We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far from major sites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #202 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is ok for a place to sleep. Front desk staff were great. Rooms pretty good for a NYC hotel. Location great if you want to visit the World Trade Center memorial. You have a 5-7 block walk to subways into the heart if NYC. That was the major drawback for me. You will have thus walk and a subway ride to any other area of nyc. Location not great. There is also no restaurant on site, bit even a coffee shop.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wadhamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

I've stayed at the NYC Marriott several times for work and since it is a 5-10 minute walk for me to work - this hotel is very convenient. I stayed here right after Sandy hit and there used to be a free breakfast in the morning in the lobby...post Sandy there is a breakfast buffet upstairs, but it is around $15 and it's not worth it for scrabled eggs and fruit. Internet service is $12.95 for 24 hours and several other hotels in the area offer some of these basic amenities in the room rate. Customer service is good, rooms are nice and clean and the prices are decent for the financial area district. The noise is also minimal in the rooms. So even though this isn't the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, I would still recommend for a short NYC trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAHAalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel, which formerly had a bar-cafe, a nice restaurant, and a Starbucks, now has no inside dining, other than a small breakfast buffet (pre-renovation Marriott Courtyard style). . Room service was delivered to me - in 45 minutes plus - from a diner which is a block and a half down the street - and when the food came, it was of course lukewarm. The sundry shop has been reduced to a Courtyard-style closet (with no over the counter medications that I could find). The boarding pass printer - moved into the Fedex Kinkos shop - didn't work. What a disaster! So sad for this formerly fine establishment. when i'm on a business trip - particularly one during poor weather - it's important to have access to food IN the hotel.

oh despite all the missing amenities, I still paid lower Manhattan prices......

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel was very nice, and the staff were excellent. The location is right next door to the 9/11 memorial, and is a 1 mile walk to China Town and Little Italy. In the evening we went to an off-broadway show and took the subway back to our hotel at 11:30 pm and it was safe. We stayed our first night in Times Square and it was AWESOME, so even though this hotel is very nice, I think it is much more fun to stay in Times Square.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMontCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice, but they are having a hard time overcoming the lack of amenities due to damage from Sandy. There are no restaurants in the hotel open for service. The closest dining or fast food is a 1 to 2 block walk, and when it is 30 degrees with a 30 mph wind it is a bit inconvenient. The bellhops need to be more attentive. I had to drag my bags up a half flight of stairs to get from the curb to the elevators – not good guys! The location was good for my visit to WFC, right next door, and the room was comfortable. I would wait until the property is restored to full service before staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Room was clean and large, for downtown Manhattan. Bathroom was updated. Bed was comfortable. It's also well located; walk to downtown appointments, subway to others and 5-10 minute walk to the PATH as well. Breakfast in the club lounge was good with a variety of options. And the morning newspaper was a WSJ, instead of the USA today that most hotels give out. Hotel lobby was pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorMolchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed at your extremely lovely hotel on last week however the outward appearance did not reflect the level of service I am accustomed to. Rooms were extremely nice however a little more attention to cleanliness would have been appreciated. I left a dirty towel behind the commode that was there when I got there and it was still there when I left despite my request that it be removed. (unacceptable) Why should it take 45 minutes to get a pot of coffee from room service. I normally will stay with Westin branded hotels but have recently been staying at Marriott properties after my recent stay with this hotel all I can say is I love the location and it is extremely beautiful however if I want to be pampered and feel like my business is appreciated I will return to Westin in Times Square.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#217 of 469 in New York City
4,717 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#169 of 469 in New York City
309 reviews
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#72 of 469 in New York City
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#246 of 469 in New York City
1,190 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#226 of 469 in New York City
1,331 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#100 of 469 in New York City
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West Street at Albany Street, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $165 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York Marriott Downtown features an excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Our hotel in downtown NYC, situated in Lower Manhattan's Financial District close to One World Observatory, offers elegance and contemporary design - simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing