We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small not many perks but Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #68 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small not many perks but Nice”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This small Hotel in Manhattan is great especially for business travel or even tourists in New York City.
A very well priced Hotel that offers rooms with Kitchen in case you would not like to go out after a hard days work or even if you are traveling with kids, and although it has no restaurants most restaurants and Deli's in the area deliver fast to the Hotel (menus are left in room).
The rooms are very well sized actually pretty big compared to rooms at great big name hotels in Manhattan and very well furnished.
The service at this Hotel is great!!!
Do not waste money on the high end hotels, this will make your trip much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salomon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Salomon M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. We take pride in our charming UES location. Our all suite hotel is equipped with full kitchens which give our guests the luxury of dining in or out. You will find our perks are with our service and the "at home" feeling when you are a guest. I am thrilled that you felt what we strive for every guest; To feel that even though we are our own name, we are well worth the change.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns about future stays.

Kind regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    496
    108
    51
    23
See reviews for
875
312
94
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Late night and early morning business meetings at a NYC hospital on the upper east side, Wanted to stay close and avoid cross-town travel. Found the Affinia Gardens on E. 64th between 2nd and 3rd near to meetings at York/E 67th. Checked in and found a HUGE one-bedroom suite with full kitchen for unheard of rate for that much space in Manhattan.

No amenities (bar/restaurant) to speak of but hey, it's Manhattan, great bars and restaurants within half a block of everywhere.

I often travel to NYC and meet with hospitals in that area -- quite a large number of renowned facilities: NY Presbyterian-Cornell, Sloan Kettering, Hospital for Special Surgery, NS/LIJ Eye and Ear, etc. The Affinia Gardens will be at the top of my list for future visits to the upper east side.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhengAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear ZhengAn,

Thank you for your outstanding review. It is so great to get it out there that not only leisurely travelers stay with us, but our frequent business travelers. We cater to all guests and I am happy that you have experienced this throughout your last stay with us.

I appreciate your comments and can't wait to show them to my team.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a lovely hotel - convenient to all things UES. The rooms were very nice, well set up, well appointed, etc. The thing that made this place amazing for us was the staff. They were VERY helpful, kind and friendly. Kris was particularly amazing with our kids. I recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Michelle L,

I appreciated reading your lovely comments about or great spot and incredible staff. It is so great to know that the little things our amazing front desk team does such as giving some attention to kid guests doesn't go unnoticed. Kris is famously known to do just that as they are our guests too! I will be sure to let him know of your praises.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a brief review of the Affinia Gardens. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Located in a quiet part of busy lower end of upper east-side, this little hotel is a treasure with generous sized rooms, great dual-heating systems (it was freezing when we were there!) and updated appliances…complete with a TV in both bedroom and sitting room and turn-down service on weekends. Just needs comp. wifi service in the rooms and an onsite bar/restaurant (not that there aren't plenty just outside the front door!) to bring it up to the 5 star. We will so be back!

Room Tip: Not sure what the privacy factor would look if you were using the urban outdoor space in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjNM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear SjNM123,
It was such a pleasure to read you great review on our quaint hotel. Our quiet location as well as our large rooms are the reasons why our guests keep coming back.

Although we don't have the capability of having an onsite restaurant. you are correct in stating that there are plenty of restaurants that can act as our very own room service and deliver right to your room. I share your frustration with our Wi-Fi charge. Next time please consider using our complimentary lobby Wi-Fi which is available 24/7.

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your comments. Please let me know if I should be of any service to you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed previously and stayed again for 2 weeks over Christmas and had another great experience. Great location, convenient to subways, shopping and restaurants.
Rooms are large for NY standards and very convenient having a kitchen.
Great service as always from Kris (bellman) and Caprice (front desk) both are very helpful and friendly.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room facing 65th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear rblw,

I appreciate your kind review about your stay at the Afffinia Gardens. Christmas is such a special time to be together as a family as well as being spent in NYC. I am glad that you had yet another great stay with us and were graced with presence of our all star front desk team such as, Caprice and Kris. I will make sure to show them your warm comments.

Than you for being guests of ours. Please feel free to email me with any questions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'm a Native New Yorker currently living out of State. I travel to New York frequently. I've been
staying at the Affinia Gardens for several years. It took quite a bit of trial and error to find a
Hotel that HAS IT ALL. 1. Professional, knowledgeable and caring Staff, especially the Front
Desk team; 2. One of the BEST locations in New York: Quiet, Residential Area, Convenient
to the best of what Manhattan has to offer; 3. Large, spacious, IMMACULATE accommodations.

My Husband and I are not "easy to please" people...we have both stayed at Affinia Gardens
together and separately....just a wonderful Gem in New York.

My only concern is that it will be booked the next time I'm traveling to New York City!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABS48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear BABS48_11,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for all to see here on trip advisor. It is so great to see that you consider us a place that "Has It All". We love to see guests return over the years and have them consider us not just a hotel stay, but "coming home" every time. I will make sure to tell my front desk and housekeeping team all the great things you had to say.

We appreciate your business. Please don't hesitate to email me with any questions or concerns. I hope we get the chance to meet on you next trip into town!

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If this hotel had an in-house restaurant and bar, I would concider it a 4 star. If you don't need the in-house restaurant/bar this is a great place to stay (They do provide room service from the neighboring restaurants, but I did not partake). The rooms are huge, clean and well appointed with lots of windows. The bathrooms appear to be recently renovated as were the granite countertops in the full kitchen. I stayed in a junior suite with a king size bed. I have freinds in manhattan that live in a smaller space. The hotel is walking distance from the Central Park Zoo and great restaurants on both 1st and 3rd. The doorman always had a cab ready for me within minutes. The one minor issue that I had was the $15 daily charge for WiFi. It was free in the lobby and business center, but I think nowadays there is no reason to charge, most places don't. Other than that I have nothing bad to say about the hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no real good view, as the hotel just looks across to the Ear, Eye and Throat Hospital, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intermittentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Intermittent Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#72 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#221 of 468 in New York City
631 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#36 of 468 in New York City
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, HotelPower, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing