We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok, but only stay there is you really need to be downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #200 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
171 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“ok, but only stay there is you really need to be downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2007

This hotel is right next to the World Trade Center site. My room was on the 36th floor with a view of the re-construction. My advice would be to ask if you have a view, and if you don't want to see that (I honestly did not) then ask to move. The rooms are ok (not large, but average for New York). Lighting in the room was not adequate for working on your pc.,

The elevators are very slow. The workout room is nothing special.

if you can stay in mid-town, there are much better options for food/services.

  • Liked — close to my meeting in financial district
  • Disliked — limited services,
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dottie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    731
    222
    59
    33
See reviews for
468
374
94
445
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2007

Excellent hotel & service. Beautiful rooms, very clean and quiet. Nice location.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
Thank magree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2007

Stayed at this hotel while vacationing in NYC. Location is a mixed bag as there can be some construction noise from Ground Zero, but it didn't bother us.

Check in (early) was easy. Our room was a large corner room with a partial view of Ground Zero and the Hudson River. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. We didn't experience any elevator problems, but I'm not sure how full the hotel was.

The hotel is convenient to Wall Street and Battery Park. We walked to both as well as Southport one morning with no problems inspite of the hot, humid weather. There is a nice Greek restaurant a couple of blocks away and an Irish pub with good food even closer. We didn't try Roy's as the prices were pretty high, even for NYC. There is a popular discount clothing store (Century 21) a five minute walk away.

The theater distict is a $15 taxi ride away. We had no problems getting a taxi at the hotel, but finding one after the shows let out can be tough. If you walk east on any westbound street in the theater district, you can catch a taxi returning from runs to hotels on the east side of town. We also used taxis to get to/from Canal Street, SOHO and the Village. You can access the subway system one block away, although we didn't try that system.

Valet parking was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gumby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2007

I had to write because we were so impressed with how things were handled in such a professional and friendly manner. The employess have been there a long time and seem very dedicated to the comfort of your stay. We had a great room overlooking the Hudson River but it does depend on what side of the hotel you stay as far as the speed of elevators and views. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. We would love to go back.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank bobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed at this Hotel for New Years Eve & it was a Very Nice Hotel! I've been to New York before & the Hotel we stayed at was nothing compared to this one! I always feel weird about sleeping in a Hotel bed since I'm not sure how clean it may be but the sheets on this bed were so white, soft & comfortable, that I had no problems falling asleep. The Bathroom was super clean. I didn't feel uncomfortable being in the Bathtub at all. The Service was good. One of the nice things is that they have a Starbucks connected to the Hotel. How great is that?! The location is great, since it's a Block away from the World Trade Center site. It's also walking distance to Battery Park where you can take a Ferry to the Statue of Liberty. The subway isn't far at all either in case you want to take it down to Times Square. The Price wasn't that bad either. Over all, I would definately stay at this Hotel again.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackym23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2007

We went back to this Marriott as we had stayed a few years earlier on business and had found it to be a clean, reliable hotel (as most Marriotts are). Unfortunately our trip was disrupted by having to change rooms 3 times. The room allocated to us on arrived was absolutely thick with dust. TV, window sills, curtains all absolutely grey. Surely US vacuum cleaners have a nozzle to do the skirting areas! We were given another room and all seemed OK , albeit a bit less dusty than the other, until we got into bed that night. The smell of cigarettes on the duvet was disgusting - bear in mind that Marriott now advertise that all their hotels in the US are non-smoking. Why on earth did they not invest in new bedding when this rule was introduced? The room was changed the day after and we were back to the thick dust again. To be fair, there seems to be a great deal of work happening to the outside of the hotel, with scaffolding etc. but surely better housekeeping could compensate for this. This used to be a really smart hotel but I would avoid for the time being until the work has been completed and the place cleaned up.

  • Liked — Great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Dusty rooms and furnishings
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank HighwayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2007

This is a pretty decent hotel. The rooms are large for Manhattan, and were clean and comfortable. The location on West Street isn't great, but it's lower Manhattan so everything is close anyway.

The elevators were brutally slow. I waited about 15 minutes in the morning waiting.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJTraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West Street, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing