We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next door to the World Trade Center Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #204 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Next door to the World Trade Center Site”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in December, 2012. I got a great price on Priceline.

The lobby is small.

My room (#2615) faced the water, was large, quiet, and nicely decorated. There was a separate sitting area, and a fridge. Lots of bright windows.

The bathroom was a good size, and there was good water pressure. There was a shaving/make-up mirror. There was paint peeling on the ceiling above the shower.

The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was easy to use and consistent.

The room safe had an error code, but I spoke with reception and they sent security up to re-set it promptly.

The front desk staff was friendly and attentive.

There was a continental breakfast which included coffee, tea, juice, water, and pastries.

The elevators were generally fast, but I did have a few 5 minute waits.

This hotel is right across the street from visitor access to the World Trade Centre, so very convenient if you are visiting that. There is a lot of construction around, but it is relatively quiet at night.

I wasn't keen on walking outside at night. Although the hotel is only a few blocks and short walk from the subway.

I would consider staying here again, if I was visiting mostly the financial district area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    756
    232
    62
    35
See reviews for
499
383
97
461
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed one night with family on a 10 day East coast vacation, this was our favorite hotel. Service was awesome, upgraded to a corner suite, 34th floor lounge had a very nice light dinner for Gold and Platinum level members. Every staff member we dealt with, from front desk to valet to bellman were genuinely friendly and interested in making our stay more enjoyable. Bed was very comfortable and the shower was the best we have ever had in 20 years of traveling! Really like the quiet downtown location, and chose to stay on a Sunday night to take advantage of much lower room rates.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MJDunn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here one night in December. 2 rooms. Nice enough to let us in at 11am. Nothing fancy. Discounted because no restaurant or bar or internet in rooms from Hurricane Sandy damage. Situated adjacent to WTC. TV remorte didn't work and staff in room in 5 minutes to fix. Recommended several close places to eat. Free continental breakfast but no place to eat it except in room or take it with you. In room coffee terrible as usual. R and 1 subways stations close.

Room Tip: Apparently can ask for a view of statue of liberty
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bermudalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunlap, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My husband and I recently returned from staying at this property for 3 nights. Overall, we were very impressed. On the first day, we arrived at the hotel around 9 am and a room was already available for us. Upon check in, we asked if there were any rooms available with a Statue of Liberty view. The person behind the desk advised there were no rooms available at that time, but to check back after 4 pm and maybe one would be available. We did just that and were offered a great room on the 34th floor with views of Lady Liberty. The person behind the desk advised that normally a $30 per day fee would be charged to upgrade to a room like that, but he waived the fee for us. The rooms were clean, VERY quiet and pleasant. None of the restaurants are open due to Hurricane Sandy, but the hotel offered a nice continental breakfast that was free during each day of our stay. We were actually glad we stayed in Lower Manhattan after walking around all the craziness of other parts of the city all day. It was nice to come to a place that we knew was quiet and we could get a good night's rest. Our only complaints were that there were no vending machines available and the front desk did not have any stamps for sale. We were looking for bottled water one night and after we found out there were no vending machines, the front desk sent up complimentary water for us. Overall, we were very impressed by the staff's friendliness and willngness to please. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jjtan2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

After checking in Sat morning, we dropped our things and didnt come back until dinner time. Again we ran in dropped some bags and ran out again. When we returned to the room later that night and went to turn the sheets down, we found blood stains both on the sheet itself as well as a larger stain on the pillow sham. I called down to speak with a manager and was asked why, so I explained and housekeeping did come up and change everything. However, no offer of a different room, no apologies at that time, no call to see if everything was ok after that nothing. If that wasn't bad enough, we went to take showers the next morning and the water was rust colored!! I was told by the manager he would check with engineering but would comp my parking. I have escalated to Marriott Corporate. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMarie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

First of all, some of the comments I've seen in other reviews under this hotel make me wonder if the reviewers knew which Marriott they were in. It would be easy to become confused, since the company has so many locations in NYC.

As of mid-December, due to Hurricane Sandy damage, the bar/restaurant is still closed and there's no Internet (save common wi-fi in the lobby and (very weak-to-useless) wi-fi in the concierge lounge). If these are problems for you, call first, and find another place if they've not been fixed. However, in the week I was there I was continually impressed by the patience exhibited by many staff members as they explained the problems to guests and, frequently, accepted their wrath. I'm not conditioned to patience in New Yorkers under ANY conditions, so I give the staff high marks for this.

Otherwise, the place was clean, quiest and well-appointed, and will be my choice when working in the NYC area.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view; SOL is on the odd-room-number side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMysteriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We popped into the city for one night to meet a friend and party. Stayed at this Marriott. Wish we didn't. While the location is great, we were woken up around 8/8:30am on Saturday morning but some drilling and hammering, which sounded like it was outside our door. It was. Upon my wife's request that they stop, they said sorry, take it up with management. She did. Nobody stopped. For the next 3/4 hours, until we checked out, there was non stop drilling and hammering on our floor.

And the bathtub doesn't drain water fast at all....I was ankle deep in water while I was showering.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russian33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#238 of 467 in New York City
182 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#232 of 467 in New York City
1,156 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#104 of 467 in New York City
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 467 in New York City
1,251 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#93 of 467 in New York City
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#150 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#172 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing