We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #285 of 479 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having stayed several times in Times Square when visiting NYC...because I always thought it was more convenient, I opted to stay elsewhere this time. All I will say about the change is this:
If you don't want to feel like a salmon while getting into your hotel, then don't stay in Times Square. The convenience is marginal (you still have to get to the Subway and all attractions) and the mass of humanity makes you favor side doors anyway. For less money and more sidewalk space, avoid Times Square.

The New York Marriott East Side is very comfortable. We were in a corner room with two doubles (though, sharing one bed, they were comfortable for two average-sized people). The room was large. The bathroom was very clean. The beds were very comfortable. The coffee in the room is, as always, horrible, but there are two coffee shops less than a block away. The staff was courteous and funny.

This is an old building. There are bubbles in the paint on the ceiling. The access panels rattle. The windows aren't sound-proof, nor are the doors. But...if you remember ear plugs, or are a deep sleeper, then you will likely sleep well.

The location is great. There is Subway access a few short blocks away. Rockefeller Plaza and Fifth Ave are very close. We easily walked to Grand Central, the Empire State Building, and then back to St. Patrick's.

Room Tip: The corner room we had was great for family or friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endoftired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    785
    372
    128
    72
See reviews for
440
466
85
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Let me start with a few members of the staff, Paulina (front desk) and Hassan (Bartender), they were nothing short of spectacular. Paulina went out of her way to attend to some of our needs while staying at this Marriott. Our stay was not planned and basically a last minute emergency stay in the city for 5 nights, Hassan who works the bar during the day was a wonderful person who cares about his patrons, he is a world of knowledge when it comes to everything NYC...both Paulina and Hassan should be recognized as outstanding employees at Marriott/East Side. The property itself could not be located in a better location, right on the Lexington Subway line as well as near all the cool places on 3rd and 2nd avenue and of course a few blocks from Rockefeller Square/Times Square. Our next visit in NYC will definitely include a stay at the Marriott East Side.

Room Tip: Stay on the low floors, unless you want to spend a lot of time on the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HI1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Bellman Kenny is outstanding! Overall, staff is excellent. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and well appointed. A small "step" (~1") from bedroom to bathroom was a little annoying. Elevator doors were narrow. Easy walk to Grand Central Terminal. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel through expedia and turned a good deal. The hotel is in a great location with walking distance from time square that I did multiple times a day. There's a few hot dog stands in the area that is very continent. The restaurant was a plus. Even thou there are plenty of restaurant on the area we didn't feel like walking in the cold. The food was deliciouse and the price was reasonable$$$ for the service and location. There's is constantly taxis outside waiting we found helpful when in a hurry. The view wasn't special at all we had the roof of the building that one can at least see if it's raining/snowing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbatista08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were unsure prior to arrival, but really enjoyed the experience of this hotel. Great location, good service, great public spaces, rooms renovated but a little small. Every part of the hotel was well cleaned and the staff was terrific. The downstairs bar area is pleasant and a great place for a small group meeting or get together. Within walking distance of many of mid-towns best attractions. We would stay here again one day.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 14th floor and it had great views of neighboring rooftop gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVTraveler8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

In town for a funeral and the Marriott East Side couldn't have been more convenient to our family in Queens while still being in the middle of it all in Manhattan. We were unbelievably grateful for everything that the Marriott team did for us during this pretty stressful time. The staff (reservations, housekeeping, bartenders, doorman and receptionists) was all very attentive and we felt like family by the time our week had come to an end.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I got this room thrown in with my Vacations to Go package so they paid for it but 375. USD for 1 night in a hotel with NO POOL just a small workout room on the roof which can only be accessed using a secret elevator which you have to put your room card into. OMG no way. then the room was furnished in an old fashioned way. For that money ? it should have looked like a palace.

Room Tip: For that money, find something cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for your recent stay at the Marriott East Side hotel and also for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns with us. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and will defnitely share your concerns with our Team.


We always try to provide each guest with excellent service, unfortunately you were not satisfied with our facility and what if offers and for that I do apologize. However, please do not hesitate to contact us at your convenience to further discuss these concerns. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#309 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#131 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#268 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#208 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#322 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Green Hotel in New York City
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#232 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing