We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed here in mid october on a sunday for an overnight stay. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and helpful. The rooms were nice. We got our room for $140 through priceline which was an okay price. When I found out that the rooms were $300 a night normally I almost choked. I would have felt ripped off paying that much for jus an ordinary hotel. I guess that is nyc prices though. The beds were comfortable and the staff was nice. Stay here with no worries, but no high expectations either.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachlover742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,191)
There are newer reviews for New York Marriott East Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2006

Wow!!! What an experience!! We had a wonderful time this past weekend at the Marriott East Side. We were a group of 7, mom's and daughter's in New York for a girl's weekend. We had 2 rooms, one had a King bed, small room, but very cozy, (great view of Lexington Avenue) perfect for 2 people and our other room was a suite, that had 2 double beds and a queen pull out couch, we slept 5 girls in this room and had more than enough room! We had coffee pots, extra pillows and towels and a fridge delivered as soon as we called.

Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we left!!

Pefect location, walking distance to everything!!!

We can not wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cmaloney70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2006

I stayed here for a conference and overall, was impressed with the hotel. The rooms were small but clean. It is an old hotel (remodeled) and has that old hotel room smell - a bit musty. The hotel had a very nice fitness center. Business center only had 2 computers but adequate. The location was across from the Waldorf and next to the W.

The one thing I must say is that the rooms were extremely hot. I was there during one of the coldest day in NYC history and had to open the window and turn on the a/c! Overall it was a nice hotel.

Stayed: February 2005
2  Thank ngl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Northern Ireland
13
Reviewed February 27, 2006

We stayed at the Marriott for 1 week. We found the rooms very comfortable and well equipped. The rooms were immaculate and cleaned every day. Showergel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and mouth wash were all replaced everyday.

There is a safe, iron and ironing board, television and a coffee maker if you request one.

This hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to all midtown places. The metro is only 1 street away.

There is complimentry Tea and Coffee served every morning in the lobby.

The one draw back about this hotel, is that the drinks are expensive in the bar and they automatically add a tip on to your bill - you don't have a say in how much of a tip you want to give!

All in all, I would stay here in a flash again and wouldn't hesitate in staying here.

PS one of the lifts wasn't working, so it was slow to catch a lift most days - apparently this is the norm!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2006

This Marriott is very nice and comfortable, but beware that you are a good walk from Times Square (not bad in warm weather, but terrible in cold weather). If you want to be in the middle of things, this is not the hotel to stay. However, you are close to the subway and in easy walking distance to many popular places. I got an upgraded Superior Room and it was small, but not near as small as the standard room. It is what you would expect for New York City. The room was decorated nice and I didn't have much of a problem with the street noise. If you want a safe and comfortable place to stay and you are a loyal marriott person, pick this hotel. If you want to be in the middle of Time Square, check out the Marriott Marquis (it looks nice too).

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank workhardtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2006

This hotel was very clean, and comfortable. One drawback- if you are on one of the upper floors (including concierge level) you will have to take two elevators. We found the elevators in general to be fairly slow. The view, however, from the upper floors is awesome. The bathroom we had was large and quite nice.

The regular beds were nice and soft but my 9 year-old daugther wants you to know that "The pullout bed was really hard, when I woke up, my back was sore."

Good location only a couple of blocks from Grand Central with plenty of NY priced restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BernieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2006

This was my second time at the Marriott East Side. The second time was a huge improvement over the first and I'd stay there again. I had a room with two double beds so it was a good sized room for NYC and the linens were new and comfortable.
The staff was very friendly.

My only recommendation is that you skip breakfast at the Marriott and go next door to the Heartbeat restaurant at the W for breakfast. It's much cheaper than the Marriott restaurant ($6 less for scrambled eggs), has better service and is in a nicer room.

Stayed: January 2006
6  Thank Sadie_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#148 of 468 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,411 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#305 of 468 in New York City
1,327 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $257 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing