We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #286 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 8, 2010

this hotel is indeed in a good area but the hotel is so tired it's sad. our room had crappy litle half-windows at the floor level (my wife said it was like being in prison), it had water-damage and rotting in the bathroom, the ac didn't work even after we called to complain so the room was unbearably hot (we didn't sleep well at all at this hotel), and so on. the hotel and overall experience there was crap.

i actually took the time to write an email to the hotel to complain and the only response i got was to call the hotel. last thing a busy traveler/worker wants after they complain via email is to have to talk on the phone more about a bad experience.

i suggest you steer clear of this VERY tired hotel. it's overpriced and just not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imfletcher72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,695 - 1,701 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

surprisingly quiet and great location. the bed was so comfortable, very nice expereince. Lobby leaves alot to be desired, but service and concierge was fine. would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shappy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

This was our first trip to New York. We took the train into Penn Station then took the subway to Grand Central Staton and then walked from 42nd to 49th to the hotel(The blocks are very short). Great location on Lexington ave. When we checked in, the front desk woman was very polite and helpful. We were checked into the room in less than 5 minutes we were given room 924 which faces Lexington ave. The room wasn't too high up but I barley noticed the noise exept for a few horns at around 11:00pm one night. The room was a decent size and much bigger than I expected.

Pros:
1. The Location! Walking distance to almost everything.
2. Decent sized rooms that were updated with new beds, furniture, fridge that wasn't a mini bar, and bathrooms.
3. Over all great staff. All very polite and willing to help exept the concierge.

Cons:
1. The double beds were TINY for a family of 4 although they were not completely uncomfortable. I think the beds were just shorter than normal double beds.
2. The $16.95 per day internet charge is outrageous considering its been free in nearly every hotel i've ever stayed in but I guess thats New York for you.
3. The concierge was terrible. He acted as if he would rather be anywhere but where he was and gave me very little eye contact. He gave us mediocre to downright horrible restaurant recomendations. After the second restaurant, we just found our own places and they were great. One place worth mentioning was a place a block east off 3rd called Ashtons. The food was horrible and over priced. I should have gotton a clue when the restaurant was dead. Not many people in there and now I know why...

Over all, this was a great hotel with just a few minor issues but there is no such thing as a perfect hotel and I would problably stay again if I could get another great rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaPanthersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

Got there at 9:00 a.m. and we were able to get our room immediately. All the Hotel Staff were friendly and wonderful. There was a small glitch with our American Girl Package and they made it right and even added the concierage room. The manager called and then came to the room and gave me his card. I couldn't have asked for a better stay with my Granddaughter. I will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizAnn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This hotel is in a great location - 49th & Lexington. The hotel is really nice - rooms are nice, beds are so comfortable. The shower is great. The rooms are nice and quiet - hard to believe you're in the middle of the city! The only bad thing was that the bar in the hotel closed at midnight - on a Saturday night!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

This is by far one of my favorite hotels. Its not special beds or amenities that make it so awesome but the people. The staff is very friendly and dedicated to making everyone feel special in the sea of anonmyous faces in NYC. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. The TV is a flat screen with the plug-ins for computers. For gold and platinum members, the conscierge room is one of the best I have ever seen; the conscierge staff are the best people to visit with upon getting up and after a stressful day. Kenda always goes out of her way to be helpful and friendly!!

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
Thank kamikidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

For my second trip to NY I stayed for 7 nights at this hotel that was September '09
We were checked in in 5 minutes!! Great after a long time in traffic from the airport to the hotel!
Our room was big enough en we had a very nice bathroom and a great view on the Waldorf!!
We had breakfast in the hotel the first morning, it was very tastefull but too much food, so after that we took our breakfast at Café Metro!
Connelly's is another place were you can eat very good!! 2 blocks down the hotel!
The concierge was so helpfull! Thx to him we finally found the HBO shop! True Blood fans support each other! :)
Wat was also good? Fith avenue was close by, Bloomingdale's ... Times Square!
The only thing that I really didn't like was the noise at night! But that is NY I guess, that was the only bad thing!
I really recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nestje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#261 of 471 in New York City
3,683 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#336 of 471 in New York City
1,371 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 471 in New York City
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#187 of 471 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#148 of 471 in New York City
2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $191 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing