We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay during our recent trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #288 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed there for a total of 8 nights during our recent trip to NYC. The rooms are clean and the house keeping is very consistent unlike other hotels. Nice location with the train station just a block away. Staff in general were very helpful.

Room Tip: May want to get rooms facing the back instead of Lexington Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,320 - 1,326 of 2,283 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Located very conveniently near the major transportation spots, yet in very quiet area, Marriott on Lexington Ave is a great choice to stay. The rooms are spotless clean, staff extremely courteous and professional. Nice gym on the roof with nice view and decent number of cardio machines, recently renovated lobby area with great bar and cafe serving Starbucks coffee. I stayed here several times and definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EURESES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott East Side for 2 nights on a recent weekend away without the kids. We have stayed in the Times Square area in the past and, this time, wanted to try to get away from the insane crowds and noise. The Marriott is good 15-20 minute walk from Times Square, so if you are planning on staying in the Times Square area your entire trip, the East Side may not be your best bet. For us, though, we went to museums and restaurants and did some shopping in lower and upper Manhattan, so the proximity of the Marriott to a bunch of subway lines was a big plus (you can pick up the 6 train 2 blocks north or the E train 3 blocks north). Our room was typical Manhattan size (i.e., small) and did not have much of a view, but it was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was all marble. The exercise room, which is on the roof, is well-equipped and has great views. There is a nice bar/lounge area in the lobby where we had a few drinks (note: they charge typical inflated Manhattan prices). It took less than 2 minutes for the front desk to check us in, and we were able to leave our bags when we checked out and pick them up at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joni960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Rooms are typical in size for older buildings in cities like NYC and Chicago. Room was very clean and well appointed despite the size and lack of view (room 1222). It's noisy, but its NYC. Room service was prompt and complete. Rockefeller Center just down the street and you can walk there. Many folks who travel to NYC do so for work or to sight see vs stay in their hotel. This Marriott serves those purposes nicely.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busymom112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My stay at the Marriott East Side was awesome! The staff was beyond accommodating to any needs my family and I had. The lobby was spotless along with our room, and the location was perfect! The bell hops were seriously the best, I don't remember their names but the one that helped me on New Years Eve find a cab on obviously the busiest night ever, you are fabulous!
The only issue that I had was that the lobby bar closed at 10 on New Years Eve, somewhat inconvenient for some of my family that wanted to stay in and just grab drinks at the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked this hotel on Priceline as it was last minute for work and many places were sold out. I have had the terrible experience of staff treating you poorly and giving you the worst room in the building when they see you have "pre-paid". The staff hear treated us like we paid for the penthouse, not matter where we went. The room was clean and a decent standard for NYC standards. The lobby was beautiful and the bar and restaurant modern with good selections. Starbucks coffee onsite was a nice touch as well. Did not have to wait long for our car as we called 15 minutes ahead of time. The only real shock was the $60 for overnight parking. I travel to the city a lot for business and this is the highest rate I have paid. Besides that for $175 all of the staff was very gracious, hospitable an helpful and the rooms great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were impressed from the start by the great location and high quality of the hotel. Its an older building but our room at the front of the hotel, that had recently been refurbished was like new and spotlessly clean. It was a little small for 4 , but this is NYC. The staff were friendly and very professional, check in, check out and valet parking were all trouble free. We opted for the buffet breakfast option when we made the reservation. Choose this option if you can! The breakfast was an experience in itself, well prepared fresh food! Great selection, something for everyone, yes even the vegetarians came away satisfied. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbobbin336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#242 of 473 in New York City
3,822 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#349 of 473 in New York City
1,388 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#196 of 473 in New York City
1,905 reviews
Midtown
JW Marriott Essex House New York
JW Marriott Essex House New York
#245 of 473 in New York City
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Green Hotel in New York City
#189 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#224 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $189 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our 4-star hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing