We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott East Side Needs More Elevators” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott East Side

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #285 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marriott East Side Needs More Elevators”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was one of the weakest Marriotts that I've ever stayed in. The staff is nice and my room was decent sized for NY. However, my view was of a brick wall looking into other rooms. I assume there are better views in this hotel but I'm gold and this was where they put me so don't count on a nice view :) The concierge lounge was okay but nothing special. The worst part of this hotel is the elevators. In the evening they are slow and crowded. In the morning they take at least 5 minutes and possibly much longer. I had to use the stairs because they are all too full for me to get on. It turned out to be good exercise but this might really bother some people. This hotel clearly needs more elevators or at least faster ones. Make sure you leave plenty of time to get to the lobby in the morning. Kind of disappointing for a Marriott.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BostonFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for staying with us at the Marriott Eastside hotel and also for taking the time to give us your feedback.

From your feedback, it seems you had difficulty getting on and off the elevators and also not being checked into a room with a view. I understand your frustration and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by this.

Let me also take this opportunity to inform you that we are always working on finding ways to improve our services and the quality of our hotel.

We value your trust in our hotel and will do our best to meet your expectations for future visits. Please contact us at your convenience so we can discuss these issues further. Thanks again for your honest feedback and we hope you choose the East Side the next time your travel plans bring you to New York city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    883
    406
    140
    74
See reviews for
503
513
92
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Service is great as expected. Rooms are on the small side and definitely could use some touch up in the maintenance and decor department.

But overall shower pressure was good, concierge room is fantastic, beds are soft, rooms are quiet and dark. Nice hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were in the city for only one night so this hotel worked out ok. The staff was friendly and attentive. We were there on a paid rate of $179.00. Very inexpensive for New York City so I can't really complain. We are Platinum members and I called ahead to see if we could get an upgrade to a larger room so that the room with two double beds could also accommodate a rollaway bed (which was an additional $40.00). They were able to do that. When we got to the room I was surprised that this small room would be allowed to hold a rollaway but they somehow fit it in.

The hotel is an easy walk from grand central and the location was great for doing what we wanted to do, especially on the East Side. The hotel itself is outdated. The room was the same. I know they can't change the building structure (which could be charming) but a little bit of updates would help. Room windows were very drafty and the heating system clanked everytime it kicked on. We were on the 10th floor and the street noise was loud. But, you are in New York City that is to be expected. The concierge breakfast offerings were very good. Eggs, plenty of Danish/breads, fruit that was very fresh, oatmeal and cereal. Coffee was very good.

I probably wouldn't stay here again unless we got a really good rate. I much prefer the Renaissance Times Square.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JordycatConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Good afternoon

On behalf of the Marriott East Side Hotel, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel, and also for taking the time to give us your honest feedback.

From your feedback, it seems you were not satisfied with the size of the room, and the overall noise caused by the heater in the room and the traffic on the outside.

We are always eager to hear about your likes and dislikes regarding our service and the overall quality of our hotel and how we can improve. As one of our valued customer, everything we do is aimed at providing you with excellent hotel servce. Please contact us so we can discuss your issues further.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My daughter and I spent the night here and it was very nice. The staff were very friendly. The room was nice. There was some traffic noise but not intolerable. The hotel itself was very quiet. We didn't hear any noise the entire time we were there. The location was great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
614 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We chose this hotel based on location and were not disappointed as even during the blizzard we could access public transportation and excellent restaurants were within walking distance. Our room was an extra spacious king and was large by NYC standards yet small compared to other cities. The room was clean, a corner with a view toward Grand Central Station, good elevator access and convenient to the exercise facility which was up two floors. The concierge lounge featured great coffee and an adequate varied breakfast. Evening appetizers were plentiful but not all that healthy and the dessert offering was mainly cookies. The honor bar was adequate to the task. My only real complaint was the inability of the doorman to secure taxi service and that was not really his fault.

Room Tip: Higher floors front corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Not the best Marriott in the area. Expect noise from traffic on Lexington, slow elevators, average and expensive breakfast. Eye mask and ear plugs needed for a sound sleep. Good location is the best one could say. Fine for a solo , one night stay, rooms are too small for anything more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank FearGlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good morning

We are pleased you choose the Marriott East Side hotel for your recent stay and we also appreciate your honest feedback regarding your visit.

From your comment, it seems you were dissatisfied with the quality, the convenience and the affordability of the breakfast offered and for that we do apologize.

We are grateful for your patronage and suggestions and look forward in discussing them further with you at your convenience. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future. Customer satisfaction is our goal at the Marriott Eastside Hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I had such high expectations when I chose to stay here, and they were crushed. When you walk in it seems like a very nice place, but then it ends. I had booked a room with 2 double beds and pull out couch.. but when I got to the room it was a king bed with a pull out 'chair' that barely slept 1 person. So 4 people are crammed into this tiny room with one bed, and when I called the front desk to see if they had anything else, all they told me was that they were sold out, and that was it. They didn't even have the decency to put my extra towels and pillows in the room. It took them almost 2 hours to bring them to me after I called. Oh, and the beautiful view of a brick wall just made it just that much better! I was so glad that I was only there for one night, and couldn't wait to check out the next morning.
When we did check out, we were waiting for the rain to subside before we went walking with our luggage, and they were incredibly rude about us sitting in their lobby.. even though we were paying guests. I understand that seeing 4 college kids may give off the wrong impression, but we did not cause any disruption and were in town for an important conference and I don't appreciate the poor service.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an actual view.. bricks are not the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott E, Guest Service Expeditor at New York Marriott East Side, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good morning

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Marriott East Side Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

You indicated in your review that you were disappointed with our services and the overall quality of the hotel. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences caused by this. We take great pride in ensuring our guest's satisfaction, unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations.

Our goal is to address your concerns so we can provide an exceptional experience on your next visit. Please contact us at your convenience so we can discuss the issues you had during your recent visit with us. We look forward to hearing from you and hope you will continue doing business with us at the East Side. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#178 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing