We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower Manhattan Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #204 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lower Manhattan Gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This property was a pleasant surprise in so many ways. First, its location next to the 9/11 memorial, walking distance to Wall Street, Battery Park, Stone Street, Trinity Church and the subway make it an ideal hub for a weekend visit. Second, the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Third, the service was friendly and efficient. Fourth, Bill's Burger Bar in the lobby and Starbucks next door provide great venues for food, beverage and sports on the tube. Lastly, the surrounding area and riverfront walkways offer scenic and relaxing strolling.

Forget Midtown and choose this property for a great time in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fgh8664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    756
    232
    62
    35
See reviews for
499
383
97
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend visit to NYC. The hotel is just basic: clean and comfortable with no frills, and a very limited room service menu. But the price is right and there are other reasons to stay here. We liked the location, just a couple of blocks from the Hudson River and a fabulous walkway that's great for watching the river traffic, viewing the Statue of Liberty from afar, and for people-watching as they run, roller blade, bike, stroll, walk their dogs, and get on with life. It's a lot more fun than Times Square, imo. The staff was friendly enough, and I was pleasantly surprised by the good coffee for breakfast at the burger-joint-style hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful advice. The esplanade along the Hudson River is a terrific spot to go walking and for taking pictures of the Statue of Liberty. It is also a very popular spot in the neighborhood during the spring and summer as many people like to ride their bikes and take a jog along the river. It is a nice way to relax in NYC.

Hope you see you again!

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I am pretty happy with this hotel - I am sitting in my room right now looking out over the Hudson and the harbor and can see the base of the Statue of Liberty but not the Lady herself due to another high rise just blocking my view. My room is a very large corner room with two comfortable beds, a large desk and a lot of windows. The location is great if you need to be downtown rather than midtown. Right next to the 9/11 memorial and a very short walk to maybe the best place to jog in Manhattan, along the river. I saw hundreds and hundreds of joggers there this afternoon as well as folks biking, skating, playing basketball, etc. Which is great since the gym in the hotel is pathetic. As others have noted the normal gym is under construction (as of 5/13/14) and the hotel half-heartedly threw some old equipment into two hotel rooms in the interim. Awful. The one bike isn't plugged in so gives no resistance and hence no workout, and there are no dumbells or anything; one of the two ellipticals squeals so loudly as to be unusable. There are 4-5 decent treadmills, but you are better off running outside if the weather cooperates. The hotel really should be giving passes to a local gym instead of passing this atrocity off as a fitness center. The concierge lounge is nice if you have the appropriate Marriott status - it's located on the top 38th floor and has awesome views. Breakfast in the lounge is scant but serviceable. The coffee is served via a single-serve machine that seems to be from the 80's - it takes a long time to brew a cup of coffee which makes a line inevitable. Evening reception food is pretty weak but it is free; beer and wine are not complementary which sadly seems to be becoming the norm for Marriott. This hotel also features Pepsi products, which I am not fond of but to each his/her own. I had room service from Bill's Burgers - yummy if that's your thing. $28 for a burger and fries delivered to the room but what are you going to do. I was given a $10 discount as the Platinum amenity upon check-in, making the bill a little more palatable. Elevators can be slow at popular times but the wireless has proven reliable. The bathroom in my room is relatively small but nice - the towels are fantastic and the water pressure in the shower is almost overpowering. The sink and counter are unusually low - I am pretty tall but I have to bend over way more than normal to wash my face in the sink, which seems to be made for children or perhaps those in wheelchairs (though my room does not otherwise actually seem to be outfitted as a handicapped room). The bed (pillows and mattress and blankets) and room temp are also very good. Lots of channels on the TV including NFL network, which is nice (no MLB network though, sadly). Overall I find this hotel to be comfortable and well situated and though I am disappointed with the fitness center and the lounge food I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a view room - either the water or the 9/11 memorial. The higher the better for the water vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TipperNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I happened to stay at the Marriott the weekend of the 5 Boro bike ride event. My room was nice enough with a good view of the river. However, I heard some stories from the riders that they were not allowed to bring their bikes to their rooms and had to pay an additional $20 per night to store the bikes. One gentleman that I spoke with had a bike (Trek Madone) that cost a couple of thousand dollars so it was upsetting to leave the bike overnight in a parking garage. It seems that the hotel should not host the bike event if they are not bike friendly.

Also, a few weeks earlier I was in town and had some time to visit the 9/11 Memorial. I walked over to the hotel to get an Uber pickup and went inside while waiting to use the bathroom. The hotel was very unfriendly in stating that the bathrooms were not for public use.

On my last visit when I was a guest at the hotel they had a guard stationed at the bathrooms to make sure non-guests were not using them. As a guest I found this uncomfortable.

I will not stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieatBamaOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We hope you had a great ride and we appreciate your feedback. To have a successful Bike New York event and coordinate over 400 hundred riders to retrieve their bikes the morning of the ride, the garage requires all bikes be removed from the cars and be tagged so they are quickly available. I apologize for your negitive experience with our guest bathrooms however due to our location next to the 9/11 Memorial our bathrooms are reserved for our hotel guests only to ensure they experience the best in customer service.
Regards,

Mark Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a pretty standard Marriott that is showing its age a bit, but still is a clean and comfortable hotel. I was able to get a great weekend rate for this hotel on Priceline using their express deals. Finding a hotel in Manhattan for under $200/nt that doesn't fill you with utter terror is almost impossible these days, so I was thrilled to find this rate.

The hotel is clean, the bed comfortable, the toiletries smell nice. The front desk was cheerful and helpful. You really can't go wrong with this hotel, especially if you find a rate under $200/nt.

The location is the biggest talking-point of this hotel: it will be excellent for some and bad for others. If you are coming in as a tourist, and spending time at the World Trade Center, Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, Wall Street/Stock Exchange, and South Street Seaport are all part of your itinerary, then this hotel is great. If you are coming to see ballgames, spend time in Queens, or northern Manhattan, then the location is remote and you will spend time commuting. Know that food options after 8pm are limited, and non-existent after 11pm.

Know that until 2016 the closest stations of the R train are closed on the weekends, due to repair work from hurricane Sandy.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the World Trade Center for a nice view of the 9/11 Memorial and the Free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Everything was as good or better than I'd expect from a Marriott. The location is good for the financial district and there's plenty of tourist attractions close by. The rooms are well-kept and large compared to some comparable NY hotels. The only downside is the restaurant. Even though I almost never eat in, I had a couple of evenings when I would have liked to eat in the hotel on this trip. The problem is that the hotel restaurant is Bill's Burgers and if you aren't into burger fare it's not a very appealing option.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pacorulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Solid Marriott property a few blocks from Wall Street and right next to the 9/11 Memorial as well as Battery Park and Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island. My upper floor room had a partial view of Ellis Island. Major negative was that when I went to use the fitness center, the entire floor was under renovation. Would have rated at least a 4 if not for that. Be prepared to spend $400 a night in this part of town.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen G, Manager at New York Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. I apologize that we did not notify you about the fitness center construction and where our temporary fitness center is located. We are excited for our upcoming state of the art fitness center coming in August. Hopefully you will come back and visit us again.

Regards,
Aileen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#241 of 467 in New York City
183 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#239 of 467 in New York City
1,157 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#106 of 467 in New York City
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#219 of 467 in New York City
1,251 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing