We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Surprised! Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #196 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Surprised! Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel. We stayed here one night in order to have a longer stay in New York. I did really like the hotel, but if you are staying in New York to tour this is not a really central location to stay. Other than that the room was great. Very Very clean and spacious bed and bathroom. Loved the extra room for New York. I would definitely return to this hotel if I would go to New York again. The bed was comfortable and I liked the extra space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    690
    206
    56
    30
See reviews for
436
341
87
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My firm has an office right down the street, and the New York Marriott is a great location for business travel in the lower Manhattan area. The rooms are perfect to unwind after a day in the hustle and bustle of New York. Try to get a room on the south side of the hotel to get a glimpse of the water and maybe the Statue of Liberty or Ellis Island. Easy access to the World Financial Center complex with less than a one block walk until you're covered.

Room Tip: Great views possible on the south side facing West Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eethomaswfnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days while visiting NYC. Our room was very nice and roomy for a big city hotel. The location was good... only a few blocks from the subway and with a lot of restaurant choices in the area. This was good since the hotel did not have a restaurant at all. The service was great and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok for a place to sleep. Front desk staff were great. Rooms pretty good for a NYC hotel. Location great if you want to visit the World Trade Center memorial. You have a 5-7 block walk to subways into the heart if NYC. That was the major drawback for me. You will have thus walk and a subway ride to any other area of nyc. Location not great. There is also no restaurant on site, bit even a coffee shop.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadhamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the NYC Marriott several times for work and since it is a 5-10 minute walk for me to work - this hotel is very convenient. I stayed here right after Sandy hit and there used to be a free breakfast in the morning in the lobby...post Sandy there is a breakfast buffet upstairs, but it is around $15 and it's not worth it for scrabled eggs and fruit. Internet service is $12.95 for 24 hours and several other hotels in the area offer some of these basic amenities in the room rate. Customer service is good, rooms are nice and clean and the prices are decent for the financial area district. The noise is also minimal in the rooms. So even though this isn't the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I would still recommend for a short NYC trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAHAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel, which formerly had a bar-cafe, a nice restaurant, and a Starbucks, now has no inside dining, other than a small breakfast buffet (pre-renovation Marriott Courtyard style). . Room service was delivered to me - in 45 minutes plus - from a diner which is a block and a half down the street - and when the food came, it was of course lukewarm. The sundry shop has been reduced to a Courtyard-style closet (with no over the counter medications that I could find). The boarding pass printer - moved into the Fedex Kinkos shop - didn't work. What a disaster! So sad for this formerly fine establishment. when i'm on a business trip - particularly one during poor weather - it's important to have access to food IN the hotel.

oh despite all the missing amenities, I still paid lower Manhattan prices......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was very nice, and the staff were excellent. The location is right next door to the 9/11 memorial, and is a 1 mile walk to China Town and Little Italy. In the evening we went to an off-broadway show and took the subway back to our hotel at 11:30 pm and it was safe. We stayed our first night in Times Square and it was AWESOME, so even though this hotel is very nice, I think it is much more fun to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMontCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#213 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#47 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#231 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,970 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#198 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#66 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing