We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot - INCREDIBLE staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot - INCREDIBLE staff”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was a lovely hotel - convenient to all things UES. The rooms were very nice, well set up, well appointed, etc. The thing that made this place amazing for us was the staff. They were VERY helpful, kind and friendly. Kris was particularly amazing with our kids. I recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Michelle L,

I appreciated reading your lovely comments about or great spot and incredible staff. It is so great to know that the little things our amazing front desk team does such as giving some attention to kid guests doesn't go unnoticed. Kris is famously known to do just that as they are our guests too! I will be sure to let him know of your praises.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a brief review of the Affinia Gardens. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    506
    110
    52
    23
See reviews for
899
314
95
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Located in a quiet part of busy lower end of upper east-side, this little hotel is a treasure with generous sized rooms, great dual-heating systems (it was freezing when we were there!) and updated appliances…complete with a TV in both bedroom and sitting room and turn-down service on weekends. Just needs comp. wifi service in the rooms and an onsite bar/restaurant (not that there aren't plenty just outside the front door!) to bring it up to the 5 star. We will so be back!

Room Tip: Not sure what the privacy factor would look if you were using the urban outdoor space in the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjNM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear SjNM123,
It was such a pleasure to read you great review on our quaint hotel. Our quiet location as well as our large rooms are the reasons why our guests keep coming back.

Although we don't have the capability of having an onsite restaurant. you are correct in stating that there are plenty of restaurants that can act as our very own room service and deliver right to your room. I share your frustration with our Wi-Fi charge. Next time please consider using our complimentary lobby Wi-Fi which is available 24/7.

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your comments. Please let me know if I should be of any service to you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have stayed previously and stayed again for 2 weeks over Christmas and had another great experience. Great location, convenient to subways, shopping and restaurants.
Rooms are large for NY standards and very convenient having a kitchen.
Great service as always from Kris (bellman) and Caprice (front desk) both are very helpful and friendly.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room facing 65th street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear rblw,

I appreciate your kind review about your stay at the Afffinia Gardens. Christmas is such a special time to be together as a family as well as being spent in NYC. I am glad that you had yet another great stay with us and were graced with presence of our all star front desk team such as, Caprice and Kris. I will make sure to show them your warm comments.

Than you for being guests of ours. Please feel free to email me with any questions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'm a Native New Yorker currently living out of State. I travel to New York frequently. I've been
staying at the Affinia Gardens for several years. It took quite a bit of trial and error to find a
Hotel that HAS IT ALL. 1. Professional, knowledgeable and caring Staff, especially the Front
Desk team; 2. One of the BEST locations in New York: Quiet, Residential Area, Convenient
to the best of what Manhattan has to offer; 3. Large, spacious, IMMACULATE accommodations.

My Husband and I are not "easy to please" people...we have both stayed at Affinia Gardens
together and separately....just a wonderful Gem in New York.

My only concern is that it will be booked the next time I'm traveling to New York City!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABS48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Gardens, Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear BABS48_11,
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for all to see here on trip advisor. It is so great to see that you consider us a place that "Has It All". We love to see guests return over the years and have them consider us not just a hotel stay, but "coming home" every time. I will make sure to tell my front desk and housekeeping team all the great things you had to say.

We appreciate your business. Please don't hesitate to email me with any questions or concerns. I hope we get the chance to meet on you next trip into town!

Kind Regards,

Johanna Lopez
Director of Front Office Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If this hotel had an in-house restaurant and bar, I would concider it a 4 star. If you don't need the in-house restaurant/bar this is a great place to stay (They do provide room service from the neighboring restaurants, but I did not partake). The rooms are huge, clean and well appointed with lots of windows. The bathrooms appear to be recently renovated as were the granite countertops in the full kitchen. I stayed in a junior suite with a king size bed. I have freinds in manhattan that live in a smaller space. The hotel is walking distance from the Central Park Zoo and great restaurants on both 1st and 3rd. The doorman always had a cab ready for me within minutes. The one minor issue that I had was the $15 daily charge for WiFi. It was free in the lobby and business center, but I think nowadays there is no reason to charge, most places don't. Other than that I have nothing bad to say about the hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no real good view, as the hotel just looks across to the Ear, Eye and Throat Hospital, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intermittentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Intermittent Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Regards,

Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

2 night weekend stay, junior suite was spacious, clean, kitchen was handy for chilling wine and stocked with wine glasses, staff were friendly. Have to pay for wifi but it works well. Easy to grab a cab at end of block and subway just a couple blocks away. A bargain at 180 a night!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Kim P,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. Asthe General Manager of the Affinia Gardens I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our location exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Affinia Gardens the next time your travels bring you to NYC!

Regards,
Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Chose to stay here in December 2013 because it was one of the few places in NYC that had a fully equipped kitchen and a bedroom with two queen beds to accommodate a family of four. Turns out this is a gem, the staff were fantastic, the room was comfortable and clean and the location was fantastic. A 10 minute walk to the park, a very short walk to the 63rd st Subway and 5 minutes to Bloomingdales and a second subway station. There was a supermarket close by and a decent coffee place (not starbucks) 5 minutes north. Affinia Gardens was an excellent choice and we already can't wait to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGGeneralManager, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear AussieTraveler443,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your December stay at the Affinia Gardens. As the General Manager, I am pleased to hear you had an opportunity to enjoy our central location and fully equipped kitchens. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC!

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#79 of 467 in New York City
1,867 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,540 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#155 of 467 in New York City
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#231 of 467 in New York City
3,652 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 467 in New York City
727 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing