We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“In the heart of downtown NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New York Marriott Downtown to your Saves list
New York Marriott Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #212 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In the heart of downtown NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was on a business trip to the financial district. This Marriott is more suitable for the business traveler. The rooms are small but the beds are very comfortable. There are no good restaurants but you can always walk down to some good eatery in the neighborhood. The cabs are always available and you can even use the underground metro for faster service. Parking is a nightmare in downtown New York hence never rent a car but use the public transportation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    674
    202
    55
    30
See reviews for
425
330
85
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
85 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I decided to try the Marriott Downtown for my recent business trip because hotels in NY were outrageous at the time (all my normal hotels over $500 per night), and the Marriott was a bit over $400. At that rate, and with my Gold status, I assumed that would mean a quality stay. I was wrong.

No dispensation for Gold status. Small, uncomfortable room (for a four day stay), which they tried to argue with me was an upgrade. Staff was completely unhelpful and unpleasant from check-in to check-out. The only bright spot was that at the very end of my trip, I needed a space to rest up a bit before going to the airport, and a manager arranged for me to have access to the gym to shower and change. That bit was appreciated.

Location is inconvenient unless you are in NY for tourism, or have business specifically in the Financial District. If you need to get anywhere else in the city, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ricedish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here with friends and although this hotel has great amenities and the rooms are very clean and comfortable, the hotel itself is a quite a distance from the action. Staff were accommodating and helpful. The hotel would be great for business visits.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A decent location for downtown NYC and for business, only 3 or four blocks over from Wall St. The rooms are a reasonable size and have comfortable beds. Other than that, the facilities are limited. There is no restaurant or bar on site at the moment as they are renovating them (again - this is the third time I can remember in the the last four or five years), except for a Starbucks. There is a concierge lounge for qualifying guests, and it did a decent enough job of breakfast. I was dissapointed with it's drinks service though as they charged bar prices for bottled beers - this is free in most Marriott's I've visited that offer this facility. The lack of on site catering is compounded by the very average other local dining options (one of which is being used on a temporary basis for room service, though they advise this can mean a wait of an hour for food - though my experience was somewhat quicker). I will still use the Marriott, but not until the facilities are finished, and it is frustrating that I wasn't advised of them at the time of booking.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter and some on the souh west corner have views of the Statue of Liberty. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here May 31-June 2 for a family event. We were in room 814 which looked right down Albany Street to the Hudson River. The room itself was fine--clean and adequate. The staff at the front desk was friendly. It is a quick walk from the hotel to the subway on Rector Street to go uptown, a quick walk to the Hudson River, or over to the 9/11 Memorial. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the wifi fee. Perhaps this is the norm for hotels in the city, but I am not used to this at the other hotels where we stay. We will definitely stay here again when we visit my sister.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenTurieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Rooms were small but staff were helpful. The venue is close to Wall Street and right next to the 9/11 memorials. There is no bar or resturant but plenty close by. Clearly a business hotel and not for tourists. The costs were also very expensive. Look for other cheaper venues first

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bosleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been staying at the Marriott Marquis Time Square everytime I was in New York for the past 5 years. I figured, why not try another hotel in Manhatten.

This simply serves as a night stopper. The location is fine, just off Ground Zero where you have a lot of tourists taking pictures and crowding the cafes and restaurants. My room had a view of the Statue Of Liberty, nice view.

The room was ok, right size and comfortable. The bathroom of good size, too.

Nice overall stay but would stay at the Marquis the next time I'm in New York

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazhar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#230 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,842 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#217 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#51 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#194 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#58 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West Street, New York City, NY 10006
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#142 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing