We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #276 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We recently stayed at the New York Marriot East Side for a family event. The location was great. Marriot has a very "cool" app for Rewards members that allows you to check in before you arrive. There is a dedicated line for you to just walk up and get your key! We were upgraded to a larger room on the 15th floor. For a New York hotel it was extremely spacious, but the bathroom was small. As we were only staying one night for a wedding, we really didn't care.
The beds were comfortable which in the end is all that matters.
The hotel faces the historic Waldor Astoria nd is in the heart of mid town only a few blocks from Grand Central Station.
The front desk , bell captain and concierge were all very polite, friendly and helpful
The only reason for a lesser rating is the noise factor. Not from the other rooms...but from the street. Even on the 15th floor we could hear constant traffic noise, taxi horns and the whistle of the valet parking attendent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rakdanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
There are newer reviews for New York Marriott East Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

i came to nyc marriott eastside for my birthday and my 3 cousins we checked in on sat july 19th and checked out on sunday july 20th. i just wanted to point out that your operator eisis i hope i am writting here name correctly she truly gave us a very nice expierence and she was absolutely amazing i just wanted to let your hotel know how wonderful your operator was and your entire staff from bellman to the easy check in i was completely satisfied and most of all it was a great way to celebrate my birthday. I came in from maryland to new york city and it was worth the trip again thank you to you and your staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lissy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I along with daughter and 2 granddaughters just completed a 6-night stay in this property. It was simply great across the board, including an outstanding "M Club" - probably the best Concierge Lounge (now called M Club) I have ever seen and we travel practically non-stop throughout the year - for leisure, as we are now retired and I am a lifetime elite Marriott member, which clearly is my choice of hotels almost everywhere we travel.

The location of this Marriott is great - only a few blocks from Times Square, Theater District, the best shopping, Central Park and restaurants of everyone's preferences.

Great reception & staff.

Very Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Went to NYC last night to see America's Got Talent with my wife and kids. Decided to use 40,000 points for a stay at the this Marriott hotel (which is category 8 just in case you didn't know) All was well until this morning. Nothing like a late night walking around the city, crashing in the bed around 12:30AM and then waking up to NO SHOWER! Not kidding, room 1005 does not have a functioning shower. When you pull up on the little knob it will not engage, only sprays water in every different direction from the spigot. You get a little dribble from the shower head. I hope a Marriott manager reads this review and addresses this asap. My next email is going to the corporate office to request my 40,000 points refunded. There is no calling room maintenance at 7AM with 4 people just waking up and wanting nothing more than a shower. Absolutely unacceptable.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
7  Thank 73Swid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Good morning

Thank you for your recent visit to the Marriott East Side hotel and also for taking the time to share your concerns with us. You indicated in your review that you were dissatisfied with our service, the amenities and the quality of our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies to you and your family for any inconvenience this may have cause.

Our goal is to address your concerns and prevent this from happening in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience to further discuss these issues.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having stayed several times in Times Square when visiting NYC...because I always thought it was more convenient, I opted to stay elsewhere this time. All I will say about the change is this:
If you don't want to feel like a salmon while getting into your hotel, then don't stay in Times Square. The convenience is marginal (you still have to get to the Subway and all attractions) and the mass of humanity makes you favor side doors anyway. For less money and more sidewalk space, avoid Times Square.

The New York Marriott East Side is very comfortable. We were in a corner room with two doubles (though, sharing one bed, they were comfortable for two average-sized people). The room was large. The bathroom was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The coffee in the room is, as always, horrible, but there are two coffee shops less than a block away. The staff was courteous and funny.

This is an old building. There are bubbles in the paint on the ceiling. The access panels rattle. The windows aren't sound-proof, nor are the doors. But...if you remember ear plugs, or are a deep sleeper, then you will likely sleep well.

The location is great. There is Subway access a few short blocks away. Rockefeller Plaza and Fifth Ave are very close. We easily walked to Grand Central, the Empire State Building, and then back to St. Patrick's.

Room Tip: The corner room we had was great for family or friends.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Endoftired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Let me start with a few members of the staff, Paulina (front desk) and Hassan (Bartender), they were nothing short of spectacular. Paulina went out of her way to attend to some of our needs while staying at this Marriott. Our stay was not planned and basically a last minute emergency stay in the city for 5 nights, Hassan who works the bar during the day was a wonderful person who cares about his patrons, he is a world of knowledge when it comes to everything NYC...both Paulina and Hassan should be recognized as outstanding employees at Marriott/East Side. The property itself could not be located in a better location, right on the Lexington Subway line as well as near all the cool places on 3rd and 2nd avenue and of course a few blocks from Rockefeller Square/Times Square. Our next visit in NYC will definitely include a stay at the Marriott East Side.

Room Tip: Stay on the low floors, unless you want to spend a lot of time on the elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HI1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Bellman Kenny is outstanding! Overall, staff is excellent. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and well appointed. A small "step" (~1") from bedroom to bathroom was a little annoying. Elevator doors were narrow. Easy walk to Grand Central Terminal. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 468 in New York City
3,352 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#146 of 468 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#109 of 468 in New York City
1,095 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
4,418 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#59 of 468 in New York City
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $254 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing