We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“punches well above its weight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New York Marriott East Side
Ranked #279 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a superb hotel; great people; nice club level room; and fantastic location. I was bowled over by the experience and will be back! Every aspect of this hotel works. i enjoyed banter with the porters and the bar/restaurant staff could not do enough.

Room Tip: the rooms over Lex are very good.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TGLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,192)
There are newer reviews for New York Marriott East Side
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 2,192 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Weather extended my visit for a few days out of NYC and I was fortunate enough to get a room, last minute at a reasonable rate, after two days of flight cancellations.
Myself and many others (similarly affected) were treated very professionally and patiently upon arrival to the hotel.
This last hour fill to the occupancy levels had to be very unexpected by the staff, who - without hesitiation - rolled their sleeves up and made everyrone feel like a VIP.
Allan, spefically assisted me with my room and rewards # information, after his normal work hours, which I guess was a very long day.
I received great value, service and peace of mind, that comes with the Marriott brand, after what could have easily been a difficult expereince. Kudos to Allan and the rest of the staff for their seamless efforts to assure a great end to many guests.
I look forward to another great visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade where possible to a corner room suite or similar.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKDWSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the first time I've ever been to NYC and gotten a good night's sleep. The staff was friendly upon check in and let us get into our room 2 hours early. Our lovely room was on the 29th floor with a lovely view of the Chrysler building. Being on the 29th floor was great because it meant we were above most of the street traffic and we were able to sleep at night. We could still hear sirens from time to time, but overall it was pretty quiet. The bed was comfortable and the linens were fantastic. (The wallpaper in the bathroom needs to be replaced and the elevators could be slow, but overall we had no complaints.)

Room Tip: I highly recommend the 29th floor! So quiet!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BetsyGinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on July 8th & 9th and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, Double room spotless and large;comfortable beds, unbelievable pillows. Concierge lounge wonderful.Beautiful weekday breakfast, well attended by an older gentleman who never stopped moving. Hot offerings and even cappuccino and espresso! Weekdays also offer early evening Hors D'Oeuvres and desserts from 7:30 til 10. Computer access, large flat-screen and nice terrace where you can catch a glimpse of a few historic buildings and a tidbit of the East River. Nice on a sunny morning...
I do want to add that the concierge staff was extremely helpful to my son and me when a medical emergency arose involving my daughter on Monday night . Many thanks!
The hotel is a fully renovated old building that formerly housed such famous folks as Georgia O'Keeffe and Alfred Steiglitz . among others. Our party had two rooms, the double being considerably larger, yet the king equally comfortable. Wonderful bellman and doorman to get you a cab or your own car. Word to the wise-parking can be pricey, here and everywhere in NYC. You really don't need a car unless you plan on leaving the city. Save your bucks for more fun stuff and use MTA.
Hotel doesn't have a pool,but you'll be so wiped from all there is to see and do in NY, you won't care. Nice fitness center on the top floor with floor to ceiling windows-killer views-go up and look even if you don't work out. A sauna would be nice... Anyhoo, I'd definitely recommend a stay here for it's location, generous staff and amenities. But do take a walk down the block and check out the Waldorf-Astoria-if just for the history.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the Chrysler Building. Higher floors are always better in NY-less street noise, mor...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I am really late in writing this review, why? To be honest i thought i had :(. Anyway 1st trip to NY city and this hotel was cenrtal to everything, It has the most comfortable pillows ever and the beds are great. There was some building work going on but it didn`t bother us. We were in a group of four and they made sure our rooms were together without us requesting it. It was a bit expensive and we could have got cheaper but i would stay in a marriot again just for the beds. We stayed 5 nights and never really got speaking to any staff. they were nice but we were out all the time. Great rooms and a 5 minute walk from times square. It was Sept 2010 when we went , sorry it took so long but i thought i`d written a review ;(. NY is a must.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jakz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times and it only gets better and better. Everybody is so friendly and helpful.

This past visit, Carmen welcomed me at the front desk and was so pleasant.

The hotel is a welcome retreat after a long trip or a busy day in the city.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was about $50 cheaper than the hotels closer to Times Square. It was clean and the rooms were very comfortable. Not much, if any, view. Everything from internet to the fridge had prices attached, so we didn't touch anything. I would probably stay there again, but liked the NYC Hilton better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tupelolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#277 of 468 in New York City
3,345 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#148 of 468 in New York City
2,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York
W New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
4,411 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
Renaissance New York Hotel 57
#305 of 468 in New York City
1,327 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 468 in New York City
2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott East Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott East Side

Address: 525 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10017-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Green Hotel in New York City
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#225 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $257 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott East Side 4*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in Midtown Manhattan, the New York Marriott East Side features spacious guestrooms and suites, a state-of-the-art health club, a stylish concierge lounge and flexible event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott East Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott East Side Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott
Marriott East Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing