We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott's aren't what they use to be...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #202 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marriott's aren't what they use to be...”
Reviewed April 16, 2007

In December 2006 I booked a room with two beds for a family of four from Travelocity for three days over Easter break. Upon arriving, I was told that the hotel was full and that they only had rooms with king size beds available. They offered to give us a single rollaway bed and extra bedding for the 4th person to sleep on the ground.

They indicated that because the hotel was booked through Travelocity, they weren't notified that we had requested a room with two beds, nor were they able to give a refund. This I found to be ridicules as why am I given the option on Travelocity’s website for room selection, yet Travelocity, one of the top travel sites on the internet doesn't give this data to the hotel?? Come on...

After about 20 minutes of arguing with the front desk staff and manager, they offered to put us on a list for another rollaway bed for the night and comp'ed our breakfast the next day ($20 buffet?? NY is $$) and changed our room to a double the next day.

I found both rooms that I was in to be less than what I was expecting a Marriott to be. The rooms were dated, AC/heater required you to use ear plugs because it was so loud, the wall paper in the bathroom looked like it was from the 1980's and was peeling off the wall in some places, plus we had a nice selection of mold around the crown molding.

The price for this hotel was nice, but don't think for one minute (like I did) that because it's a Marriott you know it's going to be nice. Also, as the other reviewer said before this one to make sure you call in advance to ensure that you're getting the room that you had booked and not told "so sorry" when you check in.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambrice1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    742
    226
    60
    34
See reviews for
479
379
95
453
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

In November 2006, we booked two rooms for 2 nights during Easter break. We booked for a family of four and for a family of three. Upon arrival, we were informed that there were only rooms available with 1 king bed. They would add a rollaway bed to the room, but that would still only provide room for 3 people.

The front desk manager tried to find a double bed-room in a different hotel; as it was Easter weekend, nothing was available in Manhattan. We were offered the room for free, and as we did not want to go home and spoil the visit for the other family (their first visit to United States), we accepted.
The person on the rollaway had a good night sleep, the 3 others (in 1 king! ) did hardly get any sleep.... we were all exhausted!
In my opinion, they should have offered the room for free and also a free stay award!
I learned my lesson: If I stay in a Marriott again, I will check before departure to make sure we will get what we asked for.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SP MD 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We just returned from a 3-night, weekend stay at the Marriott Financial Center. Overall, we had a good experience with our family of four, which includes two small boys ages 4 & 5.

We booked directly through Marriott’s reservation service (we participate in the Marriott Rewards program) and requested an upper floor room with a view of the Statue of Liberty and an early check-in. Our check-in around noon on a Thursday was extremely quick and our requests were accommodated.

The room was clean and a decent size for NYC with an in-room safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, clothes iron & board, small desk, and comfy chair with ottoman. There is a charge for Internet access. The two beds in the room were double not queen size, so they were cramped to share with another. However, the beds themselves, pillows and linens were very comfortable. The bathroom lighting was TERRIBLE! but toiletries and plenty of towels were provided. We had no problems with the elevators or noise from the outside construction.

Housekeeping and room service were pleasant and very responsive to our requests. However, the concierge left a little to be desired. Responses to our inquires were vague at best. They did not seem enthusiastic to help us make our sons’ first trip to NYC and our oldest son’s birthday (being celebrated during our stay and the reason for our trip) a memorable experience.

Our Sunday morning check-out did not go as smoothly as our check-in. The valet was prompt in retrieving our car from the garage. However, after a 10-20 minute wait for the bell hop to pick up our luggage from our room, we decided to make a couple of trips down to the lobby with the luggage ourselves.

We must agree that the location of the Marriot Financial Center is not the best for tourists, but since it caters to business travelers, weekend rates can be very reasonable.

As a side note, I would encourage any visitor to NYC to contact the Big Apple Greeters. We had a wonderful day with one of the volunteers and would highly recommend it! For further information; [-]

  • Liked — good rate for 4-star NYC hotel
  • Disliked — location, unhelpful concierge
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Free4All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
177 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2007

This hotel is right next to the World Trade Center site. My room was on the 36th floor with a view of the re-construction. My advice would be to ask if you have a view, and if you don't want to see that (I honestly did not) then ask to move. The rooms are ok (not large, but average for New York). Lighting in the room was not adequate for working on your pc.,

The elevators are very slow. The workout room is nothing special.

if you can stay in mid-town, there are much better options for food/services.

  • Liked — close to my meeting in financial district
  • Disliked — limited services,
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2007

Excellent hotel & service. Beautiful rooms, very clean and quiet. Nice location.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank magree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed at this hotel while vacationing in NYC. Location is a mixed bag as there can be some construction noise from Ground Zero, but it didn't bother us.

Check in (early) was easy. Our room was a large corner room with a partial view of Ground Zero and the Hudson River. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. We didn't experience any elevator problems, but I'm not sure how full the hotel was.

The hotel is convenient to Wall Street and Battery Park. We walked to both as well as Southport one morning with no problems inspite of the hot, humid weather. There is a nice Greek restaurant a couple of blocks away and an Irish pub with good food even closer. We didn't try Roy's as the prices were pretty high, even for NYC. There is a popular discount clothing store (Century 21) a five minute walk away.

The theater distict is a $15 taxi ride away. We had no problems getting a taxi at the hotel, but finding one after the shows let out can be tough. If you walk east on any westbound street in the theater district, you can catch a taxi returning from runs to hotels on the east side of town. We also used taxis to get to/from Canal Street, SOHO and the Village. You can access the subway system one block away, although we didn't try that system.

Valet parking was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gumby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

I had to write because we were so impressed with how things were handled in such a professional and friendly manner. The employess have been there a long time and seem very dedicated to the comfort of your stay. We had a great room overlooking the Hudson River but it does depend on what side of the hotel you stay as far as the speed of elevators and views. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We would love to go back.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#355 of 468 in New York City
94 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#246 of 468 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 468 in New York City
611 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#226 of 468 in New York City
1,201 reviews
Financial District
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing