We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect NYC Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #284 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd NYE in NYC staying at the Marriott East Side. It is a very short easy walk from Grand Central, blocks from 42nd Street, Times Sq. etc. T stops easily accessible. It is a little out of the "crazy" tourist area so you don't have to be shoulder to shoulder with people as you try and enjoy the city. The rooms are small but do the trick and who wants to stay in their room when you are in NYC? I was surprised that on the 31st floor we could hear the street traffic but it was really just subtle background noise. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethHomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff is stone faced and uncaring. The hotel is very out dated and the concierge offers bare bones - you even pay for your drinks while Margaret keeps guard. The pastries are cold and hard. Room service is very slow. Avoid this hotel at all costs
Pierre Montiege Dec 29 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piere F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night after a flight schedule issue following Sandy.

Great hotel. Staff really friendly and Check in and out was easy.

Great room - very comfortable with some thoughtful touches and great beds. Bathroom great and cleanliness great.

Very safe and comfortable hotel.

Great experience had here. Recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Positives
1. heated lamps at entrance
2. clean lobby area
3. clean room and plenty of towels
4. location to midtown restaurants and events
5. Collette at Front Desk - sympathetic

Okay
1. check-in efficiency

Negatives
1. expensive based on the room quality
2. plumbing issues (leaking sink, SLOW shower drain, shower diverter needed repair)
3. called maintenance; claimed that they fixed it; plumbing issues were worse after he was there

Room Tip: Do not go to NYC during Christmas week. It is too crowded and people are oblivious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A bit on the expensive side but we were in Manhattan! A very comfortable stay, the hotel is clean good and very agreeable the hotel staff were grenerally friendly but the bar staff were super friendly, and very helpful. The positioning is great near almost all important shopping and restaurant places, easy walking distance to UN and some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColmV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

MAGNIFICANT Hotel!!!
I communicated with the General Manager, Chris Hosmer and the Concierge, Harriett Goldberg by email before my arrival. They each were very responsive with the Marriott excellence I have come to expect over the last 29 years. When my fiancée and I arrived, we were greeted by none other than the GM himself, who was out on the street, welcoming guests. I don’t often see this and right away I knew this guy was the best. He warmly greeted us, remembered us and made sure we were taken care of at the front desk. Jimmy (I think) was the bellman and he took our many many (too many) suitcases and also made us feel at home.

Later on, we met Calvin in the Concierge Lounge, who had remembered us (I guess from an email from the GM). Chris told me about you and your fiancée. Calvin was awesome and treated all the guests like royalty, going the extra mile to make sure they had the very best he could offer.

Later that day I caught the GM helping rearrange the chairs in the Concierge Lounge and said to myself, “A hands-on manager –THEY are the best of the best. NOW I know why these employees are even above the normal Marriott Excellence”. He gets out of his office to mingle and be a part of the team.

Last night we came into the lobby and were greeted by Moet Chandon Champagne and small French Macaroons. FIRST CLASS!!! This really made us take even deeper notice of the class of this hotel.

We will be here for a week and are very glad we chose this hotel. Previous trips to NYC have included the Marquis, Financial Center (now called Downtown), Word Trade Center, Fairfield Inn 5th Avenue, Residence Inn Times Square, Courtyard Jersey City. I think this will now be our first choice for all of our next visits to the city we love New York!

Room Tip: Corner Rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Byron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice hotel with very good service. The hotel was full and the lobby had a chocolate fountain with fruit dipped for guests. They also had Christmas characters in dress in the lobby for pictures with guests children. Ate breakfast at 525 Lex several times which was very good all three times. Location is good, easy access to midtown, Central Park and other attractions. I do receommend this hotel. If you get a room with a window on Lexington Ave, expect noise from the street. You can hear it in your room. If you need a very quiet room, get one with no street view.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter if you do not have a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbearcatfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 469 in New York City
3,457 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#332 of 469 in New York City
1,348 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#144 of 469 in New York City
2,328 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#200 of 469 in New York City
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Avenue at 49th Street, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $201 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. Experience our hotel in New York City and its perfect setting near Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing