We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,600)
Filter reviews
2,600 results
Traveler rating
676
1,064
537
204
119
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
676
1,064
537
204
119
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 2,600 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

Our last of many stays here over many years. The hotel is very tired and desperately needs renovation. Furniture, carpet, baths, all worn out. Great location and friendly staff are the draws here but the dirty, tattered furnishings overshadow. Getting stuck in the elevator on the 32nd floor ruined an afternoon (it is tired too)! Time for us to find a new hotel in New York City.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ltcjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TeamMarriott, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear ltcjed,

Thank you for being a loyal guest over the years. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations concerning the overall condition of the hotel. Although we continue to receive high marks for service and cleanliness, we do acknowledge that it is time for some updates. We will pass along your feedback to the individuals responsible for these changes. It is always our pleasure hosting you, and we do hope you will join us on your next visit to the city.

Ron Rivera
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

The reason for my visit on August 9-10, 2019 to NY Marriott East Side was a medical appointment at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. We arrived at the hotel at 12:30PM on August 9. The bell staff was wonderful throughout and held our bags as the room wasn’t ready. The front desk staff said that our room wasn’t ready (expected that as check in is 3pm.). She asked for my cell number and said she would text as soon as our Room was ready. We planned to return to hotel after my medical appointment to rest a bit and change before dinner. That did not happen. The “room ready” text came in the form of a voice mail at 5:27pm. We returned to the hotel after dinner. Joshua finalized our check in. I mentioned that I was disappointed that our room was not ready until 5:30pm. He apologized and said that he would grant us complimentary access to the concierge level lounge and complimentary breakfast. I acknowledged that in a big way, stating that kindness goes very far, and we need a lot more of that currently in our broken world. We presented at the Lounge at 9:25am. We were in the middle of a line of approximately 8 people. When it became our turn to enter the lounge, the female staff member was very loud and curt when denying us access because we were “not entitled and Joshua did not notate our account.” We immediately returned to the front desk and found Joshua, again alone. I explained our embarrassment and he couldn’t even muster an apology. We returned to our room, gathered our belongings and returned to the front desk to check out. Carmen checked us out without even asking how our stay was. While our situation left no long term damage and we have moved on, as Marriott reward members, I will make a point to go out of my way to avoid Marriott brand hotel, especially the one that employs Joshua and Carmen, and others like them. This was an epic fail In the service industry. Practice kindness, please. It isn’t difficult.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TeamMarriott, General Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear Tina J,

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott Brands and for choosing our hotel. We are truly sorry for the service issues you encountered during your visit. We pride ourselves on providing personable and attentive service and truly regret the delay at check-in and oversight in marking your account for lounge access. We understand your frustration and will be sure to make an effort to prevent similar incidents in the future. Although we let you down this time, we would love for you to reconsider giving us a chance to make a better impression when you return to the area.

Ron Rivera
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

The location was great but thats about all I can say this hotel has going for them. The location is wonderful because it is walking distance to so many things. The staff initially was friendly but the rooms were small and our room looked like it was a cement box . it did not have a warm homey feeling to it at all. We were in town for less than 24 hrs for a business meeting and at 130 am. we heard loud talking and laughing. After a half hour we called downstairs and were told that it was Friday night so what do we expect!!! I was less than happy since we were payving over $300/night for this hotel. Upon leaving the next morning, we told that staff about our experience and no one seemed to care. Also, the restaurant/bar did not open until 5 so when we landed at 1 pm we then had to search for a place to eat. it would have been so convenient to relax at the restaurant at the hotel before our meeting. We picked this based on the location and Marriotts reputation but we will not be staying here again.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jksky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TeamMarriott, Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Dear jksky4,

Thank you for being our guest while in town for business. While we are glad our location was convenient for you, we hope you will accept our apologies for the excessive noise you experienced as well as for your disappointment with our restaurant hours. We want our guests to have a comfortable stay, especially during a quick visit, and we are sorry your concerns were not taken seriously. Please know we will address this with our team to ensure all guests leave with a great experience. Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we do hope you will reconsider staying with us again.

Ron Rivera
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

Very impressed with the entire staff and especially Pauline as she helped us most often at this Marriott. Our expectations were exceeded by their friendliness, knowledge, and ability to accommodate our needs. Hotel was clean and club lounge was very good. Fitness center was clean and nice too. Would highly recommend and will stay again in the future.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Betsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2019

Dear Betsy G,

Thank you for being our guest at New York Marriott East Side. It is rewarding to know you enjoyed our well-kept rooms as well as our gym and that our team left a great impression. They work tirelessly to provide the best service, down to the smallest detail. We can’t wait to share your kind comments with Pauline. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Ron Rivera
Front Office Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

The location of this marriott is great and the staff is friendly. The rooms by NYC standards are actually quite big and very clean.

The only downside was the noise. Not the normal city noise either. The sporadic toilet sounds and the very loud air conditioner noises all day and night were a tad annoying.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TeamMarriott, Front Office Manager at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Dear Kathy V,

Thank you for sharing about your stay at New York Marriott East Side. We are thrilled you appreciated not only our friendly team and convenient location, but also our spacious rooms. However, we are sorry for the noise issues you encountered in your room. Our engineering staff will get this taken care of right away. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in New York City.

Ron Rivera
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews