We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #208 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montpelier, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several days while visiting NYC. Our room was very nice and roomy for a big city hotel. The location was good... only a few blocks from the subway and with a lot of restaurant choices in the area. This was good since the hotel did not have a restaurant at all. The service was great and the people were very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    676
    202
    55
    30
See reviews for
428
331
85
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok for a place to sleep. Front desk staff were great. Rooms pretty good for a NYC hotel. Location great if you want to visit the World Trade Center memorial. You have a 5-7 block walk to subways into the heart if NYC. That was the major drawback for me. You will have thus walk and a subway ride to any other area of nyc. Location not great. There is also no restaurant on site, bit even a coffee shop.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wadhamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the NYC Marriott several times for work and since it is a 5-10 minute walk for me to work - this hotel is very convenient. I stayed here right after Sandy hit and there used to be a free breakfast in the morning in the lobby...post Sandy there is a breakfast buffet upstairs, but it is around $15 and it's not worth it for scrabled eggs and fruit. Internet service is $12.95 for 24 hours and several other hotels in the area offer some of these basic amenities in the room rate. Customer service is good, rooms are nice and clean and the prices are decent for the financial area district. The noise is also minimal in the rooms. So even though this isn't the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I would still recommend for a short NYC trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HAHAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel, which formerly had a bar-cafe, a nice restaurant, and a Starbucks, now has no inside dining, other than a small breakfast buffet (pre-renovation Marriott Courtyard style). . Room service was delivered to me - in 45 minutes plus - from a diner which is a block and a half down the street - and when the food came, it was of course lukewarm. The sundry shop has been reduced to a Courtyard-style closet (with no over the counter medications that I could find). The boarding pass printer - moved into the Fedex Kinkos shop - didn't work. What a disaster! So sad for this formerly fine establishment. when i'm on a business trip - particularly one during poor weather - it's important to have access to food IN the hotel.

oh despite all the missing amenities, I still paid lower Manhattan prices......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was very nice, and the staff were excellent. The location is right next door to the 9/11 memorial, and is a 1 mile walk to China Town and Little Italy. In the evening we went to an off-broadway show and took the subway back to our hotel at 11:30 pm and it was safe. We stayed our first night in Times Square and it was AWESOME, so even though this hotel is very nice, I think it is much more fun to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMontCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice, but they are having a hard time overcoming the lack of amenities due to damage from Sandy. There are no restaurants in the hotel open for service. The closest dining or fast food is a 1 to 2 block walk, and when it is 30 degrees with a 30 mph wind it is a bit inconvenient. The bellhops need to be more attentive. I had to drag my bags up a half flight of stairs to get from the curb to the elevators – not good guys! The location was good for my visit to WFC, right next door, and the room was comfortable. I would wait until the property is restored to full service before staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was clean and large, for downtown Manhattan. Bathroom was updated. Bed was comfortable. It's also well located; walk to downtown appointments, subway to others and 5-10 minute walk to the PATH as well. Breakfast in the club lounge was good with a variety of options. And the morning newspaper was a WSJ, instead of the USA today that most hotels give out. Hotel lobby was pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JorMolchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millenium Hilton
Millenium Hilton
#231 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,854 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#219 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#51 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#196 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#57 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing