We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to attractions, good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #278 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
southern new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to attractions, good price!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went here for my daughter's 16th birthday. We booked the room for a Saturday night and the price was decent, considering it was a weekend in NYC. We were within walking distance of times square, the Chrysler Building, and St. Paul's Chapel. The room was small, but you probably won't be spending all that much time in your room, except to sleep. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The offer bath and body works amenities!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilgoyl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    915
    427
    146
    75
See reviews for
525
537
98
561
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Bad location, watered down liquor drinks, corner small rooms, bad service and bad atmosphere. We havw stayed in new york city three times and this is the worst hotek. Could stay at a nicer place any other place. Nicer hotels for same price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbradford78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay at the Marriott East Side every March for the DCAT event at the Waldorf~Astoria. The price is better and it has less hustle and bustle.
It was just renovated. The rooms, the lobby, bar and restaurant were all redone. They did a great job.
I have been coming here for almost 25 years, and I can highly recommend this hotel on Lexington Ave.

Room Tip: Book early. Be polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013. We had a large room on the 33 floor, which was spacious and very quiet. The concierge lounge was large pretty typical for Marriott properties. I love the position of the hotel in the city. Quiet yet one street off of Park, 10 minutes to Rockefeller Center, 15 to Times Square and Broadway and a wonderful 20 minute walk down Park to Central Park. This hotel is an excellent choice to enjoy the city...and quiet upon return.

Room Tip: The high floor we had was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotoMoto2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good place in the right area for NYC stays. Only thing to be careful of is the fact that rooms in the hotel can be very small (it is NYC). Did not get the Marriott amenity that we requested nor extra pillows that we requested but that seems to be Marriott standard now so that should not keep you from staying here. New lobby and bar area is a big improvement over what was there so an improvement in the follow through and service are the only thing to be really improved.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - "coozy" rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agbcpa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a very clean, updated hotel in the heart of it all. Walking distance to Grand Central Station, 5th Ave. shopping, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and more. We were booked for a standard king room but asked for an upgrade and got bumped up to a superior room (larger room) because of our Marriott status. The bed was really comfortable, bathrooms were a nice size and there was a fridge in the room (not a mini bar though). Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasKasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights, March 8-12. Had a king room on the 27th floor with a partial view of the Chrysler Bldg. it was very quiet for a NYC hotel, as we did not face Lexington Ave. Bed was comfy and room very clean. Bathroom smallish and old, but adequate. New, fluffy towels would have been nice, but seem to be hard to come by these days, probably where costs are being cut in the industry. A small mini fridge in the room ,plus coffee maker much appreciated. We enjoyed Room Service a few times, and the Elite Members Lounge. We would return to this property again. Thank you, Marriott.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jazzmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 467 in New York City
3,235 reviews
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#319 of 467 in New York City
4,305 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#141 of 467 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 467 in New York City
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Property: New York Marriott East Side
Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Green Hotel in New York City
#182 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing