We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but short on value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #280 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel rates high for location because it is across the street from the Waldorf Astoria, which puts it five blocks from the Rockefeller Center, 11 blocks from Times Square and Broadway, one block off Park Avenue, three blocks off Fifth Avenue and all of the shops and ten blocks from Central Park. The nearest subway is six blocks away at Grand Central Station. The rooms are average and the restaurant is very overpriced with a very limited selection. The exercise are on the roof (enclosed) is nice with a view of 49th and Lexington Ave. There is no pool or spa, a very, very small gift shop and little else. Fortunately there are plenty of restaurants very close by in all price ranges. The rooms are okay. Ours had a king bed, a refrigerator and coffee maker. Smaller than most rooms you find in less expensive hotels. The service was acceptable but not exceptional. Don't eat here unless you like to spend $70 for very little food. I recommend you book the room as part of a package if you are flying to NYC. Marriott and most of the airlines have packages available that save you over booking just the room. I booked through American Airlines and got the room, air and a private car from and to LaGuardia airport for far less than the room alone would have cost. We were able to walk everywhere except the 9/11 memorial. we used the subway to go there.

Room Tip: Book this hotel as part of a package with the airlines if you are flying to NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tennessee50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two of the longest weeks of my life in this hotel courtesy of work. Had to move rooms due to groaning and clanging pipes all night long, then had the lovely pleasure of ordering room service and being provided with a salad full of rotten lettuce. Rooms were also very poorly insulated so you get to appreciate all the habitats of your neighbors. To top it off Internet costs you an extortionate 16.95 per day. Points for effort of the staff who provided a couple free drinks and some cheese to say sorry for the hassles but at the price they charge these shouldn't happen in the first place... Poor showing for a Marriott...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripTestDummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have stayed here several times a year for many yrs , and have always been very pleased. Don't know what happened last week, but the room smelled musty and i could not sleep allnight due to the very LOUD air cond/ heat unit. So I do recommend the hotel from past experience but NOT room 926! PS parking went up to 60.00 fyi

Room Tip: Ask if the heating unit is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went here for my daughter's 16th birthday. We booked the room for a Saturday night and the price was decent, considering it was a weekend in NYC. We were within walking distance of times square, the Chrysler Building, and St. Paul's Chapel. The room was small, but you probably won't be spending all that much time in your room, except to sleep. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The offer bath and body works amenities!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilgoyl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bad location, watered down liquor drinks, corner small rooms, bad service and bad atmosphere. We havw stayed in new york city three times and this is the worst hotek. Could stay at a nicer place any other place. Nicer hotels for same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbradford78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay at the Marriott East Side every March for the DCAT event at the Waldorf~Astoria. The price is better and it has less hustle and bustle.
It was just renovated. The rooms, the lobby, bar and restaurant were all redone. They did a great job.
I have been coming here for almost 25 years, and I can highly recommend this hotel on Lexington Ave.

Room Tip: Book early. Be polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013. We had a large room on the 33 floor, which was spacious and very quiet. The concierge lounge was large pretty typical for Marriott properties. I love the position of the hotel in the city. Quiet yet one street off of Park, 10 minutes to Rockefeller Center, 15 to Times Square and Broadway and a wonderful 20 minute walk down Park to Central Park. This hotel is an excellent choice to enjoy the city...and quiet upon return.

Room Tip: The high floor we had was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotoMoto2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#271 of 470 in New York City
3,515 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#332 of 470 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#104 of 470 in New York City
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#193 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#145 of 470 in New York City
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $811 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing