesn't put covers on the duvets to make it more hygienic and make it look better.

We didn't have much contact with the staff other than check-in and out, which was easy, quick and hassle free so can't really comment on how good they were.

Overall this was a great trip and the location of the hotel made it so easy. If you are going to be spending a lot of time in your room then don't book this hotel but if you are going to be out as most people should be in this amazing city then I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sss27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada and Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. good value for such a central spot. easy to get to from the airports via taxi and also subway.
This hotel is absolutely perfect for a central stayover in NY. Walk to the theatres, times square, the subway and to 'The Rock'. Staff pleasant and the bedroom clean and well kept.
For free wifi, there is a starbucks next door so drop down and get your morning coffee and download your emails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiley2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,168 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,787 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#233 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Broadway New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Broadway New York Times Square

Property: Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Address: 145 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#230 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Broadway New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 626
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York is the city that never sleeps. In the center of it all, Millennium Broadway Hotel New York is located in the heart of Times Square giving guests a front row seat to all of the endless action and constant excitement. We cater to both leisure and business travelers and is why we are preferred choice for a New York City hotel. We boast a welcoming, multi-lingual cast and crew, 626 thoughtfully appointed rooms, a 24/7 fitness center and complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition, our meeting and event facilities are second to none. Featuring 64,000 sq ft (5,945 sq m) of flexible meeting space, we are the only hotel in the city accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers. Discover our world and experience an iconic visit to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Millennium Broadway New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel New York City
Millennium Broadway Hotel
Millenium Hotel Nyc
Millenium Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing