We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott East Side is my kind of hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #280 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stay at the Marriott East Side every March for the DCAT event at the Waldorf~Astoria. The price is better and it has less hustle and bustle.
It was just renovated. The rooms, the lobby, bar and restaurant were all redone. They did a great job.
I have been coming here for almost 25 years, and I can highly recommend this hotel on Lexington Ave.

Room Tip: Book early. Be polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013. We had a large room on the 33 floor, which was spacious and very quiet. The concierge lounge was large pretty typical for Marriott properties. I love the position of the hotel in the city. Quiet yet one street off of Park, 10 minutes to Rockefeller Center, 15 to Times Square and Broadway and a wonderful 20 minute walk down Park to Central Park. This hotel is an excellent choice to enjoy the city...and quiet upon return.

Room Tip: The high floor we had was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MotoMoto2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good place in the right area for NYC stays. Only thing to be careful of is the fact that rooms in the hotel can be very small (it is NYC). Did not get the Marriott amenity that we requested nor extra pillows that we requested but that seems to be Marriott standard now so that should not keep you from staying here. New lobby and bar area is a big improvement over what was there so an improvement in the follow through and service are the only thing to be really improved.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - "coozy" rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agbcpa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a very clean, updated hotel in the heart of it all. Walking distance to Grand Central Station, 5th Ave. shopping, Central Park, Rockefeller Center and more. We were booked for a standard king room but asked for an upgrade and got bumped up to a superior room (larger room) because of our Marriott status. The bed was really comfortable, bathrooms were a nice size and there was a fridge in the room (not a mini bar though). Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasKasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for four nights, March 8-12. Had a king room on the 27th floor with a partial view of the Chrysler Bldg. it was very quiet for a NYC hotel, as we did not face Lexington Ave. Bed was comfy and room very clean. Bathroom smallish and old, but adequate. New, fluffy towels would have been nice, but seem to be hard to come by these days, probably where costs are being cut in the industry. A small mini fridge in the room ,plus coffee maker much appreciated. We enjoyed Room Service a few times, and the Elite Members Lounge. We would return to this property again. Thank you, Marriott.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jazzmom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would happily stay here again but let me start saving the money first. We arrived by car which was $60per day for parking (city prices). I wish the floor was clean when I arrived. There wasn't much of it but what there is wouldn't have taken 2 minutes to run a vacuum over. You would think for $399 per night that internet would be included but no such luch $16.95 for 24 hours. Breakfast and entree room service expensive. Starbucks is only a hop over the road not even a whole block away. Shame it was raining, people everywhere grabbing taxis and crowding the roads and blocking the walkways with umbrellas. 14th floor was far enough away from the street to reduce the traffic noise a bit, higher better.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room to avoid the street noise. Anything above the 16th floor has it's own elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ste_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Mother daughter weekend with 4 young teens. This was perfect location for us to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Times Square, park ave, Rockafeller center, Central Park and FAO Schwartz. They accommodated our request for two connecting rooms. Lucked out that one was a corner room which is larger. Starbucks 1 block away and Duane Reade 2 blocks. I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FifthOldest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#269 of 470 in New York City
3,536 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#331 of 470 in New York City
1,360 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#193 of 470 in New York City
1,878 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#144 of 470 in New York City
2,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#183 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $193 - $805 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing