We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #278 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
stamford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant, great location”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We are very satisfied with everything. The room was clean and comfortable, with blackout curtains and no noise! The staff was friendly and the location was close to Grand Central station and Radio City. There are lots of breakfast places all around, as well as good restaurants. We had come for a concert and the hotel was perfect for a late ending.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    928
    431
    147
    75
See reviews for
539
541
100
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, CA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were in NY for five nights with our grandson. We found the Marriott East Side to be a great location to be able to walk almost everywhere. Also close to subway access. A corner room provided nice light and space for three people. The bathroom was very small, but adequate. We particularly liked having access to the Concierge Lounge for breakfast and cocktail hour. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Wade, who was a font of information about New York.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner, high up room if possible. Floor 16 has the Concierge Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moragajoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the hotel I have always stayed in when travelling to NY, and in accordance with Marriott tradition, the location is top-notch. The rooms are very comfortable, and the famed Marriott beds are hard to get up from, they are so cozy!!!

I definately chastise this hotel (and any other) for not offering free WiFi for guests. I find it hard to believe that in this day and age they still charge ridiculous rates for internet connections, especially considering how much you pay for a night's stay!!

Still, I will always enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there for one night on a business trip. Very nice property, choose it based on location and price for NY. Room was clean and convenient, but interior and behind the eleveators so it was noisy in the rush hours. Nevertheless I slept well. Staff was attentive and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izarauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Marriott East Side gave me the worst Marriott (across all brands) rooms I have ever had. I am Platinum Elite in their rewards program so 1) I get to see a lot of their hotels and 2) usually get the better rooms. My room was on the 5th floor and was small, dark and dingy. I was there for two nights for a business trip so the room was OK. It would not have been acceptable if I had been on vacation. The Concierge Lounge is big but the food and amenities there was average. It takes at least two different elevators to get to the gym. It is on the small side but the machines were of good quality. The best aspect of the hotel is its location. If I ever go back to this hotel, I would not accept a room below the 16th floor.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room below the 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel 5 nights in March 2013. I first stayed on the 13th floor I believe and I switched to 2803 for the last two nights. It was a corner room with a great view (picture provided). The location is great, I walked everywhere other than long distances (took a cab for those). It is an old building, but the looby and the rooms are nicely done. You have to pay for wifi in the room, but it is really fast. The elevator setup is a little odd, but no problems there. The fitness center is a little small, but adequate for most needs. The equipment is nice. I had dinner at the restaurant in the lobby, and it was delicious. The restaurant and bar at the lobby has a nice atmosphere, seems busy most of the time. Service was good, not great, but was enough for my needs. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: 2803 has a nice view (two double beds). Choose to be high up in the building to have a chance of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatortail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend in 2013. The location is great! It's a couple blocks from Grand Central Station, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, and the famous shops on 5th Avenue. We were able to walk from the north end of Central Park, down 5th Avenue, and then back to our hotel which was pretty reasonable. The rooms were decent size for New York. The maid service left a little to be desired (didn't restock shampoos, left dishes in our room from previous days, rip in the sheets) but it was clean, quiet, and convenient. The fitness room was really cool (great view) and the breakfast buffet was nice (not included). Overall, we were very happy despite some of the missteps by the maids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afischer912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#275 of 467 in New York City
3,287 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#151 of 467 in New York City
2,274 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#317 of 467 in New York City
4,350 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#296 of 467 in New York City
1,309 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#96 of 467 in New York City
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing