We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millennium Broadway New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Ranked #276 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Before I start I'm not usually picky about my hotel rooms, so longs its clean and useable I'm happy. This was a special trip for our silver wedding anniversary, months of saving and organising. On arrival we were impressed with the exterior and the lobby. Check in was easy and staff friendly. There appeared to be several porters/ bell hops standing around the lobby but we were not approached about help with our bags (my husband is disabled). We struggled to the elevators which we never waited longer than 30 seconds or so for

. We found our room (33rd floor), on opening the door there appeared to be white paint chips on the floor at the entrance to the room (whatever they were the room hadn't been vacuumed). The carpet was filthy. We asked for and got a king size bed and it was huge, reasonably comfortable too. I was shocked to see an uncovered duvet on the bed and while it looked clean I can only hope these are laundered between visitors!!! The bathroom appeared clean but it was old and tired, shower curtain had seen better days and badly stained wallpaper hanging off the walls. The view from our corner room was amazing, Chrysler building from one side and the ball drop from the other. One of the drawers had waste material (clean) from previous occupants and I believe the housekeeping staff let the place down, I understand they will be busy and on a tight turnaround schedule but there's no excuse for not checking drawers and vacuuming (those paint chips were still on the floor 5 days later :-(

I felt wifi in the rooms was expensive but it's your own choice to pay it or not. There is free wifi in the lobby but its often impossible to get a seat due to the large groups of teenagers who congregate there (maybe there was an influx of school trips or something when we were there?). Concierge was very helpful about places to eat, directions etc. there is a theatre desk available but we found going to the specific theatre and buying direct $30 each cheaper, same tickets!!

We only ate breakfast once at the hotel and it was amazing and not overly expensive (for NYC), waiting staff were lovely, courteous and friendly, they are a credit to the hotel!

When we arrived we checked the mini bar and there appeared to be a can of coke missing. We reported this to reception on our first day yet we were still charged for it (it was removed when we queried it). Also a warning to others from outwith USA who are not used to what's local/long distance. We never imagined New Jersey was classed as long distance and were charged $25 for a 2 minute call!!! We queried this and explained we would have been cheaper using our UK based mobile phones and had we realised the call charges we would have used them. They also don't display a list of call charges in the room, so overseas visitors have no quick access to calling charges. Thankfully we were met with understanding and the charge was waived, we were happy to pay something but it was refused, so for that kudos to the hotel and its staff.

Check out was simple and as we had a night flight we left our bags in the baggage area where they are secured. After retrieving our bags ready to leave yet again several porter type staff hanging about the lobby and they watched us struggle with our bags the same as they did when we arrived.

As for location, I don't think you'll get any better, absolutely perfect, heart of Times Square, subway, restaurants and theatres all on your doorstep!

So all in all the hotel was fine but on this special occassion we weren't looking for fine, we were looking for nice and I'm really sorry to say in our experience that's not what we found, we wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sendto_jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    1,927
    925
    398
    251
See reviews for
1,220
1,795
184
630
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Millenium Broadway for 5-6 nights courtesy of a mystery Hotwire Hotel special. When it was revealed that hotel was the Millenium we were actually quite apprehensive because of past negative TA reviews. So we were quite happy when we finally arrived and settled in for our short stay in New York City. It was fine. It certainly was nt the best hotel we have stayed in but the room was clean of a good size and the staff were always courtesy and helpful. The other benefit is the location. Just off Times Squares you can hang out or be back in your hotel room within minutes.All in all we were happy enough and ones normally enjoying other things about their holiday to worry about possible trivial things that might be happening at a particular hotel.

Room Tip: A view of times square would be a bonus but you spend enough time down there anyway so i dont think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank churmybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

You just can't be closer. I chose this hotel because I planned on spending all of my time in Times Square. The hotel spans a city block between 44th and 45th on Broadway. There is a parking garage directly across the street from the hotel on 44th, the hotel has valet for $55.00 for 24 hrs, do it yourself for $46.00, I'm sure they use the same lot. My car came down faster than any other lot I have ever used in the city, I'm sure this will depend on how busy they are. What also impressed me was that they walked around the car to check for damage when checking it in, not seen too often. Ok, back to the hotel...
We were greeted by a very friendly gentleman and check in was fast and efficient, we were there before 4pm and our room was ready. We were on the 44th floor,4401, with a view of Times Square and some window washing gear. There are 2 sets of elevators one set is express for the higher floors, during our stay we used both express and non, both were extremely fast and we never waited for one to come.
The room was quite spacious for the city. It almost seemed like it was updated not renovated. New bed, carpet, desk, TV. Older bathroom, curtains, so 1/2 and 1/2. Still very clean and comfortable.
On Sunday we called the restaurant to find out what time they were serving breakfast until as it was 10:35 and 26 degrees outside, no answer, so I called the front desk and was told 11:00. We hurried down to be offered coffee or tea, breakfast ended at 10:30. I let the front desk know an received an apology.
We left our bags with the bellman when we checked out to do more shopping, he too was very friendly and efficient.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat for anything near Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to hear that your room was comfortable and the staff were friendly. I do apologize that you were provide incorrect information about the restaurant’s breakfast hours. Our Director of Front Office has communicated with the Front Office staff about all hours of operation for each department so that misinformation is not provided to our future guests. I’m glad to hear that you would consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Millenium Hotel exceeded my expectations completely. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room (4601) was perfect. Clean, very comfortable bed and amazing views of Times Square. The elevators were prompt and provided speedy travel. The hotel sits in a perfect location. Right around the corner from Times Square and well within walking distance of theaters and countless restaurants. Taxis were always present at the door for further travel. Reasonable fare to and from Laguardia as well. Times Square subway station is close too. A special thank you to Emily Rodriguez-Febles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during the blizzard. Made a last minute Priceline reservation and was happy to get the Millenium because of the location close to the St James theater. Excellent customer service at check-in. Was given a fabulous corner room on the 24th floor..great for blizzard watching. Housekeeping was efficent. Everyone was helpful. Wish internet was free..but you can't have everything! Would not hesitate to stay here again. Kudos to the staff..they were all great!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanlNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We do our best to make sure all of our guests are comfortable in any situation and I am pleased to hear we were successful in doing so with your stay. We emphasize customer service as key in all departments and our staff understand this. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and future travelers. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the staff was very helpful and courteous,especially Monique Madison, who went out of her way to accomodate us and help us through the recent storm. The rooms are large and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maruan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us comments about your recent stay. Monique truly is an asset to our company and we are lucky to have her. I am pleased to hear that you were accommodated throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I got a great Priceline rate for this hotel ($190 a night for a 4-night stay, including a weekend) and were a little worried that perhaps we'd be given a lower quality room. We had nothing to worry about. We were given a corner room on the 45th floor with a partial view of Times Square, and the room was fairly large by New York standards. The room was nicely decorated, clean, and the bathroom was a good size too, with excellent water pressure in the tub/shower. If you're looking for something really special that's different to most hotels you've stayed at before, then the Millennium may not be the place for you. But, if you're looking for an excellent location, convenience, a clean modern room that's larger than average (by NY standards), with your standard amenities, then this hotel shouldn't disappoint. We had a great time here and had nothing to complain about. We'd definitely stay here again, especially if we could get the same Priceline rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyRF, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Millennium Broadway New York Times Square, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I agree our location is definitely a convenient location with everything that Times Square has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Emily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#230 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,321 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,675 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,710 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#170 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Broadway New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Broadway New York Times Square

Property: Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Address: 145 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#231 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Broadway New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 626
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York is the city that never sleeps. In the center of it all, Millennium Broadway Hotel New York is located in the heart of Times Square giving guests a front row seat to all of the endless action and constant excitement. We cater to both leisure and business travelers and is why we are preferred choice for a New York City hotel. We boast a welcoming, multi-lingual cast and crew, 626 thoughtfully appointed rooms, a 24/7 fitness center and complimentary Wi-Fi. In addition, our meeting and event facilities are second to none. Featuring 64,000 sq ft (5,945 sq m) of flexible meeting space, we are the only hotel in the city accredited by the International Association of Conference Centers. Discover our world and experience an iconic visit to NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Millennium Broadway New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hotel New York City
Millennium Broadway Hotel
Millenium Hotel Nyc
Millenium Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing