We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as pictured at all.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #387 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

If you select a standard room then be warned you could definitely get a lot more for your money elsewhere the rooms was dated and dirty and very little care had been take in that the toiletries provided had been half used and left the linens were cheap and the air conditioning was old and noisy. The whole floor smelled of damp. As it happened I found a dead cockroach outside my room and was able to get upgraded to a deluxe room which was completely renovated modern had better toiletries a modern television and looked like the picture the shower here was much better too. So unless you had a deluxe room here it wouldn't be any value for money however after finding a dead cockroach I wouldn't stay here again deluxe room or not I'm pretty sure the cockroaches will be in the entire building.
The location was close to the Empire state, and not too far from times square but it seems false to advertise the rooms only showing the pictures of the deluxe rooms if mostly you sell standard rooms. Didn't get the breakfast as it seemed expensive and im utterly relieved now after finding a cockroach!
The staff were lovely though and the man on the desk was apologetic and moved me straight away. All the staff were very friendly just a shame the hotel let them down.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the NH Jolly Madison Towers for your stay and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

We apologize for the problems that you have experienced during the stay. The amenities are always changed used once are discarded after each guest leaves. All the websites have pictures of the different rooms category it is up to the guest to make the selection of the room type depending on the available budget as we have price differences relating to the category therefore deluxe, superior and standard.

This property is scheduled for a total renovation to take place in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,703)
There are newer reviews for NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 2,704 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

From the instant we checked in to the minute we checked out the staff were so incredibly rude. They attempted to down grade us from a room type that what we paid for, and when confronted they had nothing to say for themselves but begrudingly corrected their error. The rooms were okay, but small and shabby in appearance. The bathroom light flickered. There was water damage in the rooms. In addition, the hair dryer didn't work properly, and the shower handle came off. Location was nice, which is most likely this hotels best selling point. At no point during out stay in this hotel did we feel welcomed or anything less than a hassle and inconvenience. I would not recommend this hotel for a trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing NH Jolly Madison Towers Hotel for your stay.

We apologize if the hotel was not of your satisfaction and for the various problems that you have stated we will certainly look into it the comfort of our guest is very important for us. As for the staff being rude we will immediately address it as it is definitively not an acceptable behavior.

We thank you again for your comments and we hope you give us another chance in the not too distant future.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The NH Jolly Madison Towers on one hand, is a rather old hotel that urgentally needs renovation. The furniture in the rooms is old, the building itself could participate without any problems in a remake of an old Al Capone Style film.
On the other hand, it is very good situated, only a few minutes walk away from the Empire State Building, the Times Square, etc.
The breakfast is ok, nothing extraordinary, but also not bad.
It seems that the hotel will be completely renovated in the next months.
The staff is ok, they are all very friendly.
I recommand it as it is realy very good situated and not bad for the price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Petz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing NH Jolly Madison Towers Hotel for your stay.

We appreciate your comments and look forward having you as a return guest once the renovations have been completed.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Entrance is quite fooling looks nice and tidy but rooms are in a serious need of refurbishment. When I complained that it was nothing like the pictures I was told that it is only the deluxe rooms that were pictures and I could upgrade for and extra $100 per night. Bearing in mind I had already paid £700 to stay in a room that smelt like piss, you can imagine I was pretty annoyed. Room was beyond basic and very, very small. I requested a refund to go to another hotel and was told it was already paid and there was no option if a refund.
The moonshine diner next door was great. Beautiful food and reasonably priced. A block or two away from grand central station so was good in that respect as well as being a block or two away in the opposite direction from Empire State and macies. I would recommend staying in the New Yorker hotel if you can get a good deal. It's just as small but much nicer inside.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Michaela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for having chosen the NH Jolly Hotel Madison Towers for your stay and for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

On all the various websites we have pictures of all the different room categories, standard, superior and deluxe and are all differently priced. The hotel is scheduled to undergo renovations in the near future.

We apologize for not having met your satisfaction and we hope you will give us another chance once the renovations are completed.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The positive point first: the room was huge, and the bathroom was good, too. The location of this hotel is not bad, close to Central station, bus stop directly around the corner. And to 5th Avenue, Central park, it was only a 20 min walk. It was quite quiet. The main negative point was that the room was not really clean, there was a collection of remains from prior guests below the bed (not really disgusting, but didn't fit the standard I expected from such a hotel. I didn't take breakfast (was rather expensive).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Annette B.,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing NH Jolly Madison Towers Hotel for your stay.

I appreciate receiving your comments and apologize if we have not met your expectations with the cleanliness of the room that was assigned to you. There is no excuse for a room not to be properly cleaned I have addressed the matter with responsible department and taken actions to avoid this situation to re-occur.

Our breakfast might seem to be costly but is a full buffet breakfast with an extensive variety of products.

I sincerely hope that you will be returning guest at the NH Jolly Madison Towers Hotel.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

The only good point is the location. The hotel is oldfashion, rooms small, clean but very damaged furniture, no air condition (still wondering how gests sleep on august!), very noisy (even if we were at the 9th floor!), not free wifi (time to move to the 21st century Jolly Madison Towers), they lock the minibar door at their convenience, the staff isnt't helful at all (excepting the night receptionist and a man during the day). Not at all a NH Hotels standards. We will not come back for sure.

1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing NH Jolly Madison Towers Hotel for your stay.

We apologize if the hotel was not of your satisfaction; the hotel is slated for renovations in the near future. We currently have air conditioning in all our rooms, complimentary WiFi is included for reservations booked for deluxe rooms the mini-bar service is available in our superior rooms the key is given at check-in.

We thank you again for your comments and we hope you give us another chance once the hotel is renovated.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

really strategic placement in midtown manhattan at a nice price, romms are big enought for a stay in New York, very good cleaning.
the reception is professional and nice, and teh option of car service to the airport at the same price of teh yellow cab is nice

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcasati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Txema R, General Manager at NH New York Jolly Madison Towers, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Mr. Casati,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing NH Jolly Madison Towers Hotel for your stay.

I appreciate your comments which I have shared with the staff; positive observations empower our efforts in providing a great customer service experience to all our guests.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#365 of 468 in New York City
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Amsterdam Court Hotel
Amsterdam Court Hotel
#341 of 468 in New York City
3,226 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
3,366 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 468 in New York City
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Address: 22 E 38th St, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $186 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing