We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #71 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a junior suite which was very spacious and more than enough room for two adults and our two kids. It was the perfect stay between relocation to Europe. The staff was very friendly - especially Sal.

Thanks again,
Olivier

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R22NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear R22NYC / Olivier,

Wow, perfection is something we always strive for here at Affinia Gardens. I am delighted to hear that Sal and the rest of the team’s efforts paid off and that you had such a perfect stay. Thank you for posting a review and for sharing your feedback!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    446
    95
    45
    22
See reviews for
765
290
87
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for our annual "sisters vacation" and were very impressed. Johanna, the Operations Director, and her staff provided excellent service and upgraded us when our requested room wasn't available. The location was very convenient and there are plenty of stores, restaurants and shops nearby, as well as Central Park. The room was incredibly large for Manhattan, and the kitchen was really useful for breakfast and snacks. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The one bedroom suites are well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank socaltravelerandone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear socaltravelerandone,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. My team and I are so appreciative of a 5 circle review and when a guest takes the time to highlight our wonderful hotel and staff. Johanna Lopez, our Director of Front Office, is a true gem and she and our entire team take great pride in delivering the best possible experience especially for such important occasions. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our great location, spacious suites which all feature a full kitchen and pull out sofa bed, and other comfortable amenities.

A return stay is one of the ultimate compliments for us so please know that when the annual sisters vacation returns to NYC, my team and I will be waiting with our great location, value, and service that you and so many others expect from us and have already experienced.

Wishing you and your sisters TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a junior suite which was very spacious and more than enough room for two adults and a 13 year old and 9 year old. The staff was very friendly. As an added bonus, it is walking distance to Dylan's candy shop which is great for kids.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. We took our daughter on a one week trip to NYC for her Sweet 16. We used the hotel as our base of operations. It was perfect for afternoon breaks, and then resting each night. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean. The price was good for the size of room we had, with five guests. Every need was accommodated with relative speed. A special shout out to those who went above and beyond: Pedro, Krys, Caprice, Terrence and Michael. If we get the chance to return we would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SBerenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have stayed in Junior suite with a patio garden. I totally felt at home and found having a kitchen very useful. The room was good size, patio garden perfect, but kitchen and bathroom were a bit old. Not many toiletries in the bathroom. All in all the room was great. The hotel has GREAT staff, doing everything they can to help. With this kind of service I had a great stay and hope to be back.
On a few occasions I ordered from the neighboring restaurants, the food was good, and service fast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunpleaseplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Sunpleaseplz,

It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay. My team and I appreciate the 5 circle review and the wonderful feedback especially from a senior TripAdvisor contributor. We love your “sunpleaseplz” screen name and hope that you were able to enjoy some sunshine during your visit and in our Junior Patio Suite room category that feature nearly 300 square feet of outdoor space to our already oversized rooms. Our housekeeping team is happy to provide supplemental bathroom toiletries like toothpaste, mouthwash, and cotton swabs in addition to our Comfort Zone bathroom amenities, upon request and we will review our current offerings to keep things robust. We look forward to the chance to welcome you back soon for another great stay here on the Upper East Side!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've been staying here on our trips to NYC for the last 5 years and I've been delinquent in giving it a review and I apologize. This is a great place to stay. The rooms are very big and the rooms have a kitchen, which is a real plus. The location is great because you are north of the 59th street bridge, which makes getting a taxi easier. It also far enough east so that you are in a neighborhood with supermarkets, so you can stock up your kitchen. We especially use it for breakfast, which can be expensive in the City. We just came back and were upgraded to a full suite, we usually get a junior suite, which we've always been happy with, but this was really a treat.
The price is definitely right especially on a Sunday night, we got a great deal. Compared to other hotels in New York City, you get a lot for your money.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Louise L,

Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review here on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your loyalty and are glad that you took a moment to share your valuable feedback about the hotel and the local area. Our guests frequently comment on the excellent value we offer for a city that can often times be very expensive for its residents and visitors and we are delighted to hear you found this to be the case. All of our 129 spacious suites feature a full kitchen and are great amenity to have when preparing a nice breakfast or other meal. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come and making sure we are always a great place to stay!

Wishing you and your friends TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just to let you know that we had a wonderful, wonderful 7 day stay at The Affinia. Thank you very, very much for arranging our room – everything was perfect.



The staff were absolutely FANTASTIC. It was lovely to see some old faces again!



We will see you next year again – please just order some cooler weather for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millerpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveSassoGM, General Manager at Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear millerpb,

A wonderful stay is music to our ears here at the Affinia Gardens. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and post a review. A repeat stay is one of the ultimate compliments for us and we are happy we had the chance to welcome you back. As for the weather, we are constantly trying new ways to influence this but in the meantime our Engineering team will continue to work hard to make sure we are always a cool place to come back to during the summer. Thank you again and see you next year!

Wishing you TLC now and always,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on Affinia’s Tender Loving Comfort® movement, our Best Rate Promise, or Affinia Gardens, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#31 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#38 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#120 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#100 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,421 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#60 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 215 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-6662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in New York City
#28 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#32 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil. Thoughtful. Private. Just right for a little alone time in NYC. Discreetly located on the Upper East Side on an intimate, tree-lined street, the Gardens NYC is the picture of Manhattan gentility. It's surrounded by world-class NYC shopping and Manhattan's famed museums, adding grace and charm to its locale. But guests find it's just right for a tranquil retreat. With such great in-room service, you can simply take to your hotel suite and escape for some alone time. Our 129 suites, many larger than New York City apartments, offer generous living space, including full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting, making them ideal for stays of a day, a week or much, much longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel, Expedia, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Gardens Hotel New York City
Affinia Gardens New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing