We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After having stayed at a number of Affinia group properties (Surrey, Benjamin, Shelburne...) many times for many years, we were delighted to have found Affinia Gardens and are planning to stay there again in just a few weeks' time. This stay was far preferable to our last stay, with the main difference being the quieter room in the back of the hotel on a higher floor. The staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful across the board - they really make the difference. The location is excellent: Upper East Side but close enough to Midtown

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HollisNYNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    500
    109
    51
    23
See reviews for
886
313
95
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel Affinia Gardens is a really nice, comfortable and friendly hotel in a great area of nyc! The rooms are clean, of a great size and well equipped. We had a Junior Sweet and the room was perfect!
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
The area of the hotel is really good, since you can find close by different restaurants and shops. The subway is really close and as well the Central Park!
We really enjoyed our stay there!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

On arrival we were served by a gentleman that was so nice and accommodating. He booked our car service for the return trip to airport and supplied us with information on locations for dining and shopping for groceries at the end of the street. Further to this he showed us to our room and went into more detail about the property. we were very impressed!!

We had a 1 bedroom apartment that came with a kitchen, meals, dining and outdoor private patio area (on a high floor).
Tidy room with comfy beds and clean bathroom. Plenty of space and storage. Decor is a little dated, especially in the kitchen, but overall very liveable. Two windows didn't lock but felt safe enough on a high floor.
If you are looking for an area that is less busy and bustling than midtown and are interested in walking to Central Park and nearby shopping on Lexington (Bloomingdales, Nine West, Gap, H&M, Banana Republic etc) or even down to 5th Ave or Madison Ave, then this is a great choice of location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav1ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We usually stay in mid-town but we will never do that again. This is a lovely hotel in a nice neighborhood close to the Lexington Street subway (4,5,6) and the M15 which will take you close to the 9-11 memorial. Gourmet Garage for groceries is near 3rd street and there is a variety of restaurants within walking distance (Neeley's BBQ is very close). We opted for a junior suite as we were 2 adults and 2 teens. The room was very spacious and the patio was great for adult coffee without TV or card games in the evening before dinner. In addition to all of this, it is quiet! Great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Pros: We are a family of five and finding accommodations is difficult. This hotel had a junior suite with a separate bedroom w two queens and a living room w a sofa bed. Size wise it was very good. There was also a little kitchen that could prove handy for some. We just kept water in the fridge.

The location was also good. It is in a more residential neighborhood so much quieter than others. We were about 3 (longer but very manageable east west) blocks from Central Park. Passed a bagel cart in on the corner and we grabbed bagels, rolls and juice for an easy park breakfast before starting to explore. It was also a short walk to the subway on Lexington which was also a great spot to grab a cab.

Staff was pleasant and while it took a daily request we were able to get extra towels. Hotel was clean. AC worked. And it was quiet in the room.

Cons: This is where my lack of big city travel may taint my review. $500+/per night (which includes a plethora of NYC taxes) seemed a little high for this. They also oversold the place on their website. It shows as uber modern and chic. It was really a rather dated and a little worn in the halls and room but filled w newer more modern West Elm furniture to make it look hipper than it was. Our recliner chair was pealing and worn. Base board molding was broken loose. The bathroom was tiny (knees on the door while....sitting). Kitchen was older, low end apartment cabinets and appliances w a newer granite top.

Lobby was a den w a TV & coffee maker and a smaller check in section. Spartan (w more West Elm furniture) but not really a big deal. Clean and nice I guess but just kinda added to the underwhelming feel of the place.

I believe there are also full time tenants in the hotel. We were at the end of the hall from someone that was perpetually cooking....whole goat w garlic, onion lasagna, tuna tacos. Every time we came or went the hallway smell was overbearing.

And back to the internet...they have a glossy concierge website/email system. Pick your pillows, little optional room extras (picnic blanket kit and some fun/kooky $ items...guitar, putter, cupcakes) and the offer to make reservations. DO NOT count on this for your dining. I requested a table at a place listed on their site (Felice 64...I recommend) 48 hours in advance. I got a call at 6PM the day we checked from the manager telling me they just saw my request for a 7PM table that night. With only a "in process" notice I figured the site wasn't being monitored and had called myself. Had I not, we'd have been eating to go pizza.

In conclusion, its that darn $500+ a night thing or $2,800 for 5 nights. NYC is expensive. I knew that and counted on it. I had just hoped for a little "wow" or at least a little nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a junior suite which was very spacious and more than enough room for two adults and our two kids. It was the perfect stay between relocation to Europe. The staff was very friendly - especially Sal.

Thanks again,
Olivier

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R22NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear R22NYC / Olivier,

Wow, perfection is something we always strive for here at Affinia Gardens. I am delighted to hear that Sal and the rest of the team’s efforts paid off and that you had such a perfect stay. Thank you for posting a review and for sharing your feedback!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for our annual "sisters vacation" and were very impressed. Johanna, the Operations Director, and her staff provided excellent service and upgraded us when our requested room wasn't available. The location was very convenient and there are plenty of stores, restaurants and shops nearby, as well as Central Park. The room was incredibly large for Manhattan, and the kitchen was really useful for breakfast and snacks. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socaltravelerandone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear socaltravelerandone,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. My team and I are so appreciative of a 5 circle review and when a guest takes the time to highlight our wonderful hotel and staff. Johanna Lopez, our Director of Front Office, is a true gem and she and our entire team take great pride in delivering the best possible experience especially for such important occasions. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our great location, spacious suites which all feature a full kitchen and pull out sofa bed, and other comfortable amenities.

A return stay is one of the ultimate compliments for us so please know that when the annual sisters vacation returns to NYC, my team and I will be waiting with our great location, value, and service that you and so many others expect from us and have already experienced.

Wishing you and your sisters TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 467 in New York City
1,491 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#81 of 467 in New York City
1,847 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
1,255 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#27 of 467 in New York City
718 reviews
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#241 of 467 in New York City
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. Hotel Services Fee is $25 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: · $10 daily food and drink credit to our Cupboard or Corner Store* · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing