We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott New York Manhattan Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #204 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Marriott New York Manhattan Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location of this hotel, just next to "Ground Zero" and near the tip of Manhattan with views of the Hudson make this a great hotel to use to visit New York City. Close to 4 subway entrances, it gives you easy access for transportation. Although the choices for local restuarants are limited, there are still many good ones around.

The rooms are quite comfortable, however, there is still construction going on near the hotel lobby, limiting "lobby" space to use the free WiFi. The restuarant connected to the hotel, Bill's, had good hamburgers but was noisy and breakfasts were only average. The Bill's West Bar has limited hours and prioritized private parties over hotel guest useage.

Overall, a good value for NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water or Ground Zero.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    756
    232
    62
    35
See reviews for
499
383
97
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as we were in town for a wedding. The location was easy to get to from LaGuardia, and great for sight-seeing around Ground Zero since the entrance of the hotel is about a half block away from the 9/11 Memorial. Our room was on a higher floor and we had access to the Club Lounge because of hotel status - always nice to grab bottles of water and quick snacks. Our room was clean, and had a great view! My only complaint was that the A/C didn't seem to be working as well as it could have, but I should note we did not contact the hotel about this problem since it wasn't bad enough to impact our stay. My biggest issue with this hotel is that they do not have a bar / restaurant on-site, and there isn't much within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyB0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We all really enjoyed this location, the staff was very helpful and the room was sufficient for a NYC hotel room! The hotel bar was not outstanding, we went out each night. We did not go into the restaurant as there are so many excellent places right outside your door, or uptown near Central Park!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smaertmove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Service, rooms, comfort, area were all superb.
Would stay there again without a doubt.
Very east to find, and good value for money.
No swimming pool, but we didn't go for this, we were sight seeing on our first visit to New York.
It was a bit far out from the main land marks however this is what we wanted, and you can see the Statue of Liberty and The 911 Memorial Site from the room window.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usatibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in the Financial District close to the 9/11 Memorial and closest subway station is only about a three minute walk. We didn't mind being on the quieter side of Manhattan and walking to the subway station wasn't bad. We mostly took the R, 1,2 & 3 and it was very easy. We just exited out of the side of the hotel close to Starbucks and turned right on Greenwich and turned left on Rector.

Check in was fast and the front desk upgraded is to a room that overlooks the Hudson River. The room was decent with the double beds, computer desk, flat panel TV, coffee maker and fridge. The bathroom was an average size.

The closet stunk like sweaty shoes though and I sprayed numerous times with febreeze to no avail, normally that usually does that job but not this one, I even tried my alcohol spray and it didn't work either, it was horrid. I moved the luggage rack outside, besides, I don't think the rack was going to fit in that small closet anyway. We mostly used that ledge by the window for our luggage and moved the coffee maker tray so we didn't block the air condition vents.

The bed was okay, a little soft and the sheets weren't up to the Marriott hotel standards, it wasn't thick like most Marriott hotels. WIFI was strong and it's free for gold or platinum members.

The worse was the clogged drain in the tub, we had to take a shower very quickly coz it filled up the bathtub halfway and it's disgusting touching the tub with the vinyl shower curtain, I don't want to even think about what's lurking in those curtain so I don't touch them and now I'm soaking my feet and shin in them. Yuck!! But you can't take the curtain out either then the water will go on the floor. I read that one of the reviews had problems with the slow drain but this one is clogged!

This hotel is right next to the 9/11 memorial exit so there are a lot of people that would like to use the restroom that are not guests of the hotel and their banquet rooms/second floor restrooms are being renovated so there's actually a security guard infront or the restrooms on the mainfloor so only hotel guests and restaurant guests can use it. But even restaurant guests and hotel guests are given a hard time using it. There are only two stalls for the ladies room and one was out of service, it was terrible. I even mentioned it to the concierge and she just brushed me off and their was even a restaurant patron that was complaining at the same time.

On the positive note, being a gold Marriott rewards, we were given an upgraded room with a view of the Hudson and the club lounge on the 38th floor was great. Great food for breakfast and dinner but I don't think they operate during the weekend. We save some $$$ taking advantage of those amenities.

We chose this hotel because we needed to be downtown and they offered the club lounge and also wanted to take advantage of the Unexpected Bonus Night. This hotel meets all that but fall short on the service side that could have easily prevented. Wished they treated their guests better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anoini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here mid July 2013 2 nights with Teenagers.
Impressive lobby and made a great first impression.
Good location for historical New York, visiting Brooklyn and Greenwich Village.
Staff very warm and polite. Showed an interest in our day and helped advise us.
Had a double double. Can't fault the room and bathroom. Room was clean bed was comfortable. Paid Hotwire rate of about £120 per night. Exceptional Value. I would recommend it although with hindsight if I went to New York again I might look for accommodation Greenwich or Midtown as this would be central for most things

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LynetteDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We love this hotel. Stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. Had horrible traffic on Friday and the trip took 10 hours in the rain instead of our usual 7. Arrived exhausted. Our vehicle was taken right away to be parked, we were glad to be rid of it by this point! We checked in and was in our beautiful room overlooking the Hudson in minutes! The perfect arrival! I feel like the staff treats you like you are their only guests. The bedding in the room was exceptional. Very soft and relaxing. We moved our daughter on Saturday from one apartment to another. Very long day driving between apartments in busy traffic in Midtown. Came back to the hotel very tired. Opened our door and was greeted by our blinds being shut, our bed turned down with chocolates on the pillow! What more could you ask for? When we needing the pampering it was there!

Room Tip: We were on the 25th floor. Very quiet and had a great view of the Hudson and New York.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#238 of 467 in New York City
182 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#232 of 467 in New York City
1,156 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#104 of 467 in New York City
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 467 in New York City
1,251 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing