We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room and very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #199 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great room and very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights here at the end of June courtesy of Priceline and couldn't of been happier.
The room was spacious and clean and the ideal place to return to for a quick recharge before heading out into the city.

Our room overlooked the entrance of the 911 memorial and from the 26th floor we had an interesting if a little limited view of the city and site. Staff were ok if a little overwhelmed by the number of Japanese tourists who seemed to be living in the lobby and housekeeping cleared our backlog of packaging on a regular basis.

We cant speak about the catering on site as we ate elsewhere (who goes to a hotel restaurant when you've the world of options outside the door??).

For other tourists I'd make these points.
Yes there is a lot of building going on around the area and you are right at the bottom of Manhattan so getting used to the subway is a must though the nearest station was a replacement bus service at the weekend so a good map with subways on will help you get off at the right spot.

One or two huge landmarks mean that Its also very easy to find your way back to the Marriot, though the US grid system means you'd really have to try hard to get lost anyway.

The Staten Island Ferry(free) is in easy walking distance as is the Water-taxi over to Brooklyn (free at weekends) which is worth the trip if only for the view, though I'd recommend a coffee and 'small' Danish at the Fairway on Brooklyn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Igol2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    729
    217
    59
    32
See reviews for
460
371
93
440
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Marriott Downtown is clean, comfortable, and convenient to downtown tourist destinations. Very comfortable beds, amazing views and a reasonable price tag add to the appeal. The staff, however, is absolutely, positively terrible. What a horribly trained group of individuals who clearly detest their jobs and collectively do their damnedest to represent the Marriott brand as one that does not care a whit about their guests. The Marriott Downtown recruitment effort should strive for abject apathy, as that would be an improvement over the current state of chaotic disorganization, absence of any systems or processes, what so ever, and a concerted group effort of deliberate rudeness, unmatched even in the hard, red apple.

Room Tip: Run, don't walk, towards any other option for a downtown hotel. If you don't heed this warn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjhglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We needed a hotel for just one night and booked this hotel through Hotwire. I was disappointed to find out they do not allow you to claim Marriott points if you book through a third party.

The location is RIGHT next to the September 11 memorial and the new Freedom Tower. There is a LOT of construction going on down in that area and it looks like parts are still recovering from Hurricane Sandy. There are a few nice restaurants in the area and the nightlife around the hotel is starting to come back.

The rooms were large (for NYC) and the service from the staff was good.

There is a pool on site - but it was drained and unavailable for use - not sure why.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Booked hotel through Expedia who gave us complimentary breakfast with room, I wish someone had told the little jumped up restaurant manager who done a good job of spoiling the best meal of the day( he wanted us to sign a bill for $75, five minutes after we had sat down, service mark indicates feeling ) my wife had to visit the front desk twice before the restaurant manager got the message. Hotel was in a great location for a lot of tourist attractions but the subway was required for 5th Ave and Central Park ( subway was a joy to use ). No problem with hotel room, good size for three people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkerclan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Generally Clean with a Good location near ground zero and subway. The service is ok. Internet is not free in the rooms. Breakfast is not always included in the room rate. For New york The Star rating is generally a Good guide so For a four Star facility, The pricing is ok. Make sure you ask for best available rate. It can save you 20% off The rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've stayed at this property twice now. Each visit about a year apart and I like this hotel. The rooms are large by NYC standards and well taken care of and clean. The bathrooms are updated and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Both years I had a view of the Hudson and last year my room faced Lady Liberty herself.
The hotel is right across the street to the 911 Memorial and within walking distance to Battery Park, Wall Street and the Tribeca neighborhood with Little Italy and Chinatown a little further, but still walkable if you desire.

Lots of desk space in both rooms and I had and plenty of room to walk around. Both rooms I've stayed in had two queen beds as well. The room I stayed in this year was on the corner so lots of windows with different views.

I did not use a restaurant in the hotel or other amenities, but the front lobby is nice and there is a Starbucks in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wisconsin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I've stayed at the New York Marriott Downtown twice and enjoyed both of my stays.

The staff was so friendly and helpful and the hotel lobby is gorgeous. The rooms were clean and modern - a little small, but isn't everything in New York small and cramped? We didn't spend much time in our room so the small closet and lack of drawers didn't bother us. Every evening a complimentary snack was served in the lobby. Sometimes it was appetizers from the hotel's restaurants and another time it was ice cream. We did experience a little noise from the construction at night, but we just laughed it off and agreed that New York is the city that never sleeps!

The location of the hotel is great. It's a few blocks from Wall Street and the subway station. Nearby tourist attractions include the World Trade Center, Trinity Church, and Battery Park. Some may want to stay closer to the hustle and bustle near Time Square or Manhattan, but I preferred the quieter scene in the Financial District.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#370 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West Street, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#136 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing