We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent downtown NYC pick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #205 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown NYC pick”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip but did some sightseeing as well. Staff were very helpful and informative. Rooms were clean and comfortable and we completely enjoyed our stay there. At this time there are limited late dining options in the hotel, but many eateries in the area. There is also a lot of WTC construction to navigate, but that would impact any hotel you chose in the area. In a nutshell, highly recommend the Downtown Marriott.

Room Tip: Some rooms have gorgeous views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    756
    232
    62
    35
See reviews for
499
383
97
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel has a ways to go before it becomes a 5 star location, & Sandy seems to have taken out most of the expected amenities. But, these things can be overcome when customer service is 5 star. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while in NY. The hotel was aware thanks to family. We were upgraded to an upper level room, facing the Hudson, which gave us awesome sunsets. We were presented with wine & chocolates, congratulations, & a personal note from the person who checked us in. They made us feel special. We did not get to visit most places on our agenda due to Sandy's destruction and outside temps of 30 degrees with 20 mph winds. We will be back soon & will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: "Upper level rooms facing the Hudson river have awesome sunsets"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spangler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location and has a really good view of the Statue of liberty (Depending on if you get the right side). I swear on my life this hotel has the comfiest beds that I have ever slept on. The rooms are clean and updated and it just looks clean (unlike most hotels). Hotel has really nice samples of bath and body works for the shampoo, conditioner and lotion. Its the best. I loved looking forward to get a good nights sleep (It's like right when you hit the bed you are asleep). Next time I come to New York I will stay at this hotel again! Thanks for a wonderful stay! Oh and the breakfast is decent (Your normal hotel Continental breakfast). Thanks again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed here one night in order to have a longer stay in New York. I did really like the hotel, but if you are staying in New York to tour this is not a really central location to stay. Other than that the room was great. Very Very clean and spacious bed and bathroom. Loved the extra room for New York. I would definitely return to this hotel if I would go to New York again. The bed was comfortable and I liked the extra space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My firm has an office right down the street, and the New York Marriott is a great location for business travel in the lower Manhattan area. The rooms are perfect to unwind after a day in the hustle and bustle of New York. Try to get a room on the south side of the hotel to get a glimpse of the water and maybe the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. Easy access to the World Financial Center complex with less than a one block walk until you're covered.

Room Tip: Great views possible on the south side facing West Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days while visiting NYC. Our room was very nice and roomy for a big city hotel. The location was good... only a few blocks from the subway and with a lot of restaurant choices in the area. This was good since the hotel did not have a restaurant at all. The service was great and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok for a place to sleep. Front desk staff were great. Rooms pretty good for a NYC hotel. Location great if you want to visit the World Trade Center memorial. You have a 5-7 block walk to subways into the heart if NYC. That was the major drawback for me. You will have thus walk and a subway ride to any other area of nyc. Location not great. There is also no restaurant on site, bit even a coffee shop.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadhamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#253 of 467 in New York City
179 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#233 of 467 in New York City
1,155 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#105 of 467 in New York City
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#60 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#219 of 467 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#91 of 467 in New York City
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#148 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing