We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #84 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The staff was most welcoming and friendly. I felt as if I had been there previously... They were always there to meet my every need. I a very big city, I had a feeling that I was home when I came back to the hotel each evening. I needed a dvd player, which was provided and waiting for me in my suite when I checvk in. The price was resonable and most fair. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.
The manager of hotel was most friendly and went out of his way to help me with my needs. The entire staff should be commended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Laura S,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your most recent stay at Affinia Gardens. I was delighted to see the title as "the friendliest hotel". I take pride in entire team's ability to welcome guests as if they are frequent travelers. We truly know that the meaning of hospitality doesn't start and end with just a room. Here at Affinia Gardens we like to think of our guests as family "coming home". The fact that you and your family felt that warmth is so comforting to me.

Again, I appreciate your comments and would love to meet you on your next trip to town.


Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

900 - 906 of 1,906 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We are 2 adults and 3 kids-- we stayed in a one bedroom with a kitchen and it was perfect. Service was lovely-- very friendly and helpful. Location was perfect for us to sight-see and for my husband to get to work. Very spacious. Michael was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Christina H,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay of the Affinia Gardens. We are glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay and your visit to New York. Our spacious, apartment-like suites and convenient location are one of the reasons why families love staying here. It gives them the opportunity to tuck the kids in at night as if they are in the comfort of their own home as well as getting up in the morning and you can be steps to the center of all the fun.

I appreciate your time and business. I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Affinia Gardens soon.

Kind regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I checked in to the hotel on this past Thursday. When i arrived I was treated with excellent courtesy and given a complimentary upgrade to an unbelievable room. I spoke with manager Pedro Hilario, to thank him. He was extremely friendly and even offered me a ride to the airport the following morning. In short, a fantastic hotel, in a fantastic location, with a professional and friendly crew. Prices are great, too, which is rare in Manhattan's upper east side.

Room Tip: Talk to manager Pedro Hilario for anything you need. He will bend over backward to help you with wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Joe D,

I appreciate your review of your most recent stay at Affinia Gardens. Nothing is better than being greeted with such courtesy after a long flight. Pedro, one of our Front Desk Manager has been with us for over 10 years. His passion for what he does really does shine with his service to our guests. When I see comments such as yours, it reassures me over and over again of what an amazing team I have. Thank you reminding me!

Kind regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here with 3 kids.
Its a very clean hotel, but not "brand new".
Excellent service, a few lamps didnt work, but they were fixed right away.
Nice area with a few restaurant nearby, recommend Tonys (Italian).
You have to walk a couple of blocks to the subway, but its a nice area with houses, not so many "touristy" things.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Penthouse suite with lots of room, dining area and a balcony, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear chrloc,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at Affinia Gardens. It's so great to know that even with 3 kids, you felt the serenity of our "homely" neighborhood.
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Wonderful experience with the very helpful, freindly staff of Kris K. and Caprice. Kris is awesome, so very helpful with details, charming and truly goes the extra mile for guests! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Love the area...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A-Spa-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear ElizabethSpaTraveler,

Thank you so much for your praises of our wonderful team, especially Krys. It is such an honor to know that my team can make such a difference in our guest stays. I will make sure to show him your awesome comments about him.

I appreciate your business and would hope to meet you on your next trip into town.

Kind regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Affinia Gardens is a great place to stay in NYC. It was conveniently located to all of the things we wanted to do - easy to walk to the fancy shops on 5th Avenue and was a very doable walk (even in the rain) to Times Square. We immediately felt welcome, everyone was very polite and happy - including Kris - very sweet and charming as he assisted us with our luggage and vehicle. The room was very clean - the shower handle fell off (which had apparently been happening for some time as evidenced by the dings in the shower floor), but it really wasn't a big deal. I loved the spaciousness of the rooms - we had a separate bedroom from the living room. While we really didn't need the kitchen, if we were staying longer it would be a huge plus! We also loved the pillow bar - the kids loved the ones with speakers that played their ipod music! I also loved that we had 2 queen beds - not double sized like most hotels. We've stayed at some very high end hotels so I'm not giving this a "5" star, but given he price, location and friendliness of the staff I give it a 4+++, we would definitely stay there again. Highly recommend. I've already given out the name/address to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Lisa N,

It was such a pleasure reading about your most recent stay at Affnia Gardens. Our convenient location, attentive team members, such as Krys and spacious accommodating rooms are just some of the reasons why our first time guests are so pleased. You are correct in saying that we aren't a five star hotel as we don't have a restaurant, however we are proud in knowing we give 5 star service, cleanliness and location. This is what really sets us apart from all the other non- 5 star properties.

Thank you for your great review. I would love to have the opportunity to greet you next time you stay at Affinia Gardens.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My father had surgery at Memorial Sloan Kettering Hospital and we were looking for some place close to hospital. The hotel was perfect. Short walk or quick taxi ride. Nice residential area and great restaurants that will delivery to your room. The staff was awesome! Kris and Caprice took such good care of us. Next trip to New York City we are staying at Affinia Gardens.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbroyles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Kbroyles1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on your most recent stay. I know any type of surgery of a family member can be stressful. I am happy that even in these circumstances our friendly staff such as Caprice and Krys were able to make your days worth while. I will make sure to tell them of your kind words.

I am thrilled to read that your trip to NYC will be with the Affinia Gardens. I hope it will be for pleasure!

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#172 of 469 in New York City
1,399 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#217 of 469 in New York City
3,859 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#167 of 469 in New York City
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#87 of 469 in New York City
1,906 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#37 of 469 in New York City
1,624 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#203 of 469 in New York City
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $292 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing