We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showing some age”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #277 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Showing some age”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marriott East Side for 5 nights in April. The lobby is really nice, but the rooms are showing some wear and tear. Snags in the carpet, worn window coverings, sort of tired looking bathroom. The bed was very comfy. We chose this hotel for it's location, as we'd stayed there before. The location is excellent. Just 2 blocks from Times Square and Rockefeller Center. The front desk staff were ok. Not hugely friendly, and the doormen weren't overly friendly either. We aren't sure if we'll stay at the East Side again. Not because of the hotel, but we want to stay in a different neighborhood

Room Tip: If you can get a corner room, the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmksandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    929
    431
    147
    75
See reviews for
540
541
100
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Marriott East Side a few times now, and each time I am impressed with the staff. From the doormen to the concierge floor, the staff are friendly and helpful. You can't do much better for location - Lexington and 49th make walking to Times Square, the Park, shops, etc. a breeze. The gym requires a weird elevator change on the 32nd floor, but it is well kept and has good machines and free weights. It is certainly adequate for a few days. The lovely lady who cleans the gym is terrific and has a smile that will start your day off right. If you forget headphones, no worries as they provide them in the gym so you can watch TV on the cardio machines. The rooms are fairly typical Marriott rooms. No frills, but the beds are great and the rooms are clean and well kept. No complaints for this consistently excellent property.

Room Tip: Street noise is always an issue in NYC, so the higher up you are, the better. There are 2 elevator b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenntabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, in the heart of the very vibrant East Side. The room was surprisingly comfortable and roomy, for a New York hotel. (I had two double beds to myself.) And the hotel building, which dates back to the 1920s, but is very modern inside, is totally charming. Unfortunately, I have to give them a one-star decrement, for two reasons. First, a maintenance request (drainage problems, sink and tub) I made on the first morning of a three-night stay apparently went unheeded. And, please, $16.95 for in-room Wi-Fi? At these prices, they should be paying you.

But I'd definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: My room was on an airshaft. Pretty dismal view--but it almost totally cut out street noise.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was in NYC for business and they selected this hotel for us. Looking for convenient, updated, clean and friendly. Got all of that. About 7 blocks off Times Square, 3 from the UN and 4 from Grand Central. No hassles whatsoever. The room was VERY well appointed and clean. I didn't try their bar or restaurant but for an accomodation, it was excellent. When i go back to NYC, I will try them first.

Room Tip: As with many NYC hotels, you can easily get a room with a terrible view...looking out at other build...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 207Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My parents and I stayed at the East Side Marriott for four nights in late April 2013. It's within the price range you'd expect for a hotel of that type in Manhattan, but it still felt expensive. I usually stay at Sofitel when I visit NYC but they could not accomodate 3 people in the same room, so I had to look eslewhere.

The room was clean and comfortable but the screen thing on the radiator was busted.

The room was quiet, we could not hear the other guests on our floor, but we could hear everything that was going on outside and I think our room was close to a loading area because we could hear trucks coming in very early in the morning.

The location is great, close to MoMA, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and two blocks from a subways station if you want to get off the beaten path.

WiFi is $16.95 a day...

I don't know if I'd recommend the hotel but I would not discourage anyone to stay there either. We were fairly satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came to the Marriott to celebrate my mothers bday for a girls weekend in NYC. The staff was excellent everyone was very attentive and we had an amazing time. It is definitely worth paying a little extra for the quality of what we got!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aba1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Depending on the time of year, hotels can be quite expensive in Midtown. Managed to get a better rate than other comparable offerings in the area.

Beds were comfortable and managed to survive a short stay (3 nights) considering an eight hour differential in time zones.

They also did not charge for me to receive a couple of items from the mail room. This is a service that I would expect from a hotel at this level. I was charged at the Grand Hyatt New York which I will never stay at again because of the charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gambit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#276 of 467 in New York City
3,292 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#150 of 467 in New York City
2,275 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 467 in New York City
4,356 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#297 of 467 in New York City
1,309 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#91 of 467 in New York City
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing