We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Repeat customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #70 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Hartford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Repeat customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Affinia is in easy walking distance to Central Park and major musems. The room was spotless and the Lobby staff was all helpful and friendly. The location is in a residential section of NYC, close to a family member. My May 2014 visit was my third trip to Affinia, so I am obviously pleased with the accommodations. I findwonderful restuarants within walking distance. I plan to return to the Affinia on future trips to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Pat A-

It was great to see that we provided you with the experience you were accustomed to from your prior visits. Our location makes any visit to the city easier and makes the hotel a good home base. Thank you for taking the time to detail out your experience. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back this way in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    444
    95
    45
    22
See reviews for
761
290
86
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was an awesome hotel. It's in a great location and a nice quiet neighborhood. I always read reviews on trip advisor before making my plans. This was a great value for the size of room that you get. Probably the largest room I've had in a NY hotel. I just had a regular room, so I don't understand anyone saying the rooms are too small. I guess it depends on how many people you're trying to cram in there. The staff was very friendly and I was always greeted by any employee that I passed. I also enjoyed the kitchen. This came in handy during my stay. I will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Frederick M-

I really appreciate the review of The Gardens that you completed. It is always a pleasure to see that we provided you with the experiences that you were looking for during your stay in New York. The room size and the kitchens are definitely a bonus when you are visiting. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed on a Friday & Saturday night - largest room that we have had in a NYC hotel. Location met our needs, very close to our daughters apartment although some may want something a little closer to downtown. Service was great; all of the desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Pedro at the front desk went above and beyond to make us comfortable, as well as Chris the bellman. Overall a geat stay and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhill2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear dhill2015-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to NYC and your stay at The Gardens. The size of our rooms is a great attribute and we are always happy when our guests enjoy our property and the location. We hope you will come back to see us next time you are visiting your daughter. Thanks again and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel served its purpose well. Nice bed, bath and location. We weren't there long enough to take advantage of cooking in, but kitchen was adequate as well. Either a much quieter refrigerator, or a door into the kitchen, would have been a huge improvement. Almost shut it down, but didn't want to risk damage due to defrosting. And got a good night's sleep in spite of it, so bed comfort won out.

Room Tip: book online to get free wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear roadtripper111-

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you comments and I certainly apologize for the issue with the noise from the refrigerator. I have asked our Engineering Team to check that out asap so no one else will have any concerns. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope the comfortable bed draws you back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I just got back from a extended weekend get together with a group of women. The room we had was very large and it never felt cramped. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was also very roomy. The small kitchen was a bonus. This is not close to nightlife but it was right down the street from the apartment of a friend who lived in town. We ate at some very nice restaurants all within walking distance. Not too far a walk to Central Park. I am sure when we decide to visit again, our group will choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJIlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear PBJllly-

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Affinia Gardens with your friends. We love to hear that we were a perfect fit for our guests. I was excited to see that we have made new "friends" who will be coming back to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Is it ritzy and new and shiny? No. But it's clean, comfortable, affordable and accommodating, especially for groups and families. Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was helpful and went out of their way to do whatever they could to make our stay better. We had a few maintenance issues but they were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Close to lots of great stuff - restaurants, shopping, etc. We selected this property for a girls weekend get together because friends literally lived just a couple of blocks away. We needed the extra space since we all couldn't fit in their small apartments. Two queen beds, a queen sofa bed, a large bathroom and kitchenette were perfect. We were able to use the space as we all came and went throughout the weekend to all our activities. Thanks to Pedro, Caprice, Marla and Nino for all their help. From check in to check out they and the entire staff were there to help with anything we needed. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgwillis1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear bgwillis1281-

We appreciate your lovely comments about the property and the service you received. Our location and the size of our suites is definitely a big plus when setting up a home base for your visit to NYC. Our kitchens certainly make it easier to travel with a group or large family. Thank you for the shout out to the Team Members who helped make your stay more enjoyable. I will make sure they are recognized for their efforts. Thank you again and hurry back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Terrible service. Forced us an upgrade because it convinced us that the room was small. Almost every day someone would call from reception very early. The manager was very rude when we question the value of the upgrade. They did a lot of confusion. The hall is noisy. The street is noisy, dirty and smelly. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClaudioBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear ClaudioBox-

Thank you for telling us about your stay. I was disappointed to read of your concerns especially since I am aware of the conversations you had with the Team while you were staying with us. I apologize for any confusion surrounding the upgrade to a larger room as I believe it was our best intentions to provide you and your family with more space due to the number of people traveling. I was sorry to see that you did not like the neighborhood as well as we get so many positive remarks based on the quiet atmosphere and friendly feel of our community. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit and would hope you may consider another stay with us in the future to give us the opportunity to show you our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#31 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,105 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#39 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#119 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#100 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,416 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#56 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-6662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing